Q6600 vs. Q9400 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-07-2008, 01:15 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 38
Default Q6600 vs. Q9400

If money wasn't an issue, which would you go for?

(I think it's a pretty straight forward answer, just want to be sure...)
__________________

skele89 is offline  
Old 10-07-2008, 01:19 AM   #2 (permalink)
Camera junky
 
Poizen22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: ottawa ontario canada.
Posts: 6,280
Default Re: Q6600 vs. Q9400

q9450, my mobo can push a descent fsb, and the q9450 will clock farther.
__________________

__________________

https://www.flickr.com/photos/poizen22/
intel Core I7 8700k@ 5.0ghz-Nvidia GTX1080 ti ftw3-Aorus 5 z370 mobo-16gb ddr4 G-Skill trident Z rgb 3000mhz - 1tb samsung 960 pro, 2tb wd blue- thermaltake rgb 750w gold-Phanteks pro M TG- Samsung CHG70 1440p 144hz 32 inch QLED.
Poizen22 is offline  
Old 10-07-2008, 04:18 AM   #3 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 3,479
Default Re: Q6600 vs. Q9400

Q9400 performs better and consume less power

Q6600 is cheaper

Both are good CPU's, and if money wasn't an issue then I recommend Q9550 for you
maroon1 is offline  
Old 10-07-2008, 06:12 AM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 41
Default Re: Q6600 vs. Q9400

Q9400 is better choice.
grasswater is offline  
Old 10-07-2008, 03:08 PM   #5 (permalink)
I feel funny...
 
thirdshiftdj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Lowell,Ma
Posts: 3,808
Send a message via AIM to thirdshiftdj
Default Re: Q6600 vs. Q9400

The q6600 is still a very good quad. I guess the question would be do you intend on overclocking?
__________________
NUFFIN!
thirdshiftdj is offline  
Old 10-07-2008, 04:35 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 38
Default Re: Q6600 vs. Q9400

Yes i do.
skele89 is offline  
Old 10-07-2008, 04:44 PM   #7 (permalink)
I feel funny...
 
thirdshiftdj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Lowell,Ma
Posts: 3,808
Send a message via AIM to thirdshiftdj
Default Re: Q6600 vs. Q9400

no limit ocing or just to run 3.6ghz daily? As long as you have a good board for the 45nm I would go for that. P45's don't have problems ocing the snot of them. Where are you buying from? Microcenter has 9450's for $260 I believe. Atleast you'll get twice the cache
__________________
NUFFIN!
thirdshiftdj is offline  
Old 10-07-2008, 04:58 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 38
Default Re: Q6600 vs. Q9400

It'll be daily, nothing extreme. It's a toss up for me between the Biostar TP i45 or the P5Q - pro, but I'm pretty sure it'll be the biostar. your opinion?

I'm in Aus and i'm sourcing the majority of my parts from this company:

MSY Technology Pty. Ltd.-The Name you can trust-more than 10 years in computer industry

Their sites a piece of crap, but they have good prices.

EDIT: They dont sell 9450s though, i should oprobably try and get one from someone else eh?
skele89 is offline  
Old 10-07-2008, 05:37 PM   #9 (permalink)
I feel funny...
 
thirdshiftdj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Lowell,Ma
Posts: 3,808
Send a message via AIM to thirdshiftdj
Default Re: Q6600 vs. Q9400

wow that site does look like ****. Pm Apokalipse. He's also from Australia so he should be able to help you find what you need for a good price.
__________________
NUFFIN!
thirdshiftdj is offline  
Old 10-07-2008, 05:56 PM   #10 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: Q6600 vs. Q9400

Do you mean 9400? or 9450? The 9400 from my understanding is a cut down crappy version with less cache than the 6600.
IntelĀ® Coreā„¢2 Quad Processor Q9400 - SLB6B
IntelĀ® Coreā„¢2 Quad Processor Q6600 - SLACR
IntelĀ® Coreā„¢2 Quad Processor Q9450 - SLAWR

I was correct, the q9400 only has 6mb of cache, q6600 has 8, 9450 has 12.
__________________

__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The Tech Forums Official Crysis [Warhead] GPU Benchmark Thread gurusan Overclocking and Modding 543 03-12-2010 12:32 AM
intel Q6600 Batch List thirdshiftdj Overclocking and Modding 86 10-03-2008 01:01 AM
bad batch q6600? nukeman8 New Systems | Building and Buying 49 09-04-2008 11:42 AM
G0 Revision Q6600? Help... g3kk0 New Systems | Building and Buying 25 04-24-2008 01:12 PM
q6600 for gaming and OC Riznarf New Systems | Building and Buying 37 06-19-2007 10:12 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.