Q6600 vs. Q9400 - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-07-2008, 06:25 PM   #11 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 28
Default Re: Q6600 vs. Q9400

From what I've read, for gaming purposes, the difference in cache has absolutely no effect.
__________________

Uniqueuponhim is offline  
Old 10-08-2008, 02:58 AM   #12 (permalink)
Biostar Stole my heart
 
Hussein19891's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,209
Send a message via MSN to Hussein19891
Default Re: Q6600 vs. Q9400

Quote:
Originally Posted by Uniqueuponhim View Post
From what I've read, for gaming purposes, the difference in cache has absolutely no effect.
AMD Quads and Duals have much less cache then their Intel's counterparts. Yet they still seem to do alright in gaming. So cache doesn't really do a lot for gaming.
__________________

__________________


Hussein19891 is offline  
Old 10-08-2008, 03:07 AM   #13 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baron5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,984
Default Re: Q6600 vs. Q9400

a quad that has 8mb q6600, also is pretty similar to a dual core with less cache. makes sense to make that conclusion i guess..

also i live in australia ur best bet is Online Computer Store - Umart online® Your one stop Computer Shop for computer parts,notebook and new system if your buying a whole system, they have the best prices all over. otherwise use staticICE :: Australia's comprehensive computer hardware and gadget price comparison search engine to search independly to find the best price, one site has it for 390 (q9550)
__________________
<<<Please give me Rep if I have helped you<<<

I7 930 @ 4GHz : Noctua D-14
Gigabyte X58A-UD7 : Asus GTX 480
G.Skill Trident 1600MHz 6-8-7-18 : Samsung F3 1TB
OCZ Vertex 2 50GB : Silverstone RV02 Case
Silverstone Strider Plus 1Kw : Sony DRU-870s Optical
Samsung P2350 Monito
r

baron5 is offline  
Old 10-08-2008, 03:38 AM   #14 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default Re: Q6600 vs. Q9400

Quote:
Originally Posted by veedubfreak View Post
Do you mean 9400? or 9450? The 9400 from my understanding is a cut down crappy version with less cache than the 6600.
IntelĀ® Coreā„¢2 Quad Processor Q9400 - SLB6B
IntelĀ® Coreā„¢2 Quad Processor Q6600 - SLACR
IntelĀ® Coreā„¢2 Quad Processor Q9450 - SLAWR

I was correct, the q9400 only has 6mb of cache, q6600 has 8, 9450 has 12.
q9400 is the same thing as a q9450, just with the cache cut in half... its not part of the kentsfield family if i remember right
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 10-08-2008, 10:35 AM   #15 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: Q6600 vs. Q9400

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hussein19891 View Post
AMD Quads and Duals have much less cache then their Intel's counterparts. Yet they still seem to do alright in gaming. So cache doesn't really do a lot for gaming.
it doesnt do a lot for AMD chips. because of their IMC, they dont need the big cache. current intel chips, on the other hand, do benefit from larger cache. gaming there is a measurable difference, but in programs that crunch numbers like superpi...there is a massive performance difference.
nehalem will have the IMC, so the cache will be noticeably smaller.
__________________

__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The Tech Forums Official Crysis [Warhead] GPU Benchmark Thread gurusan Overclocking and Modding 543 03-12-2010 12:32 AM
intel Q6600 Batch List thirdshiftdj Overclocking and Modding 86 10-03-2008 01:01 AM
bad batch q6600? nukeman8 New Systems | Building and Buying 49 09-04-2008 11:42 AM
G0 Revision Q6600? Help... g3kk0 New Systems | Building and Buying 25 04-24-2008 01:12 PM
q6600 for gaming and OC Riznarf New Systems | Building and Buying 37 06-19-2007 10:12 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.