quad core sli???? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-01-2009, 10:55 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: pakistan,lahore
Posts: 39
Default quad core sli????

quad core sli???

a 680i sli mobo.............can it work with 2,gtx 295's or will it not.

if a board says that it is 2 way sli so 2 gtx 295's make up 4 cores which wud be quad sli......is it possible???

even in i7 mobos ......3 way sli supported so......3 gtx295's in that mobo wud make
6 cores????is this possible.??????

bonga is offline  
Old 05-01-2009, 11:06 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
hikaricloud's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 6,220
Default Re: quad core sli????

You can't "tri-sli" 295s. You can only QUAD sli with 295s. Since it's a dual GPU on a single PCB, having two of them would be considered "quad-sli". Tri-sli is for 3x single GPUs, like 285s.

As for whether or not the 680i would support it, I know it supported old dual gpu cards in quad-sli, I don't see why it wouldn't support 295s...but I wouldn't recommend doing it anyway.

R.I.P. Ronald C. "Bucky" Buck
3/13/1949 - 11/30/2010
Poizen22 - in all honesty id prefetr my pics get passed around then send perform some homo erotic sexual deed.
thirdshiftdj - what on earth are you trying to say???
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM or IM.
If I helped you out, or what I just said rocked you like a hurricane, hit the little thingie over there.
hikaricloud is offline  
Old 05-01-2009, 01:12 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Pinscher's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 1,538
Default Re: quad core sli????

Ya I would upgrade your mobo and cpu before going with a gfx update like that.
Pinscher is offline  
Old 05-01-2009, 06:35 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
kobe24's Avatar
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,508
Send a message via MSN to kobe24
Default Re: quad core sli????

plus nvidia chipsets are not good overclockers. i had an evga 680i once and it had heaps a fsb holes. and just had alot of problems with it
3D MARK 06 ***14,063*** on vista, use to get it
p4 2.8ghz
Asus p4SD-LA
6800gs ultra
1.5gb ddr400 oem
120gb hdd

The Techies' Bible
kobe24 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is quad core definitely better now ? Oreo New Systems | Building and Buying 17 02-16-2009 09:36 AM
Why not quad core westmeres? aaronkupen System Upgrades 4 02-12-2009 04:16 AM
Is dual better than quad, for non-PC gaming? Johnathan New Systems | Building and Buying 8 10-27-2008 12:48 PM
EVGA Nvidia i790 Ultra SLI & Xeon Core 2 Quad Zero4549 New Systems | Building and Buying 19 06-14-2008 09:23 PM
AMD Athlon™ 64 X2 Dual Core Processor Utilities & Updates Osiris Overclocking and Modding 6 05-31-2007 12:41 PM

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:44 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.