Q9300 or Q9450 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-30-2008, 04:15 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
solidsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 600
Default Q9300 or Q9450

right i am in a bit of a dilemma (nothing new)

i have decided towards a quad core cpu after weeks (call it 3 months) of deciding dual or quad now in the time its took me to decide and in the time it will take me to get the money these 2 Q9450 and Q9300 will be out

now after looking at both the only 3 things splitting them is the Q9450 has 12mb cache, and is 0.11 ghz faster then the Q9300 and is £20 more then it to

now thats the thing which one, is it worth £20 for slightly increased clock and cache

the other parts to my system is:

MOBO - gigabyte GA-P35-DS3R iP35 express
HDD - 2x 500GB western digital 7500rpm
DDR - 4gb of 4x 1gb patriot 800mhz memory


whats your thought's and options on these 2
__________________

__________________


My new pc spec's ~

Case ~ nexus caterpilla
Mobo ~ Gigabyte GA~P35~DS3R Rev 2.0
CPU ~ Intel Q6600
HDD ~ 2 x 500gb western digital drives
Ram ~ 4GB worth (4 strips) of OCZ 2GB PC2-6400 Platinum Rev 2.0
PSU ~ Corsair 750TX
GPU ~ GTX 295

OS - Windows 7 Home 64-bit
solidsteve is offline  
Old 01-30-2008, 04:45 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: Q9300 or Q9450

The 9450 will overclock farther because it has a higher multiplier and wont force you to run into the high 450+ FSB area like the 9300 will. If i recall correctly the 9300 is a 7.5x, the 9450 is 8x and the 9550 is 9x. Personally if i decide to upgrade from my q6600 to a 45nm i'm going to pay the extra for the 9550 just so i dont have to run a huge FSB to hit 4ghz.
__________________

__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 01-30-2008, 05:08 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
solidsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 600
Default Re: Q9300 or Q9450

thanks veed

the only thing putting me off the Q9550 is the price tag where the 9300 & 9450 are around £200 (give or take) the Q9550 is £360 a good £140 difference minimum
__________________


My new pc spec's ~

Case ~ nexus caterpilla
Mobo ~ Gigabyte GA~P35~DS3R Rev 2.0
CPU ~ Intel Q6600
HDD ~ 2 x 500gb western digital drives
Ram ~ 4GB worth (4 strips) of OCZ 2GB PC2-6400 Platinum Rev 2.0
PSU ~ Corsair 750TX
GPU ~ GTX 295

OS - Windows 7 Home 64-bit
solidsteve is offline  
Old 01-30-2008, 05:11 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Black Falcon 921's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Cypress, Texas
Posts: 562
Default Re: Q9300 or Q9450

I don't know I am going with the 9450 mainly cause the fsb and L2. For the price difference it was a no brainer to me
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Black Falcon 921 is offline  
Old 01-30-2008, 05:12 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: Q9300 or Q9450

9300/9450/9550 are all 1333 FSB. The only difference between them is the amount of cache and the multiplier.
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 01-30-2008, 06:44 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,164
Send a message via AIM to ThirdLeft152
Default Re: Q9300 or Q9450

i think the q9450 will be the best bet. double the cache and higher multi, definitely worth it for price difference imo.
__________________

My gaming rig:
ASUS P6T | i7-920 D0 @ 4.0GHZ - 1.25v w/ H50
GTX 460/768MB (750/1500/2000) | 12GB Corsair DDR3-1600 @ (8-8-8-24)
2 x PS-100 32GB SSD Raid 0 | 4 x WD 750GB Raid 5 | Corsair 620HX
Asus 21.6" LCD (1080p) | LG 32" TV (1080p)
Logitech G15 | Logitech MX518 | Logitech MX1100 | Razer Mamba
Heatware | http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=59417
ThirdLeft152 is offline  
Old 01-30-2008, 10:49 PM   #7 (permalink)
MetalHead Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,912
Default Re: Q9300 or Q9450

ya i would go with the q9450
what mobo do you have you have 2 listed?
__________________
Proc Intel 2500k
Video XFX 6950 1Gb
Display 22'' Monitor Chemei 5ms RT, 800:1 CR
Mobo Biostar Z68A+
Mem 4 gb PNY DDR3 1600
Case afk
Sound Logitech z-5300e 5.1 + Razer Orca's + Creative Soundblaster Audigy SE
PSU Corsair 520hx
OS Windows 7 64-bit
Cooling Corsair H60 Liquid Cooling
HDD Hitachi 1Tb
Invisible is offline  
Old 01-31-2008, 03:52 AM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
solidsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 600
Default Re: Q9300 or Q9450

Quote:
Originally Posted by Invisible View Post
ya i would go with the q9450
what mobo do you have you have 2 listed?
thats 1 mobo its the gigabyte GA-P35-DS3R

its just the place i'm getting it from has it up as the gigabyte GA-P35-DS3R iP35 express

and thanks, the Q9450 it is, now i need to know if it would run crysis
__________________


My new pc spec's ~

Case ~ nexus caterpilla
Mobo ~ Gigabyte GA~P35~DS3R Rev 2.0
CPU ~ Intel Q6600
HDD ~ 2 x 500gb western digital drives
Ram ~ 4GB worth (4 strips) of OCZ 2GB PC2-6400 Platinum Rev 2.0
PSU ~ Corsair 750TX
GPU ~ GTX 295

OS - Windows 7 Home 64-bit
solidsteve is offline  
Old 01-31-2008, 06:08 AM   #9 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 3,479
Default Re: Q9300 or Q9450

Quote:
Originally Posted by solidsteve View Post

and thanks, the Q9450 it is, now i need to know if it would run crysis
The performance of Crysis depends much more on the video card than CPU
maroon1 is offline  
Old 01-31-2008, 10:37 AM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
solidsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 600
Default Re: Q9300 or Q9450

Quote:
Originally Posted by maroon1 View Post
The performance of Crysis depends much more on the video card than CPU
ok thanks now i'v got either a single gt for £170 or 2x ati 3850 in cf for £210 or sli 2 gt's at a cost of £340 in my head, i wish i didn't have a brain at times it bogles so much
__________________

__________________


My new pc spec's ~

Case ~ nexus caterpilla
Mobo ~ Gigabyte GA~P35~DS3R Rev 2.0
CPU ~ Intel Q6600
HDD ~ 2 x 500gb western digital drives
Ram ~ 4GB worth (4 strips) of OCZ 2GB PC2-6400 Platinum Rev 2.0
PSU ~ Corsair 750TX
GPU ~ GTX 295

OS - Windows 7 Home 64-bit
solidsteve is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Intel Q9300 & E8400 solidsteve Overclocking and Modding 28 02-02-2008 10:23 AM
Sold my computer, waiting for Q9450 dhgunit New Systems | Building and Buying 20 01-23-2008 02:47 AM
Difference between q6600 and q9450? krazyq Overclocking and Modding 88 01-01-2008 04:05 AM
QX9650 vs Q9450 Merkwürdigeliebe New Systems | Building and Buying 11 12-05-2007 01:29 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.