quad core or not (again) - Page 4 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-08-2007, 03:37 PM   #31 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 3,479
Default Re: quad core or not (again)

Nehalem is going to be 45nm, not 32nm when it comes out

But from what I heard Intel will make a 32nm die shrink for Nehalem sometime on 2009
__________________

maroon1 is offline  
Old 10-08-2007, 03:58 PM   #32 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: quad core or not (again)

Yes im aware of that, but my point was that whatever boards come out for nehelem they will probably allow the use of both 45nm and 32nm nehalem. So building a p35 machine with a q6600 should be more than enough until the new archetecture comes out.
__________________

__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 10-08-2007, 04:12 PM   #33 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
TheOtis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Planet Earth.
Posts: 1,274
Send a message via AIM to TheOtis
Default Re: quad core or not (again)

I don't see 32nm happening for awhile. It's not SUPPOSE to be out until 2009 or so.

But I don't know. I've heard from my phsyics teacher and a guy that works at Intel that they had a hard enough time getting to 32nm as it is.

No matter what Intel has stated, 32nm isn't near being able to be release, even if they say they've developed a 32nm prototype. They're almost hitting physical limitations.

The thought of them ever going to 16nm blows my mind, that doesn't even sound possible.

An atom has a diameter of what, .1nm-.5nm. 16nm is getting **** close to that.
__________________
Back on being mobile - ASUS G551- 15.3" 1080p - Core i7 4710HQ - GTX 860M - 16GB DDR3 1600 - 512GB Samsung 850 Pro - Steam ID: TheOtis
TheOtis is offline  
Old 10-08-2007, 04:50 PM   #34 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: quad core or not (again)

Ya but the 45nm nehalems will be a completely different archetecture and have the onboard memory controller. My guess is once those come out and come down to a reasonable price will probably be about the same time that my q6600 starts struggling. It's also full possible that the q6600 will still be more than enough for just about everything on the market. The thing to remember about die shrinks is that it brings the cost of the cpu down.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 10-08-2007, 05:44 PM   #35 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
TheOtis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Planet Earth.
Posts: 1,274
Send a message via AIM to TheOtis
Default Re: quad core or not (again)

Yea same here.

I think I'm going to keep my current rig how it is for awhile.

Once DDR3 comes to so you can get 2gigs for under $200, latencies become a bit tighter, and we start seeing my X38 boards, then I'll get everything new.

I'll probably upgrade my video card at some point though. I'm running 35-50fps in Crysis right now with everything on high @ 1280x1024, and would like to be running a bit higher then that. So I'm sure UT3 is going to run similar.
__________________
Back on being mobile - ASUS G551- 15.3" 1080p - Core i7 4710HQ - GTX 860M - 16GB DDR3 1600 - 512GB Samsung 850 Pro - Steam ID: TheOtis
TheOtis is offline  
Old 10-08-2007, 10:04 PM   #36 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 119
Default Re: quad core or not (again)

woah ppl...get back to the subject...Q6600 or E6850? Will the Q6600 at stock speeds struggle in any games?
Cheeseking25 is offline  
Old 10-09-2007, 02:37 PM   #37 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,078
Default Re: quad core or not (again)

...no...

The q6600 should be fine for a pretty good amount of time. If your going dual core I would suggest a budget c2d not a high end one.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
"Now I lay my computer down to sleep, I pray the hard drive my files to keep, If I should lose power before I save, I pray the hard drive my backups to take"
The Techies' Bible - Dario 1:1
dario03 is offline  
Old 10-09-2007, 02:43 PM   #38 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
TheOtis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Planet Earth.
Posts: 1,274
Send a message via AIM to TheOtis
Default Re: quad core or not (again)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cheeseking25 View Post
woah ppl...get back to the subject...Q6600 or E6850? Will the Q6600 at stock speeds struggle in any games?
Dude, why would a core 2 anything @ 2.4ghz struggle at any game? Let alone a quad core with a hella cache on it. Even mine at stock 2.4 is ubber fast. I have mine at 3.1ghz right now, and the thing is extremely satisfieing.

Plus, if you're a gamer, you're most likely looking forward to Crysis and UT3. Which both be able to use 4+ cores. Plus, as time goes along, more and more games will be able to take use of more then two cores, which is definetly going to help out immensly. So if anything, a quad core is going to last you longer then that E6850.
__________________
Back on being mobile - ASUS G551- 15.3" 1080p - Core i7 4710HQ - GTX 860M - 16GB DDR3 1600 - 512GB Samsung 850 Pro - Steam ID: TheOtis
TheOtis is offline  
Old 10-09-2007, 03:19 PM   #39 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: quad core or not (again)

At this point no gamer should EVER ask dual or quad core. Its well noted that pretty much every game coming out in the next year is going to have multi core support. As cheap as q6600s are and how well they overclock there is no reason to buy a dual core.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 10-09-2007, 06:22 PM   #40 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 119
Default Re: quad core or not (again)

thanks for all the help. I am pretty sure i will be getting a Q6600.
__________________

Cheeseking25 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Quad core 1337infamous New Systems | Building and Buying 7 09-25-2007 09:14 PM
AMD Triple Core? Osiris Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 4 09-19-2007 07:36 PM
dual corre vs quad core robina_80 New Systems | Building and Buying 1 07-23-2007 03:45 PM
AMD Athlon™ 64 X2 Dual Core Processor Utilities & Updates Osiris Overclocking and Modding 6 05-31-2007 01:41 PM
Question about quad core.. PanzerKammander New Systems | Building and Buying 7 05-08-2007 12:25 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.