Is quad core definitely better now ? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-15-2009, 04:51 PM   #1 (permalink)
-Deactivated-
 
Oreo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: England
Posts: 5,723
Send a message via MSN to Oreo
Default Is quad core definitely better now ?

Just been checking out some quad core v dual core benchmarks back in Q2 of 2008, and it seems the majority of the time faster dual cores came ahead of quad cores in performance, is this still true now ? i'll be replacing my E6850 with a Q9550 that'll me here within a day or too, but from what i'm seeing now, it looks like sticking with the faster clock speed of the E6850 may of been a better idea.

One of the main things im wondering is, i have alot of stuff open in vista - usually several WinRAR transfers, 10 or so FireFox's, daemon tools, MSN, Steam, xFire, Photoshop all open at once. Occasionally especially just after loading the desktop my dual core really struggles, which is why i bought my quad core. I guess what im asking is will my new pcessor definitely benefit me in this aspect ? i spend alot of time extracting/compressing/decompressing and rendering stuff, aswell as generally doing very heavy multi tasking. Games don't worry so much, i would expect nearly all games releasing from now on to be quad core compatible.

I just hope i see a significant improvement, or i'll be oh so annoyed
__________________

__________________
-Deactivated-
Oreo is offline  
Old 02-15-2009, 04:56 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 155
Default Re: Is quad core definitely better now ?

More cores was meant to do more multi-tasking. And from what you're describing, you will really benefit from it. Enjoy you new quad!

I remember seeing the difference when I went from an E6400 to a Q6600.

And if it's not better now, it definitely will be in the near future. So it will last you longer than a dual core.
__________________

Xandubomb is offline  
Old 02-15-2009, 05:07 PM   #3 (permalink)
-Deactivated-
 
Oreo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: England
Posts: 5,723
Send a message via MSN to Oreo
Default Re: Is quad core definitely better now ?

Thanks, gave me some more confidence in my purchase :laughing:

I realise more cores is better for multi tasking, it's just whether the support for quad cores is around now, i know it wasn't when i bought me E6850, because i had the exact same argument with myself then 'Q6600 quad or E6850 dual..', and at that point in time they had no real benefits over dual. I just hope now there is...
__________________
-Deactivated-
Oreo is offline  
Old 02-15-2009, 06:39 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Is quad core definitely better now ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Oreo View Post
Thanks, gave me some more confidence in my purchase :laughing:

I realise more cores is better for multi tasking, it's just whether the support for quad cores is around now, i know it wasn't when i bought me E6850, because i had the exact same argument with myself then 'Q6600 quad or E6850 dual..', and at that point in time they had no real benefits over dual. I just hope now there is...
Back then it wasn't worth considering... now it just is!!

Sorry I didn't get to your thread earlier, but the q9550 is a good choice

You should do a suicide run with that e6850 before throwing it away!
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 02-15-2009, 06:48 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Luke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,601
Send a message via AIM to Luke Send a message via MSN to Luke
Default Re: Is quad core definitely better now ?

Quote:
You should do a suicide run with that e6850 before throwing it away!
or he could toss it your or my way lol

Yeah you will see a definite improvement in application use. As well, every new game that is being release from now on will support multi threading, and will probably be optimized. So that will be a nice increase in performance. Although i think purchasing that right now, you might come to regret in a few months...as core i7 is in full bloom already. Things will prob end up getting a bit cheaper too...i was gonna upgrade to a q9550 as well but im now waiting.
__________________
3770K @ 4.7 Ghz H100 Water Cooled | GTX 970 MSI Gold Edition SLI
32GB G.Skill RipJaws (Rendering/ Virtualization) | Corsair 650D | CORSAIR RM1000W w/ White Cable KIt
Samsung 850 Pro 256 GB SSD Boot | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD Secondary | WD Black 1 TB | WD Green 3 TB
Server: Core i7 920 | 8GB RAM | Intel 240gb 730 SSD Boot | 3 x 2TB WD RED | Fractal R4
Luke is offline  
Old 02-15-2009, 07:05 PM   #6 (permalink)
-Deactivated-
 
Oreo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: England
Posts: 5,723
Send a message via MSN to Oreo
Default Re: Is quad core definitely better now ?

Nah, it's rare i come about the money just to get this processor, but to get a Core i7, mobo, and ddr3 ram ? Thats dreaming my friend

I'd have to get a job on my 16th birthday, save my birthday money and work for a few months to upgrade to an i7 - maybe i will, maybe.

Aha wow my system sucks so much at overclocking :laughing: i dont think it helps that ive got 2 different cheep brands of 667mhz ram.. nor do i know what to do except the basics. What i do know is i get BSOD after 10mins on Age of Empires 3 when ive overclocked by 200mhz (even if i up the core voltage) wow. just wow. it's shamefull.

Ima have to get me some good DDR2 and better air cooling some time down the line.

Luke:

I just hit up ebuyer, a Core i7, mobo, and tri channel DDR3 would set me back £600. What a joke, especially in this economic climate
__________________
-Deactivated-
Oreo is offline  
Old 02-15-2009, 07:36 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Luke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,601
Send a message via AIM to Luke Send a message via MSN to Luke
Default Re: Is quad core definitely better now ?

^that's actually a pretty decent price mate.
__________________
3770K @ 4.7 Ghz H100 Water Cooled | GTX 970 MSI Gold Edition SLI
32GB G.Skill RipJaws (Rendering/ Virtualization) | Corsair 650D | CORSAIR RM1000W w/ White Cable KIt
Samsung 850 Pro 256 GB SSD Boot | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD Secondary | WD Black 1 TB | WD Green 3 TB
Server: Core i7 920 | 8GB RAM | Intel 240gb 730 SSD Boot | 3 x 2TB WD RED | Fractal R4
Luke is offline  
Old 02-15-2009, 07:43 PM   #8 (permalink)
-Deactivated-
 
Oreo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: England
Posts: 5,723
Send a message via MSN to Oreo
Default Re: Is quad core definitely better now ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Luke View Post
^that's actually a pretty decent price mate.
You really think that !?

Wow.. maybe im a cheepo :laughing:
__________________
-Deactivated-
Oreo is offline  
Old 02-15-2009, 07:54 PM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Luke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,601
Send a message via AIM to Luke Send a message via MSN to Luke
Default Re: Is quad core definitely better now ?

^well what is that in USD? If that's under 850 then yeah, it is.
__________________
3770K @ 4.7 Ghz H100 Water Cooled | GTX 970 MSI Gold Edition SLI
32GB G.Skill RipJaws (Rendering/ Virtualization) | Corsair 650D | CORSAIR RM1000W w/ White Cable KIt
Samsung 850 Pro 256 GB SSD Boot | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD Secondary | WD Black 1 TB | WD Green 3 TB
Server: Core i7 920 | 8GB RAM | Intel 240gb 730 SSD Boot | 3 x 2TB WD RED | Fractal R4
Luke is offline  
Old 02-15-2009, 07:59 PM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 155
Default Re: Is quad core definitely better now ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Luke View Post
^well what is that in USD? If that's under 850 then yeah, it is.
It's around $760-770. Not bad for i7 essentials.
__________________

Xandubomb is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Looking for suggested Quad Core... shan1784 New Systems | Building and Buying 21 08-01-2008 12:45 PM
quad core vs duel core..single gpu vs x2 gpu soulafien New Systems | Building and Buying 11 06-21-2008 04:41 PM
Dual core Vs Quad core ?? illnastyimpreza New Systems | Building and Buying 27 06-03-2008 11:57 PM
45 nm quad core Eric1 New Systems | Building and Buying 18 02-12-2008 11:52 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.