Quad Core composition =) - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-04-2008, 05:13 AM   #21 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: Quad Core composition =)

Looks good, I'd change the GPU and ram though.

This ram is cheaper AND better:
Newegg.com - OCZ ReaperX HPC 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 1000 (PC2 8000) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory - Desktop Memory

This GPU is better:
Newegg.com - MSI NX8800GTS 512M OC GeForce 8800GTS (G92) 512MB 256-bit GDDR3 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready SLI Supported Video Card - Desktop Graphics / Video Cards

Also do you have the CPU or box with you? Either one will tell you if it's a g0 stepping.
And have you considered cooling?
__________________

__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 05-06-2008, 02:18 AM   #22 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,878
Send a message via ICQ to Demalii Send a message via AIM to Demalii Send a message via Yahoo to Demalii
Default Re: Quad Core composition =)

yea I've considered cooling.. I'm wondering if I should just goto water cooling but I really don't want to spend money for that..

I've seen a Tuniq product that looked to be the best thing for 775 cpu..

Iono if that thing'll fit heh

**edit:

I got box, I didn't see the cpu come out of this box, so iono.. but

prod code: BX80562X3220SL9UP
batch#: L648F243


I looked at site, I'm pretty sure it's not G0
__________________

Demalii is offline  
Old 05-06-2008, 02:48 PM   #23 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Quad Core composition =)

SL9UP

thats a B3

if its G0 it'd be like SLACR or something similar
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 05-07-2008, 03:02 AM   #24 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,878
Send a message via ICQ to Demalii Send a message via AIM to Demalii Send a message via Yahoo to Demalii
Default Re: Quad Core composition =)

I think it's SLACT for G0 for the x3220cpu.. anyways, possible to get b3 up to 3.4g with air cooling?

Hey is this the correct item for windows vista home premium ( i think the better version is a waste of money?)
Newegg.com - Microsoft Windows Vista Home Premium SP1 English NA DVD - Operating Systems

thanks
Demalii is offline  
Old 05-07-2008, 07:10 AM   #25 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Quad Core composition =)

You could get it to 3.4ghz, but if you did the temperatures would be somewhat unacceptable...
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 05-07-2008, 11:34 PM   #26 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,878
Send a message via ICQ to Demalii Send a message via AIM to Demalii Send a message via Yahoo to Demalii
Default Re: Quad Core composition =)

Well I was looking at getting that tuniq tower 120 heatsink..

I'm using a server case with a side fan probably 120 that I'm going to add myself.. then 2x120mm fans, one in back exhaust, one in front intake..

The side panel has that plastic thing that directs air to the cpu also, was thinking that was a plus side perhaps..

any opinions on that matter?

is that artic silver 5 still good cpu paste?

not certain if that heatsink will fit on the asus p5e board.. with a x3220 chip.
__________________

Demalii is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Powersupply for Quad core? zerodayATK New Systems | Building and Buying 5 02-03-2008 10:02 PM
Quad Core Vs Extreme Quad Core? Sneblot New Systems | Building and Buying 14 01-16-2008 02:43 AM
How do I compare CPUs? Dual Core, Core 2 Duo, Quad Core... 706 New Systems | Building and Buying 1 12-05-2007 08:27 AM
AMD Triple Core? Osiris Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 4 09-19-2007 07:36 PM
AMD Athlon™ 64 X2 Dual Core Processor Utilities & Updates Osiris Overclocking and Modding 6 05-31-2007 01:41 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:10 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.