q9450/q6600/e8400 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-03-2008, 05:57 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 47
Default q9450/q6600/e8400

For someone who only games, but want to last a few years with one of the three cpu's witch is the logical choice in your opinion? Read many reviews, but under most of your sigs i see the q6600. What makes you choose that over the q9450? Is it the $150 more dollar price tag?

Already had to make a few other hard choices, one was the ram. ATM ddr3 1333 is slower than its cheaper dd2 10xx low latency chips, but seeing as i want a board i can later add too and a budget when it comes to ram, i got a 790i Mobo witch only supports ddr3 1333-2000. when i get more money i can put ddr3 1600's in there.

After all this i concluded that for a fast system you would build this a rig with e8400 at 4ghz, and some fast low latency dd2 instead of a slightly slower q9450 with ddr3 1333. But the deciding factor was quads will be used more in a few years and ddr3 board will be faster when i can afford the 1600. I tell yah when spending almost 3 grand on a system these decisions are very hard to make.

NCIX.com - Buy Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 Quad Core Processor LGA775 2.66GHZ Yorkfield 1333FSB 12MB OEM No HSF - EU80569PJ067N In Canada.

NCIX.com - Buy Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 Quad Core Processor LGA775 Kentsfield 2.40GHZ 1066FSB 8MB Retail Box - BX80562Q6600 In Canada.
__________________

melioz is offline  
Old 04-03-2008, 06:10 PM   #2 (permalink)
Camera junky
 
Poizen22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: ottawa ontario canada.
Posts: 6,280
Default Re: q9450/q6600/e8400

Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 Quad Core Processor LGA775 2.66GHZ Yorkfield 1333FSB 12MB OEM No HSF - DirectCanada is much cheaper for the q9450 if you want top get one.
__________________

__________________

https://www.flickr.com/photos/poizen22/
intel Core I7 8700k@ 5.0ghz-Nvidia GTX1080 ti ftw3-Aorus 5 z370 mobo-16gb ddr4 G-Skill trident Z rgb 3000mhz - 1tb samsung 960 pro, 2tb wd blue- thermaltake rgb 750w gold-Phanteks pro M TG- Samsung CHG70 1440p 144hz 32 inch QLED.
Poizen22 is offline  
Old 04-03-2008, 06:10 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: CA
Posts: 150
Send a message via AIM to JDM555
Default Re: q9450/q6600/e8400

Gaming. E8400 Wins as it is newer 45nm Tech and faster.

If you do more than Game such as Image Editing and Multi-task, then the Quads win.

If you want something that lasts, the Core Duo is out of the picture because there are already new programs and games using the quad core technology now, and a core duo would need to be replaced with a quad or octa in the near future.

The Q9450 is nice, but Is a little expensive for what it offers. Since I am in the states, I went to Micro Center and got the Q6600 g0 SLACR for $199. It will do me good until Octa-cores.
__________________

SeaGate 500GB 32MB Cache HD
XIGMATEK S1283 120mm Fan
Crucial Tracers 2X1GB Ram
Intel Q6600 Quad Core g0
DFI P35 Mother Board
19" Dell Wide Screen
EVGA 8800GTS G92
Corsair 520HX PSU
Arctic Silver MX-2
:D

I am 63% addicted to Counterstrike. What about you?
JDM555 is offline  
Old 04-03-2008, 06:21 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: q9450/q6600/e8400

Save yourself some money and get a 780i, good ddr2 and a 9450. dd3 doesnt have enough performance impact even at 1600 to make it worth the price. Once nehelem comes out and uses onboard memory controllers thats when you'll want to switch to ddr3.

As to why most of us have the q6600, its because the 9450 only became available last week
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 04-03-2008, 06:21 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 47
Default Re: q9450/q6600/e8400

I am so close to clicking the order now button on my system, Seeing as there coming out with the programs that use quads, and the e8400's only gain you small amount of fps, ial go with the q9450. And ty for the cheaper link dude much appreciated.

I know the basics about specs in comps, but one thing i pulled up on a forum was that your processor effects your Oc on ram? If i got the wrong idea please to correct me, but they were saying something along the lines of the multiplier on the q9450 is 8 or something witch somehow effects the over clocking of the 1333 ram? Not sure, i might have this completely wrong because in order to get my 1333 ram to beat the top end ddr2 i need to clock it up to 1600 witch has been tested to run stable.
melioz is offline  
Old 04-03-2008, 06:35 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: q9450/q6600/e8400

The only time memory affects your cpu overclock is if you have the 2 linked. There really isnt that much point in running linked. But with ddr2 you could still easily run at 3.2ghz with an 8x400 FSB and memory running at 800mhz. Its just as easy to overclock the cpu independant of the memory.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 04-03-2008, 10:56 PM   #7 (permalink)
Camera junky
 
Poizen22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: ottawa ontario canada.
Posts: 6,280
Default Re: q9450/q6600/e8400

with a 790i or 780i you should be able to post 500fsb, and be stable.and no problem i always try to help, there shiping is cheaper then ncix's aswell.
__________________

https://www.flickr.com/photos/poizen22/
intel Core I7 8700k@ 5.0ghz-Nvidia GTX1080 ti ftw3-Aorus 5 z370 mobo-16gb ddr4 G-Skill trident Z rgb 3000mhz - 1tb samsung 960 pro, 2tb wd blue- thermaltake rgb 750w gold-Phanteks pro M TG- Samsung CHG70 1440p 144hz 32 inch QLED.
Poizen22 is offline  
Old 04-04-2008, 05:25 AM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 47
Default Re: q9450/q6600/e8400

Don't heckle me on my lack of knowledge about my own country,but does your tat mean B.c?
__________________

melioz is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.