Quad Core & Q6600. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-21-2008, 06:18 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 401
Default Quad Core & Q6600.

Will These Two Not Work Together?

Newegg.com - EVGA 122-CK-NF68-AR LGA 775 NVIDIA nForce 680i SLI ATX Intel Motherboard - Intel Motherboards

Newegg.com - Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 Kentsfield 2.4GHz 2 x 4MB L2 Cache LGA 775 Quad-Core Processor - Processors - Desktops
__________________

augest is offline  
Old 10-21-2008, 06:21 PM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 78
Default Re: Quad Core & Q6600.

They should work fine, although if you get a board with an older BIOS you may need a BIOS flash before it will accept the CPU.

That item has also been deactivated on Newegg, so hope you don't plan on ordering from there lol.
__________________

MrLoLeR is offline  
Old 10-21-2008, 06:23 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 401
Default

Ha, Ya I know I done have that board. Just someone on the eVGA forums told me it wouldn't work? I was kinda like.. What the ****?

Right now its running a E6700.

I wanted to make shure, I could have swore I wasn't going crazy but did wanna ask since it comes in tomorrow.

This is what I just got told.

Quote:
At the time these boards were released they thought they would handle the 65nm Quads. Well, when Intel released the Quads then all **** broke loose because changes by Intel caused the boards to not support the new 65nm Quads. That's why NVIDIA had to go and reqork the board to allow support for the Quads. This same problem reared it's head again on the release of the 45nm Quads. The A1 then ended up not meeting voltage and noise requirements so now that A1 which support 65nm Quads do not support 45nm Quads. The AR board does not support either.
So, what is there any truth to that? I don't see a point in me opening a new cpu to just find it not work?
augest is offline  
Old 10-21-2008, 08:02 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Quad Core & Q6600.

Its true... it has little to no support for 45nm's but q6600 is a 65nm and the old 3dmark06 top scores had 680i's with a dual-GPU config with a q6600
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 10-21-2008, 08:54 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 401
Default Re: Quad Core & Q6600.

Yea I know that, But the Q6600 I ordered says its 65 NM. But the dude on eVGA said the AR model didn't support Quads AT ALL... WTF? Why would it say it does then?

What should I do, Accept the package tomorrow and try and see if it works then if not pay to ship it back and a 27$ restocking fee?
augest is offline  
Old 10-21-2008, 08:56 PM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Quad Core & Q6600.

It will work... don't worry...

If you don't believe me ask: mgcook, Nosboost300, veedubfreak or any of them other people
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 10-21-2008, 09:38 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 401
Default Re: Quad Core & Q6600.

I would have thought it would work. Why the **** would that guy tell me not? UGH! Had me thinking how much I know about computers lmao.

Thanks for your help.
augest is offline  
Old 10-22-2008, 03:56 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 401
Default Re: Quad Core & Q6600.

Well, I got it today, And works fine... However... I can't seem to get this **** thing to oc worth a ****.

I can't get it stable past 2.8 at 1236 FSB... I've had the voltage raised all the way up to 1.49 and even tried lowering it from x9 to x8, I just can't get it past 2.8 WTF? Is there something I'm missing or should be trying different?

It's a G0, It should be able to hit at least 3.0 what the ****?

Thanks for the help.
augest is offline  
Old 10-22-2008, 04:13 PM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: Quad Core & Q6600.

You'll need to raise the voltage on the NB.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 10-22-2008, 04:26 PM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 401
Default Re: Quad Core & Q6600.

How much and whats that even under in the bios?
__________________

augest is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Q6600 @ 3.0 GHz, no voltage added, core temps high. Disillusion Overclocking and Modding 19 03-03-2008 01:13 PM
45 nm quad core Eric1 New Systems | Building and Buying 18 02-12-2008 11:52 PM
Intel xeon x3220 compatible with core 2 quad boards? Demalii New Systems | Building and Buying 12 01-25-2008 03:31 AM
dual corre vs quad core robina_80 New Systems | Building and Buying 1 07-23-2007 03:45 PM
Help me OC' a Core 2 Quad Q6600 veg1992 Overclocking and Modding 20 05-24-2007 12:51 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.