QuAd CoRe AnYoNe?? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-02-2006, 06:25 PM   #11 (permalink)

Triforcer
 
Baez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,987
Default

well first pics of it suggest that it absolutely needs a watercooling system so there is a mini one built right onto the card. i doubt it would be nearly as good as full sized system tho. and obviously better than air!
__________________

__________________


Baez is offline  
Old 11-02-2006, 07:32 PM   #12 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
HAVOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC
Default

well... i'll have (2) 2.67GHz Quad Core XEON'S running with 16GIG of ram and (4) UBER QUADRO 4500's RUNNING IN Quad SLI with (8) 30" LCD MONITORS!!!! All on my NEW POWERMAC PRO!!!!!

laugh... it can be done.
__________________

HAVOC is offline  
Old 11-02-2006, 07:42 PM   #13 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,992
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by HAVOC2k5
well... i'll have (2) 2.67GHz Quad Core XEON'S running with 16GIG of ram and (4) UBER QUADRO 4500's RUNNING IN Quad SLI with (8) 30" LCD MONITORS!!!! All on my NEW POWERMAC PRO!!!!!

laugh... it can be done.

Psht, I have a Tyan Quad Kentsfield with 4 Quad core Kentsfield, with 32 Gigs of ram, 10 30" Dell LCD's, 8 SCSI 147GB 15,000 RPM Hard drives in RAID 5, FireGL V7300's In Crossfire, 4 Plextor SATA CD-RW drives and and PC and power cooling 1K PSU.
__________________



May the wind always be at your back and the sun upon your face, and may the winds of destiny carry you aloft to dance with the stars
Lord AnthraX is offline  
Old 11-02-2006, 07:56 PM   #14 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

I'm just waiting for AMD's quad cores.
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 11-02-2006, 08:02 PM   #15 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 298
Default

Just imagine, a few years ago we drove cars to work.
__________________

See Wii. See Wii run. See Wii blow all the other consoles out of the water!
KBlair is offline  
Old 11-02-2006, 08:09 PM   #16 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
BennyV04988's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,835
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by KBlair
Just imagine, a few years ago we drove cars to work.
ummm...are you walking now or something?
__________________
3DMARK VANTAGE: 11,500
GPU: MSI GTX 260 @ 650MHz/1175MHz
CPU: Intel E6750 @ 3.4GHz/1.33v/60c
HSF: Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro
MOBO: MSI P6N SLI-FI 650i
RAM: G.SKILL 3x1GB DDR2 800
SND: Creative Audigy 4
SPK:Logtech X-540s
MOS: Logitech MX600 Wireless Laser
LCD: HANNS-G 28" Widescreen
BennyV04988 is offline  
Old 11-02-2006, 11:31 PM   #17 (permalink)

Triforcer
 
Baez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,987
Default

that future isnt far away. eventually they're going to come out with a daily processor lol
__________________


Baez is offline  
Old 11-03-2006, 12:53 AM   #18 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
UA_Iron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 857
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by HAVOC2k5
well... i'll have (2) 2.67GHz Quad Core XEON'S running with 16GIG of ram and (4) UBER QUADRO 4500's RUNNING IN Quad SLI with (8) 30" LCD MONITORS!!!! All on my NEW POWERMAC PRO !!!!!

laugh... it can be done.
that sucks dude, I'm sorry.
UA_Iron is offline  
Old 11-03-2006, 07:33 AM   #19 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
HAVOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Lord AnthraX
PC and power cooling 1K PSU.
I hate to say it dude, but that is no were close to enough... You would need at least 2 of those...
HAVOC is offline  
Old 11-03-2006, 09:13 AM   #20 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

shoot me for being pedantic but havoc seems to be the only person who has actually done any research into or built an MP system seeing as he chose an appropriately achievable configuration, where all the people who keep saying they are going to use multiple kentsfield's are smoking crack because as far as i know they have no MP support i.e. single processor system use only.

since AMD's K7 and Intel's P4 (not to be confused with "P5" Prescott and up) server parts have had their own package and socket.

on another note though it's interesting to see that Intel did go with the predicted foolish idea of two dies on the PCB, cutting corners like with the Pentium D's. though they get credit for at least having two cores to each die. if the schematic image at the top of the article is accurate i think the heat issue could be worsened by the positioning of the dice (wonder if that's the correct plural form ) and the cores in the dice would distribute heat very unevenly. i don't presume to know better than their engineers but i would have wanted to keep the four cores centralised. not that it would make a huge difference but if my thinking is correct and it would help.....well they should do everything they can that would be a "good" design.
__________________

Nitestick is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.