Q6700 or E? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-06-2008, 11:27 AM   #11 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 104
Default Re: Q6700 or E?

I have an Evga nForce 680i sli and no Ram yet. I can get whatever ram suits the processor best. Same thing goes for every other piece i have to buy. If the Q6600 can go 400 x 9, does that mean the Q6700 can go 400 x 10 ? So like 3.6G/s max vs 4g/s max ? I have been reading the overclocking manual for my mobo at the nvidia website here, http://www.nvidia.com/docs/CP/45121/...erclocking.pdf
That manual helps but is still a bit over my head at the moment.

EDIT:
Ok after hours and hours of reading i am starting to understand this a little. I am reading all over the place that my motherboard is terrible to overclock with. My FSB is going to top off somewhere between 350-375. Also i guess some people have troubles overclocking with this motherboard while having all 4 Ram slots full. So i am going to be limited to 2024x2 @ 1066

I am ordering the Q6700 tonight i think because it sounds like i will be putting that extra multiplier to use and i would rather spend an extra $40 i didn't need to than cheat myself out.
__________________

FourTwenny is offline  
Old 05-06-2008, 11:34 PM   #12 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Luke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,601
Send a message via AIM to Luke Send a message via MSN to Luke
Default Re: Q6700 or E?

well if you really want to oc past 3.6 then the q6700 is worth it. But since this is your first time ocing i think you should pace yourself.
__________________

__________________
3770K @ 4.7 Ghz H100 Water Cooled | GTX 970 MSI Gold Edition SLI
32GB G.Skill RipJaws (Rendering/ Virtualization) | Corsair 650D | CORSAIR RM1000W w/ White Cable KIt
Samsung 850 Pro 256 GB SSD Boot | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD Secondary | WD Black 1 TB | WD Green 3 TB
Server: Core i7 920 | 8GB RAM | Intel 240gb 730 SSD Boot | 3 x 2TB WD RED | Fractal R4
Luke is offline  
Old 05-06-2008, 11:48 PM   #13 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default Re: Q6700 or E?

The Q6600 or an E8400
__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 05-07-2008, 03:32 AM   #14 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 104
Default Re: Q6700 or E?

Ok the Q6700 is in the mail. Thanx for the help. Now it is time for me to start reading about ram and HDDs.
__________________
Evga nForce 680i sli Motherboard
Q6700 CPU
Apevia Blue X-Cruiser Case
Dell UltraSharp 2408WFP-HC Monitor
Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Speakers
Logitech G5 Mouse
FourTwenny is offline  
Old 05-07-2008, 08:42 AM   #15 (permalink)
Devious Techie
 
therascalking's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Fullerton, CA, USA
Posts: 479
Send a message via ICQ to therascalking Send a message via AIM to therascalking Send a message via Yahoo to therascalking
Default Re: Q6700 or E?

Ram is pretty simple to pick: pretty much get crucial ballistix or g.skill... and as low timings/high speed as you can afford... and keep in mind what operating system youre running... if its 32-bit, you only can utilize something like 3.xGB of RAM... so most people stick to 2GB... but if youre running 64-bit, have at it... haha
and as for HDDs, its kinda just how much space you wanna spend on... and then i would stick to something in the WD SE16 series or the Seagate 7200.11 series...
just some thoughts, good luck - RK
__________________

*School, work, girls? No time for computers! :P*
therascalking is offline  
Old 05-07-2008, 12:33 PM   #16 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 104
Default Re: Q6700 or E?

I guess i have to start deciding on 32bit vs 64bit.

The only 3 HDDs i have had in mind so far are the WD SE16 Caviar 500g, the Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 500gig (the one with the 32mb memory buffer) or the Samsung Spinpoint 1TB (becasue of reviews and price). I actually plan on getting only 1 HDD to start and adding a 2nd internal and maybe even a 3rd external after my PC is built and running. I doubt i will go raid, any really important info i save on dvd anyways so i am not to worried about losing data in case something happens. I want to read what sata type my motherboard supports before ordering. I know i can use regular Sata but now i am seeing sata2 HDDs and i want to investigate that a bit. It will be 2-3 weeks before i have money to order anyways so i guess i have the time to read read read and read some more.
__________________
Evga nForce 680i sli Motherboard
Q6700 CPU
Apevia Blue X-Cruiser Case
Dell UltraSharp 2408WFP-HC Monitor
Logitech Z-5500 5.1 Speakers
Logitech G5 Mouse
FourTwenny is offline  
Old 05-07-2008, 04:41 PM   #17 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Luke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,601
Send a message via AIM to Luke Send a message via MSN to Luke
Default Re: Q6700 or E?

i would say stick with the 7200.11 500gb (32mb cache) there pretty fast.

sata is 1.5gb/s
sata2 is 3.0gb/s

so if it says it has 3.0gb/s sata 2 will work....usually it says it sumwhere inthe title or description if it supports sata 2 =D.
__________________

__________________
3770K @ 4.7 Ghz H100 Water Cooled | GTX 970 MSI Gold Edition SLI
32GB G.Skill RipJaws (Rendering/ Virtualization) | Corsair 650D | CORSAIR RM1000W w/ White Cable KIt
Samsung 850 Pro 256 GB SSD Boot | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD Secondary | WD Black 1 TB | WD Green 3 TB
Server: Core i7 920 | 8GB RAM | Intel 240gb 730 SSD Boot | 3 x 2TB WD RED | Fractal R4
Luke is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
q6700 price drop has happened!! NosBoost300 New Systems | Building and Buying 23 04-23-2008 02:38 PM
Q6700 Maxes out at 3.2Ghz RicoDirenzo Overclocking and Modding 45 04-10-2008 06:17 PM
Q6600 vs Q6700 StealthTools New Systems | Building and Buying 22 03-20-2008 04:29 PM
Q6700 vs Phenom 9500 3DMark06 RicoDirenzo New Systems | Building and Buying 31 02-03-2008 02:10 AM
Temps for Q6700 vs. QX6850 TheMaestro New Systems | Building and Buying 29 11-05-2007 10:33 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.