Q9550 or E8600? - Page 4 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-01-2008, 12:04 AM   #31 (permalink)
1337 §tatus
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Southern California
Posts: 574
Default Re: Q9550 or E8600?

Second one. The stock cooling is like a push pin, I think.
__________________

__________________
1337_JohnN is offline  
Old 12-01-2008, 12:18 AM   #32 (permalink)
True Techie
 
rave_tech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: somwhere out there.....
Posts: 162
Default Re: Q9550 or E8600?

Quote:
Originally Posted by 1337_JohnN View Post
Second one. The stock cooling is like a push pin, I think.
thanks bro, and thats good news about the push pin! yea wester digital is the best hd in my opinion, seagate is crappy in todays performance....maxtor used to be good as well ....lol i remember those days...hehe...

newegg has the boxed version with everything for 294 and everywhere else is 310 LOL

newegg rocks!
__________________

__________________
rave_tech is offline  
Old 12-01-2008, 12:19 AM   #33 (permalink)
I poop on the rug
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,218
Default Re: Q9550 or E8600?

i can do 4.0 bootable.. and after doing some more reading on how to overclock these i'm sure i can bench at 4 now
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 8700k | 16GB G.skill Trident Z | Z370 Gigabyte Auros Gaming Extreme |
Asus GTX1080 Strix | Corsair H100i V2 | Corsair 750D | Corsair RM850X
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 12-01-2008, 12:36 AM   #34 (permalink)
True Techie
 
rave_tech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: somwhere out there.....
Posts: 162
Default Re: Q9550 or E8600?

i will be happy at 2.8 - 3.2 will it bench and run perfectly normal at those speeds? if so how do i adjust that? since i dont know about the i7 like you guys do.
__________________
rave_tech is offline  
Old 12-01-2008, 01:22 AM   #35 (permalink)
Biostar Stole my heart
 
Hussein19891's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,209
Send a message via MSN to Hussein19891
Default Re: Q9550 or E8600?

Umm all I know is that i7 overclocks like AMD chips. If that's the case then after a certain point, you will have to lower the FSB limit. Case you don't want to over clock your FSB too high.

Other then that its all about ram timings, ram speed, bus speed, and multipliers.
__________________


Hussein19891 is offline  
Old 12-01-2008, 01:35 AM   #36 (permalink)
I poop on the rug
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,218
Default Re: Q9550 or E8600?

fsb is gone... it is now bclk and qpi that is changed

i am doing 2.8 right now... very easy...
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 8700k | 16GB G.skill Trident Z | Z370 Gigabyte Auros Gaming Extreme |
Asus GTX1080 Strix | Corsair H100i V2 | Corsair 750D | Corsair RM850X
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 12-01-2008, 05:01 AM   #37 (permalink)
True Techie
 
rave_tech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: somwhere out there.....
Posts: 162
Default Re: Q9550 or E8600?

i cant wait to see it in action :drool:
__________________
rave_tech is offline  
Old 12-01-2008, 07:06 AM   #38 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baron5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,984
Default Re: Q9550 or E8600?

man the prices in usa are actually affordable, our currency atm hasnt left us with no chance of i7 being affordable for a while.
__________________
<<<Please give me Rep if I have helped you<<<

I7 930 @ 4GHz : Noctua D-14
Gigabyte X58A-UD7 : Asus GTX 480
G.Skill Trident 1600MHz 6-8-7-18 : Samsung F3 1TB
OCZ Vertex 2 50GB : Silverstone RV02 Case
Silverstone Strider Plus 1Kw : Sony DRU-870s Optical
Samsung P2350 Monito
r

baron5 is offline  
Old 12-01-2008, 10:02 PM   #39 (permalink)
True Techie
 
rave_tech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: somwhere out there.....
Posts: 162
Default Re: Q9550 or E8600?

gotta decide now if its gonna be i7....hmmmm...
__________________

__________________
rave_tech is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FS: New Rig E8600, 4 GB RAM, Water Cooling, HD 4870x2 ccd1977 New Systems | Building and Buying 0 11-06-2008 07:00 PM
Did the Q9550 Just drop $200?... smashedpumpkins New Systems | Building and Buying 39 08-15-2008 08:48 PM
Price drop for Q9550 has happend maroon1 New Technology and Products 12 08-13-2008 11:56 AM
Intel to intro E8600 and Q9400 in Q3 maroon1 New Technology and Products 3 05-02-2008 05:12 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.