quad 105w vs dual 65w - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-25-2007, 01:19 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 616
Send a message via AIM to OnlyCurious Send a message via Yahoo to OnlyCurious
Talking quad 105w vs dual 65w

I just read about the wattages of the two q6600 and e6850 processors. The q6600 is 105w and the e6850 is 65w. This is the maximum wattage under full cpu load, right?? Seems like the 105w will make my bills go up . Do they differ a lot in wattage while running idle?? I really want to wait for the 45nm cpu's but I've waited long enough!!!!

Do I need an aftermarket heat sink for any of these two cpu's???
(No, I will not overclock.)
__________________

__________________
Use my advice at your own risk.

My rig:
CoolerMaster Centurion 5
SamSung 20" LCD
Intel E6750 @ 2.66Ghz
Gigabyte p35-ds3r
Patriot Extreme 2gb 4-4-4-12
Sapphire X1950XT 256mb
Samsung 500gb @ 7200
PSU Xclio GreatPower 550W
Samsung DVD Burner
Logitec X-230 2.1
OnlyCurious is offline  
Old 06-25-2007, 01:26 PM   #2 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: quad 105w vs dual 65w

You will not need an aftermarket heatsink, if you're not overclocking.

The Q6600 would be of use to you, if you plan on doing a lot of multitasking, as well as gaming. The e6850 will do just fine for you, if you are concerned about your electricity bill.
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 06-25-2007, 02:07 PM   #3 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 3,479
Default Re: quad 105w vs dual 65w

Q6600 will consume less power with the G0 stepping on July 16
Intel will lower the Q6600 Power Consumption on 16th of July

95w only instead of 105w !!
maroon1 is offline  
Old 06-25-2007, 02:22 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: quad 105w vs dual 65w

Quote:
Originally Posted by maroon1 View Post
Q6600 will consume less power with the G0 stepping on July 16
Intel will lower the Q6600 Power Consumption on 16th of July

95w only instead of 105w !!
so would an arctic freezer pro 7 be sufficient to overclock the q6600 at 3.0ghz and keep him cool...
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 06-25-2007, 02:24 PM   #5 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: quad 105w vs dual 65w

I'd say it would suffice enough.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 06-25-2007, 02:26 PM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: quad 105w vs dual 65w

Quote:
Originally Posted by b1gapl View Post
I'd say it would. The MX-1 pad that comes with it, should be better than with AS5.
how about 3.2 ghz??? and will it be in low temps??
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 06-25-2007, 02:27 PM   #7 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: quad 105w vs dual 65w

I don't think it will be low temps. It also depends on how much voltage, you give it, while getting to those speeds. Let's not forget about the airflow of the case, either.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 06-25-2007, 02:29 PM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: quad 105w vs dual 65w

i expected that.. but i consider anything under 80 low i guess thats the effect of using a high voltage P4
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 06-25-2007, 02:30 PM   #9 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: quad 105w vs dual 65w

For C2Ds, it's best to keep it below 60-65C on load.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 06-25-2007, 02:40 PM   #10 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: quad 105w vs dual 65w

Quote:
Originally Posted by b1gapl View Post
For C2Ds, it's best to keep it below 60-65C on load.
sorry to thread jack.... but b1gapl do u know how to mount a giant heatsink on a motherboard.... do i install it after mounting the mobo on the case or do it b4 i mount it like i would with a tiny cooler......
__________________

__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Closed Thread

« Maybe PSU??? | Ds4 »
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
quad core vs. dual core.... same price... last motherboard for one... OnlyCurious New Systems | Building and Buying 4 06-25-2007 11:15 AM
Impressive Dual Screen Wallpapers Osiris Web Graphics and Design 0 06-20-2007 09:55 PM
AMD Athlon™ 64 X2 Dual Core Processor Utilities & Updates Osiris Overclocking and Modding 6 05-31-2007 01:41 PM
Question about quad core.. PanzerKammander New Systems | Building and Buying 7 05-08-2007 12:25 AM
Dual monitor on one VGA cable M2k4 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 04-12-2007 12:32 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.