quad core or not (again) - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-07-2007, 11:45 PM   #11 (permalink)
cuPWNED
 
commandercup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: N.VA
Posts: 1,465
Send a message via AIM to commandercup Send a message via MSN to commandercup
Default Re: quad core or not (again)

quads may not be totally utilized yet for games, but the newest games are coming out with dual and quad support such as crysis and world in conflict, if your going to be playing the latest games, the quad will help out a lot
__________________

__________________
Q9300 - HD 4870 - 4GB Crucial Ballistix Tracers - 1TB Samsung Spinpoint F1 - Corsair 650TX - Foxconn P45A-S
commandercup is offline  
Old 10-07-2007, 11:52 PM   #12 (permalink)
gone
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2,051
Send a message via AIM to Gabb
Default Re: quad core or not (again)

Quote:
Originally Posted by commandercup View Post
quads may not be totally utilized yet for games, but the newest games are coming out with dual and quad support such as crysis and world in conflict, if your going to be playing the latest games, the quad will help out a lot
they already showed that games are already taking advantage of quads ( example SupCom, and that came out in feb 07 )
__________________

__________________
i7 3770k @ stock 3.5, Gigabyte GA-Z77X UD3H
Samsung 830 SSD 256gb and WD Black HD 1Tb, CoolerMaster HAF-X Case
Corsair HX 750 watt PSU, EVGA GTX 670 with 1.25 gig video memory @ stock settings, 16 gigs of Corsair Vengeance DDR3 Ram
X-Fi Xtreme Gamer card, Logitech G5 series 2
Corsair K90 keyboard, Dell 24" U2412M monitor
Gabb is offline  
Old 10-08-2007, 12:05 AM   #13 (permalink)
Future ex-member
 
lancec2c30's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chehalis, WA
Posts: 4,012
Send a message via MSN to lancec2c30
Default Re: quad core or not (again)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sora View Post
If you want my honest opinion....choose the E2160 or 2180 right now, overclock the **** out of one with a Tuniq. You can get 3.4-3.8 probably which is fast for low money. Use the money you saved to make your other parts better and then when the true Pentryn Quad's come out, go for one of those.

That is what I would do...
phssht, now lets be serious. You aren't going to get a stable 24/7 3.8ghz overclock on a E2180 with air cooling.
__________________

XP Pro | Vista Home Premium | Linux Ubuntu 7.10
s939 X2 3800 Toledo @ 2.6ghz | evga 7900gs | 320gig + 80gig wd | 1gb Ram | Abit KN8 SLI
3.1ghz achieved. :cool:
70K F@H member..............still waiting for the "iRACK"

Norcent will not be forgotten.

lancec2c30 is offline  
Old 10-08-2007, 12:06 AM   #14 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default Re: quad core or not (again)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gabb View Post
they already showed that games are already taking advantage of quads ( example SupCom, and that came out in feb 07 )
Your right they are taking advantage of the extra cores, but just think of how the Pentium D's were when Intel released their first "Dual-Core" they were just 2 P4's slapped together. Then when the AMD X2's came out with the first true Dual-Core, they totally just demolished the crappy Pentium D's. This is what they did with the current Quads. They just slapped two C2D together to make it. However the Pentryn Quad's will be true Quad-Cores and you can expect a huge performance increase over the current...
__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 10-08-2007, 12:10 AM   #15 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default Re: quad core or not (again)

Quote:
Originally Posted by lancec2c30 View Post
phssht, now lets be serious. You aren't going to get a stable 24/7 3.8ghz overclock on a E2180 with air cooling.
How about I am being serious.

The E2180 thread - Budget Build - Overclock.net - Overclocking.net

I don't mean an Arctic Freezer Pro 7 will push it that high without temps getting out of hand, but use a Tuniq and 3.8ghz can be had. I saw one guy with an E2180 at 3.88ghz on air with a Tuniq tower stable loads at 63.

Quite a few can keep around 3.8 stable with a Tuniq or Thermalright.

