Quad Core or Dual Core? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
View Poll Results: What did you buy or will buy?
E6750 7 63.64%
Q6600 B3 1 9.09%
Q6600 G0 2 18.18%
Waiting for Penryn 1 9.09%
Voters: 11. You may not vote on this poll

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-27-2006, 10:53 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 48
Default Quad Core or Dual Core?

THis is such a big issue for me.

Maybe we can take an opinion poll.

Remember the rate of technology, we dont want the 2 cores to look silly in a year and a half from now.

Should we all just wait and save up a bit more for a quad instead? what do you think?
__________________

__________________
I\'m all about computers.. and beaver.
Kohkane is offline  
Old 12-27-2006, 11:00 PM   #2 (permalink)
Future ex-member
 
lancec2c30's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chehalis, WA
Posts: 4,012
Send a message via MSN to lancec2c30
Default

What are you going to be doing with it? games suck on current quad cores. dual cores pwnz3r right now.
__________________

__________________

XP Pro | Vista Home Premium | Linux Ubuntu 7.10
s939 X2 3800 Toledo @ 2.6ghz | evga 7900gs | 320gig + 80gig wd | 1gb Ram | Abit KN8 SLI
3.1ghz achieved. :cool:
70K F@H member..............still waiting for the "iRACK"

Norcent will not be forgotten.

lancec2c30 is offline  
Old 12-27-2006, 11:35 PM   #3 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default

No just get dual now. 2007 will be the year for dual cores.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 12-28-2006, 12:08 AM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 48
Default

how about 2008 or 2009? I only buy a cpu every 3 to 6 years
__________________
I\'m all about computers.. and beaver.
Kohkane is offline  
Old 12-28-2006, 12:25 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
kfc469's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 928
Send a message via AIM to kfc469
Default

can you not set the quad core to act like a dual core when playing games? The only reason I would get quad core is to set it so that certain programs would use one core. That way, you could have 4 programs running each using up 100% of one cpu.
__________________

kfc469 is offline  
Old 12-28-2006, 12:34 AM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 48
Default

no you cant do that. But that would be awesome and very idile. Maybe eventually you could. I havent read any reviews that explore that.
__________________
I\'m all about computers.. and beaver.
Kohkane is offline  
Old 12-28-2006, 01:28 AM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
kfc469's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 928
Send a message via AIM to kfc469
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Kohkane
no you cant do that.
yes you can do that.

Go to the task manager, right click on the task that you want to run on a certain CPU and choose "set affinity" and choose the CPU that you want it to run on. Repeat for any other processes/ processors.

You can only see the set affinity menu if you auctually have a dual/quad core processor.
__________________

kfc469 is offline  
Old 12-28-2006, 03:12 AM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Graham's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 348
Send a message via AIM to Graham
Default

I would have said quad core before until I read how the "mainstream" core 2 quad Q6600 is going to be only $150 less than the QX6700..... rediculous to buy a processor much over $300 if you ask me.

E6600 for the win
__________________
- Intel i7-930 CPU @ 3.4 GHz w/ Zalman CNPS 9900 MAX
- Asus P6X58D Mainboard
- Corsair 1000W PSU
- Cooler Master HAF 932 Adv. Chassis
- SSD Intel 40 gig
- HDD: 2x SATA III 300 GBs
- LG Blu-Ray 8X
- Gigabyte GTX 670 WF @ 1098 Mhz
- Corsair Dominator 6 GB (2 x 2 GB Trip mode)
Graham is offline  
Old 12-28-2006, 03:36 AM   #9 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Kohkane
how about 2008 or 2009? I only buy a cpu every 3 to 6 years
how should we know?
a year ago amd owned and their dual core was the best since bread thats been toasted. now, c2d rules the world.
man, how do you expect anyone to know what's going to happen TWO years from now with computers?
they'll probably be implanted in our brains by then...:amazed:
i set the affinity for programs all the time, read up!

p.s.
i'm sure we all appreciate the information and all, but...i don't see many ladies on here, but the ones who are probably dont care about your wiener, bro. thats umm...wierd?, man.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 12-28-2006, 10:14 AM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Disillusion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 810
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Kohkane
how about 2008 or 2009? I only buy a cpu every 3 to 6 years
I hereby announce the gayest signature award to you.
__________________

__________________
CPU: Intel i7 2600k @ 4.4 GHz
Cooler: Cooler Master V8
Mobo: ASRock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3
RAM: Corsair Vengeance 16 GB DDR3 1600 MHz
GPU: EVGA 560 Ti
HDD: Cruicial M4 SSD 128 GB
HDD 2: WD VelociRaptor 300 GB
PSU: Corsair TX650w
Case: Corsair 600T Graphite Series
Disillusion is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.