Quad core G-5 - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-10-2005, 02:04 PM   #11 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,285
Default

Ive always wanted to try OSX, any ways i could use it on my PC like an emulator or something?
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 12-10-2005, 03:40 PM   #12 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 722
Send a message via AIM to Riceball
Default

Yea i've never used OSX and i'd like to try it out too, along with linux.
__________________

__________________
AMD 64 3200+ Newcastle@ 2.2Ghz
MSI-RS480M-IL
1GB (1x1GB) OCZ Performance Series
ATI X700 Pro 256MB OC\'d 475/525
OCZ Modstream 520W
Thermaltake Tsunami
Samsung 914v 19\" 12ms LCD
SB X-Fi w/ Logitech Z 5300e
Riceball is offline  
Old 12-10-2005, 11:56 PM   #13 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 213
Default

I don't know that macs are easier, just different. It's all what you're used to. If Mac is what you've used, it's what you know so it's easier. Mac is alot more idiotproof, but still takes learning. OSX is pretty awesome though. I use it everyday just as much as I use Windows XP. I still have to dual boot my PC with Linux though. Someday.
klein1jo is offline  
Old 12-11-2005, 12:21 AM   #14 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: N/A
Posts: 1,486
Default

Macs are generally more user friendly. They dont have nearly the same amount of problems (security, etc.) as windows machines. They kick *** in high power graphical/video programs.
Vybuni is offline  
Old 12-11-2005, 12:25 AM   #15 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

Quote:
They kick *** in high power graphical/video programs.
- Myth

Macs dont have as many security probs because only 5% of people use them
__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Old 12-11-2005, 12:31 AM   #16 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: N/A
Posts: 1,486
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by waynejkruse10
Macs dont have as many security probs because only 5% of people use them
Even though they have a smaller market share, they still have less security problems.
My dad's old 500MHz G4 can work photoshop, illustrator, and more just as well as my brand new system (the one in my sig).:amazed:
Vybuni is offline  
Old 12-11-2005, 12:45 AM   #17 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,285
Default

Quote:
Macs dont have as many security probs because only 5% of people use them
Owned
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 12-11-2005, 02:51 AM   #18 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

well yeah, why would a virus writer write a virus, or exploit a venerability that will only screw over 5% of peoples.
__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Old 12-11-2005, 02:59 AM   #19 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,285
Default

Quote:
My dad's old 500MHz G4 can work photoshop, illustrator, and more just as well as my brand new system (the one in my sig).
[sarcasm/] Yea, an older version of photoshop:amazed: [/sarcasm]
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 12-11-2005, 03:11 AM   #20 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

my Apple Powermac 7500 100mhz with 32mb Ram can run Photoshop 4.0 fine.

Yeah, so true. My 486 can do anything i throw at it. As long as the programs were made earlier than 1989
__________________

__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:03 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.