However even if you don't have a Tuniq you can still push around 3.4ghz with a lower air cooler....3.4ghz for a chip you can find OEM 85 bucks. Heh


The 100 buck Abit Ip35-E board is known to have even better overclocks than most boards under 200 bucks (aside from the other Abit boards)

An Abit IP35-E board with an E2180 cooled with an AF7 I bet you can see 3.4ghz quite easily...with better cooling such as a Tuniq 3.8+ghz is not unreasonable. Not too bad for around 205 bucks.
__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 10-08-2007, 12:14 AM   #16 (permalink)
Future ex-member
 
lancec2c30's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chehalis, WA
Posts: 4,012
Send a message via MSN to lancec2c30
Default Re: quad core or not (again)

I guess I was wrong, I thought they were only capable of ~3.0ghz
__________________

XP Pro | Vista Home Premium | Linux Ubuntu 7.10
s939 X2 3800 Toledo @ 2.6ghz | evga 7900gs | 320gig + 80gig wd | 1gb Ram | Abit KN8 SLI
3.1ghz achieved. :cool:
70K F@H member..............still waiting for the "iRACK"

Norcent will not be forgotten.

lancec2c30 is offline  
Old 10-08-2007, 12:16 AM   #17 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default Re: quad core or not (again)

here's one for you....CPU-Z Validator Database

Lol no with the new M0 stepping the E21xx series are some amazing overclockers. The Abit IP35-E board just shocks me as it has better overclocking power than my DS3R hah.
__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 10-08-2007, 01:45 AM   #18 (permalink)
gone
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2,051
Send a message via AIM to Gabb
Default Re: quad core or not (again)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sora View Post
Your right they are taking advantage of the extra cores, but just think of how the Pentium D's were when Intel released their first "Dual-Core" they were just 2 P4's slapped together. Then when the AMD X2's came out with the first true Dual-Core, they totally just demolished the crappy Pentium D's. This is what they did with the current Quads. They just slapped two C2D together to make it. However the Pentryn Quad's will be true Quad-Cores and you can expect a huge performance increase over the current...
didn't we hear these arguments before and all agree on the one guy who came in and said you can't compare these situations and no one even knows a time frame or the performance for the penryn processors to come out? I recall this same thing happening with the R600 before it came out...seriously stop commenting on stuff that isn't out.
__________________
i7 3770k @ stock 3.5, Gigabyte GA-Z77X UD3H
Samsung 830 SSD 256gb and WD Black HD 1Tb, CoolerMaster HAF-X Case
Corsair HX 750 watt PSU, EVGA GTX 670 with 1.25 gig video memory @ stock settings, 16 gigs of Corsair Vengeance DDR3 Ram
X-Fi Xtreme Gamer card, Logitech G5 series 2
Corsair K90 keyboard, Dell 24" U2412M monitor
Gabb is offline  
Old 10-08-2007, 03:06 AM   #19 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 274
Default Re: quad core or not (again)

Getting a low end dual core up to around 3GHz is going to perform great for gaming and multitasking. Honestly you will not see that much improvement unless you are hardcore with the multitasking. Music, a game, msn all at the same time are what typical users do for "multitasking" and if that is what you will be doing than I would suggest dual core and spend more money on a video card.
__________________
Money Pit
i5 4590 - 3.3GHz
R9 280 OC
8GB G.Skill 1600
dave39 is offline  
Old 10-08-2007, 09:48 AM   #20 (permalink)
cuPWNED
 
commandercup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: N.VA
Posts: 1,465
Send a message via AIM to commandercup Send a message via MSN to commandercup
Default Re: quad core or not (again)

Quote:
Originally Posted by dave39 View Post
Getting a low end dual core up to around 3GHz is going to perform great for gaming and multitasking. Honestly you will not see that much improvement unless you are hardcore with the multitasking. Music, a game, msn all at the same time are what typical users do for "multitasking" and if that is what you will be doing than I would suggest dual core and spend more money on a video card.
lots of times, even a lower end overclocked cpu will bottleneck a good graphics card

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gabb View Post
didn't we hear these arguments before and all agree on the one guy who came in and said you can't compare these situations and no one even knows a time frame or the performance for the penryn processors to come out? I recall this same thing happening with the R600 before it came out...seriously stop commenting on stuff that isn't out.
he's giving trends that happened... as explained by the original dual cores (D) which are two P4's combined, while the X2 brought on true dual core processing, then followed by the C2D, right now the quads are just two C2D's slapped together, penryn will bring true quad, and if the performance difference is anywhere near the D to X2, then it'll be quite a jump
__________________

__________________
Q9300 - HD 4870 - 4GB Crucial Ballistix Tracers - 1TB Samsung Spinpoint F1 - Corsair 650TX - Foxconn P45A-S
commandercup is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Quad core 1337infamous New Systems | Building and Buying 7 09-25-2007 09:14 PM
AMD Triple Core? Osiris Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 4 09-19-2007 07:36 PM
dual corre vs quad core robina_80 New Systems | Building and Buying 1 07-23-2007 03:45 PM
AMD Athlon™ 64 X2 Dual Core Processor Utilities & Updates Osiris Overclocking and Modding 6 05-31-2007 01:41 PM
Question about quad core.. PanzerKammander New Systems | Building and Buying 7 05-08-2007 12:25 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.