Q6700 or E? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-05-2008, 09:13 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 104
Default Q6700 or E?

Ok i am building a rig to game on and do all my other things. I already have the board, it is a Nvidia 680i sli. I am most likely (suggest something else if you want) going with a single 8800GTX for now.

I am ordering a processor tomorrow or Wednesday and i am not able to decide which one. The price is so close that it doesn't matter at all to me, i just want to know which one is the better quality for gaming.

Here is the first a Q6700 with no fan for $260
Intel Core 2 Quad Q6700 Processor HH80562PH0678MK - 2.66GHz, 8MB Cache, 1066MHz FSB, Kentsfield, Quad-Core, OEM, Socket 775, Processor in Canada at TigerDirect.ca

Here is the second. a E8400 with fan
Intel Core 2 Duo E8400 Processor BX80570E8400 - 3.0GHz, 6MB Cache, 1333MHz FSB, Wolfdale, Dual-Core, Retail, Socket 775, Processor with Fan in Canada at TigerDirect.ca



All i have for the build so far is the mobo and case, i have around 300 to spend this week. If there is a special on right now on hdds or Ram or something i would order that instead,. So if you know of a deal available to Canadians let me know.
__________________

FourTwenny is offline  
Old 05-05-2008, 09:18 PM   #2 (permalink)
Devious Techie
 
therascalking's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Fullerton, CA, USA
Posts: 479
Send a message via ICQ to therascalking Send a message via AIM to therascalking Send a message via Yahoo to therascalking
Default Re: Q6700 or E?

well, to start... most games dont fully utilize all four cores, so you wont notice a HUGE difference there... more in multitasking/running many applications simultaneously... that kinda stuff... so keep that in mind...
youre gonna get alot of people telling you to go Q6600, but... its your choice if the x9 vs x10 multiplier and faster stock speed is worth it to you for the extra couple bucks... i have a Q6700 and love it tho, so... just something else to think about... haha

but anywho, another thing i would suggest is to go with a 9800GTX... theyre about the same price or cheaper (depending on sales/where you buy it) and theyre better for the price...

good luck with your build tho - RK
__________________

__________________

*School, work, girls? No time for computers! :P*
therascalking is offline  
Old 05-05-2008, 09:27 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 104
Default Re: Q6700 or E?

I was kind of thinking about getting a 9800gtx but wasn't sure if the 8800gtx would max out my board as is. I am kind of a noob to this stuff.

I don't understand the x9 x10. Is that referring to like DX9 and DX10 ? The q6600 is $40 cheaper than the 6700 so i just thought it was not as good. i Know i want to go DX10 and Vista if than helps .
FourTwenny is offline  
Old 05-05-2008, 09:31 PM   #4 (permalink)
Inquiry - The Dark Cheese
 
darksideleader's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 953
Default Re: Q6700 or E?

so basically for a gamer, you want the e8400 to overclock it to 4ghz+. Judging from the 8800GTX, you probably game a lot.

The q6700 has a x10 multipler that theriotically will oc better than the q6600 with a multiplier of x9.

If you got no clue on what overclock is or how to do it, best you go with a faster dual-core than slower quad cores.
__________________
Runnin' Stock, Cool, Quiet and Fast
Q6700
Thermaltake Big Typhoon w/ Scythe Kama PWN Fan
MSI P6N SLI Platinum
OCZ Vista Performance Platinum 4x2GB
2x Western Digital Caviar Blue 500GB RAID 0
HD Radeon 3450 *Temp* *8800GT SLI Coming*
Acer AL2216W 22" LCD Monitor + 17" Samsung Sync Master 750
Antec TruePower Trio 650 Watt
Power Up Standard
Windows 7 Home Premium (64-bit)
darksideleader is offline  
Old 05-05-2008, 09:37 PM   #5 (permalink)
Devious Techie
 
therascalking's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Fullerton, CA, USA
Posts: 479
Send a message via ICQ to therascalking Send a message via AIM to therascalking Send a message via Yahoo to therascalking
Default Re: Q6700 or E?

Quote:
Originally Posted by FourTwenny View Post
I was kind of thinking about getting a 9800gtx but wasn't sure if the 8800gtx would max out my board as is. I am kind of a noob to this stuff.

I don't understand the x9 x10. Is that referring to like DX9 and DX10 ? The q6600 is $40 cheaper than the 6700 so i just thought it was not as good. i Know i want to go DX10 and Vista if than helps .
eh... not sure what you mean by 'max out your board', but... a 9800GTX is prolly the way to go all around... im not familiar with Canadian sites and prices, so i couldnt tell you about that, but its worth looking up...

and its the fixed multiplier thats on the chip for when you overclock... you take the FSB and the multiplier and multiply those two numbers to get your CPU's speed. i like the x10 multiplier cuz its alot easier than trying to figure out a x9... so you can overclock a little easier and prolly a little further than a Q6600, but you prolly wont notice the difference much unless you plan on overclocking quite a bit... haha... but anywho, thats what i meant...
your CPU doesnt matter for DirectX really... thats your video card, and both the 8 and 9 thousand series are DX10 compatible... - RK
__________________

*School, work, girls? No time for computers! :P*
therascalking is offline  
Old 05-05-2008, 09:38 PM   #6 (permalink)
Devious Techie
 
therascalking's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Fullerton, CA, USA
Posts: 479
Send a message via ICQ to therascalking Send a message via AIM to therascalking Send a message via Yahoo to therascalking
Default Re: Q6700 or E?

