Quad Core composition =) - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-02-2008, 12:31 PM   #11 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
NightSurge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Fort Wayne, IN
Posts: 2,217
Send a message via AIM to NightSurge
Default Re: Quad Core composition =)

Quote:
Originally Posted by aspire.comptech View Post
That xeon is identical to the e8400 only diff is in the packaging...
Huh? So all Xeons are e8400's, but then some are quad-core and have different caches and are 65nm? I think you lost me there.
__________________

__________________

If I was helpful, please click the icon on the left hand side of this message that looks like a check mark Thanks!

NightSurge is offline  
Old 05-02-2008, 01:59 PM   #12 (permalink)
The Water Cooling Guru
 
aspire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 5,308
Default Re: Quad Core composition =)

/Sigh

The xeon he wants is identical to an e8400, the only difference is in packaging.

thats all I said.
__________________

__________________
If I help you with something, you think I'm the bomb, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the star under my post.

Thanks!

The Official Tech Forums Water Cooling Informational Guide
aspire is offline  
Old 05-02-2008, 02:06 PM   #13 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
NightSurge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Fort Wayne, IN
Posts: 2,217
Send a message via AIM to NightSurge
Default Re: Quad Core composition =)

But the xeon he wants is a quad-core. How does that make it identical? Unless I'm looking at a different Xeon 3220, what you are saying still doesn't make sense.
__________________

If I was helpful, please click the icon on the left hand side of this message that looks like a check mark Thanks!

NightSurge is offline  
Old 05-02-2008, 02:19 PM   #14 (permalink)
The Water Cooling Guru
 
aspire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 5,308
Default Re: Quad Core composition =)

oh, jk, must've read a number wrong.

It does however correlate to a specific non xeon quad core.

I just dunno which one.
__________________
If I help you with something, you think I'm the bomb, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the star under my post.

Thanks!

The Official Tech Forums Water Cooling Informational Guide
aspire is offline  
Old 05-02-2008, 02:20 PM   #15 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
NightSurge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Fort Wayne, IN
Posts: 2,217
Send a message via AIM to NightSurge
Default Re: Quad Core composition =)

The Q6600. Atleast from what I had said before it compares fairly well.

It's ok, I figured you had misread something, but it was starting to make me think I was crazy or something.
__________________

If I was helpful, please click the icon on the left hand side of this message that looks like a check mark Thanks!

NightSurge is offline  
Old 05-02-2008, 02:46 PM   #16 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Quad Core composition =)

Quote:
Originally Posted by aspire.comptech View Post
/Sigh

The xeon he wants is identical to an e8400, the only difference is in packaging.

thats all I said.
Its q6600, and it clocks just as well as the q6600, plus its nice to see a Quad-Core build that doesn't have a q6600 for once

Ur thinking of the e3110?
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 05-02-2008, 02:55 PM   #17 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
NightSurge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Fort Wayne, IN
Posts: 2,217
Send a message via AIM to NightSurge
Default Re: Quad Core composition =)

Quote:
Originally Posted by vernong1992 View Post
Its q6600, and it clocks just as well as the q6600, plus its nice to see a Quad-Core build that doesn't have a q6600 for once
Yay! Someone agrees with me!

Still, though, the Q6600 is cheaper. I just wasn't sure if the fact that it is a server processor have any affect whatsoever on his gaming performance or not.
__________________

If I was helpful, please click the icon on the left hand side of this message that looks like a check mark Thanks!

NightSurge is offline  
Old 05-02-2008, 03:44 PM   #18 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Quad Core composition =)

Quote:
Originally Posted by surgeVel View Post
Yay! Someone agrees with me!

Still, though, the Q6600 is cheaper. I just wasn't sure if the fact that it is a server processor have any affect whatsoever on his gaming performance or not.
I think Demalii gets a discount on those kinds of processors, because I've seen him have a lot of Server PC's for sale...
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 05-02-2008, 03:47 PM   #19 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
NightSurge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Fort Wayne, IN
Posts: 2,217
Send a message via AIM to NightSurge
Default Re: Quad Core composition =)

Ahh, I see. Ok that works for me.
__________________

If I was helpful, please click the icon on the left hand side of this message that looks like a check mark Thanks!

NightSurge is offline  
Old 05-04-2008, 04:57 AM   #20 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 1,878
Send a message via ICQ to Demalii Send a message via AIM to Demalii Send a message via Yahoo to Demalii
Default Re: Quad Core composition =)

yea I got the cpu for free so..
__________________

Demalii is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Powersupply for Quad core? zerodayATK New Systems | Building and Buying 5 02-03-2008 10:02 PM
Quad Core Vs Extreme Quad Core? Sneblot New Systems | Building and Buying 14 01-16-2008 02:43 AM
How do I compare CPUs? Dual Core, Core 2 Duo, Quad Core... 706 New Systems | Building and Buying 1 12-05-2007 08:27 AM
AMD Triple Core? Osiris Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 4 09-19-2007 07:36 PM
AMD Athlon™ 64 X2 Dual Core Processor Utilities & Updates Osiris Overclocking and Modding 6 05-31-2007 01:41 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.