Quote:
Originally Posted by darksideleader View Post
so basically for a gamer, you want the e8400 to overclock it to 4ghz+. Judging from the 8800GTX, you probably game a lot.

The q6700 has a x10 multipler that theriotically will oc better than the q6600 with a multiplier of x9.

If you got no clue on what overclock is or how to do it, best you go with a faster dual-core than slower quad cores.
oops, beat me to it... haha
but yea, i agree... faster dual core is better for gaming, but only if you dont overclock...
again, good luck - RK
__________________

*School, work, girls? No time for computers! :P*
therascalking is offline  
Old 05-05-2008, 11:31 PM   #7 (permalink)
Inquiry - The Dark Cheese
 
darksideleader's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 953
Default Re: Q6700 or E?

q6x series usally max out at 3.6-8ghzish.
e8x series can be easily clocked 4ghz+
__________________
Runnin' Stock, Cool, Quiet and Fast
Q6700
Thermaltake Big Typhoon w/ Scythe Kama PWN Fan
MSI P6N SLI Platinum
OCZ Vista Performance Platinum 4x2GB
2x Western Digital Caviar Blue 500GB RAID 0
HD Radeon 3450 *Temp* *8800GT SLI Coming*
Acer AL2216W 22" LCD Monitor + 17" Samsung Sync Master 750
Antec TruePower Trio 650 Watt
Power Up Standard
Windows 7 Home Premium (64-bit)
darksideleader is offline  
Old 05-06-2008, 12:05 AM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Luke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,601
Send a message via AIM to Luke Send a message via MSN to Luke
Default Re: Q6700 or E?

there is no point to get a q6700 unless your ocing it past 3.6...since you are new to this stuff i would say get an e8400.

ps. tiger direct prices and shipping are more then ncix so order from them.

NCIX.com - Canada's Premier Computer Store - Great Technology, Service and Selection.
__________________
3770K @ 4.7 Ghz H100 Water Cooled | GTX 970 MSI Gold Edition SLI
32GB G.Skill RipJaws (Rendering/ Virtualization) | Corsair 650D | CORSAIR RM1000W w/ White Cable KIt
Samsung 850 Pro 256 GB SSD Boot | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD Secondary | WD Black 1 TB | WD Green 3 TB
Server: Core i7 920 | 8GB RAM | Intel 240gb 730 SSD Boot | 3 x 2TB WD RED | Fractal R4
Luke is offline  
Old 05-06-2008, 02:06 AM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 104
Default Re: Q6700 or E?

Ok I did a lot of reading on here and through google tonight and i decided to go with a quad core. Now i am deciding between a q6700 or a q6600. I will be over-clocking and putting in water-cooling. I have done neither before but i learn fast and it am pretty mechanically inclined.

The specs on these 2 processors are identical except for the speed ( which will be oc'd anyways) and the multiples you guys talked about. They are both G0 stepping which i guess is good for overclocking. When both cpus are clocked as high as they can go what will their speeds be at. Will the 6700 be at least 20% faster, to justify the 20% extra cost for me ? Also i heard my motherboard is a pain to oc with. It is the release edition of Evga 680i sli, is this going to effect how either processor overclocks for me ?

Sorry for the hundred questions. I checked NCIX earlier today too, tiger is mostly more expensive but they are having a sale on these cpu at the moment so it is the way to go for today.
FourTwenny is offline  
Old 05-06-2008, 05:05 AM   #10 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: Q6700 or E?

The Q6700 offers absolutely nothing over the Q6600 except the higher multiplier....which is still nothing in my opinion because the 9x multiplier of the Q6600 is plenty high.

If your motherboard can do 400fsb then the 9x multi will put the q6600 at 3.6ghz.....


What kind of motherboard and ram do you have?
__________________

__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
q6700 price drop has happened!! NosBoost300 New Systems | Building and Buying 23 04-23-2008 02:38 PM
Q6700 Maxes out at 3.2Ghz RicoDirenzo Overclocking and Modding 45 04-10-2008 06:17 PM
Q6600 vs Q6700 StealthTools New Systems | Building and Buying 22 03-20-2008 04:29 PM
Q6700 vs Phenom 9500 3DMark06 RicoDirenzo New Systems | Building and Buying 31 02-03-2008 02:10 AM
Temps for Q6700 vs. QX6850 TheMaestro New Systems | Building and Buying 29 11-05-2007 10:33 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.