Q6600 vs Q6700 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-20-2008, 02:41 PM   #1 (permalink)
Hardware/VB.net/Anti-vir
 
StealthTools's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: TN - Intel, Samsung, and NVIDIA 4 EvR!
Posts: 515
Send a message via MSN to StealthTools
Default Q6600 vs Q6700

How much better is the Q6700 than the Q6600.. I know the Q6700 has a higher multiplier.. I also know the Q6600 can be overclocked very high.

Can the Q6700 overclocked higher with less heat?

What makes the Q6700 that much more special?
__________________

StealthTools is offline  
Old 03-20-2008, 02:47 PM   #2 (permalink)
Inquiry - The Dark Cheese
 
darksideleader's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 953
Default Re: Q6600 vs Q6700

theres a e6750 and e6550, what makes the e6750 so special?

Logically speaking, q6700 might oc better than the q6600 cuz of the higher multiplier and as well as a higher stock clock speed, intel would use better clocking chips cuz the speed is more 2.66ghz vs. the 2.4ghz of q6600.
__________________

__________________
Runnin' Stock, Cool, Quiet and Fast
Q6700
Thermaltake Big Typhoon w/ Scythe Kama PWN Fan
MSI P6N SLI Platinum
OCZ Vista Performance Platinum 4x2GB
2x Western Digital Caviar Blue 500GB RAID 0
HD Radeon 3450 *Temp* *8800GT SLI Coming*
Acer AL2216W 22" LCD Monitor + 17" Samsung Sync Master 750
Antec TruePower Trio 650 Watt
Power Up Standard
Windows 7 Home Premium (64-bit)
darksideleader is offline  
Old 03-20-2008, 02:49 PM   #3 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Q6600 vs Q6700

The Q6700 is not any better than the Q6600, other than that 10x multiplier. The Q6600 G0 is very overclockable, but with the 10x multiplier, the Q6700 will just have a slightly easier time getting to high speeds.

But in my opinion, at it's price, the extra $200 for that, isn't worth it.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 03-20-2008, 02:52 PM   #4 (permalink)
The Water Cooling Guru
 
aspire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: United States
Posts: 5,308
Default Re: Q6600 vs Q6700

The difference between them, 260mhz and 300 dollars...

The q6700 is not available in the G0 stepping that everyone loves the q6600 for so it is quite likely you won't be able to overclock it as high.
__________________
If I help you with something, you think I'm the bomb, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the star under my post.

Thanks!

The Official Tech Forums Water Cooling Informational Guide
aspire is offline  
Old 03-20-2008, 02:54 PM   #5 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Q6600 vs Q6700

Quote:
Originally Posted by aspire.comptech View Post

The q6700 is not available in the G0 stepping that everyone loves the q6600 for.
Actually it is:
ClubIT Product - Intel Core 2 Quad Q6700 G0 Stepping Kentsfield 2.66GHz 8MB L2 LGA 775 Processor Retail BX80562Q6700 SLACQ

List of Intel Core 2 microprocessors - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 03-20-2008, 02:54 PM   #6 (permalink)
Hardware/VB.net/Anti-vir
 
StealthTools's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: TN - Intel, Samsung, and NVIDIA 4 EvR!
Posts: 515
Send a message via MSN to StealthTools
Default Re: Q6600 vs Q6700

If you are using the same voltage to achieve 3.7GHz on the Q6700 as you are on the Q6600.. wouldn't the heat be exactly the same? I mean.. electricity is electricity and a CPU is a CPU..

ps:.. I took some medicine cause I am sick and I am about to pass out or something.. can hardly type a word =\
StealthTools is offline  
Old 03-20-2008, 02:55 PM   #7 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Q6600 vs Q6700

But that doesn't mean, it's guaranteed. All of the processors will overclock differently.

Though the Q6700 would have an easier time, to get to 3.7GHz.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 03-20-2008, 03:01 PM   #8 (permalink)
Hardware/VB.net/Anti-vir
 
StealthTools's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: TN - Intel, Samsung, and NVIDIA 4 EvR!
Posts: 515
Send a message via MSN to StealthTools
Default Re: Q6600 vs Q6700

I hear that the:

Intel Core 2 Duo E8400 Wolfdale 3.0GHz 6MB L2 Cache LGA 775 65W Dual-Core Processor

totally blows the Q6700 out of the water.. I hear that a guy got to 4.4GHz on air and it is stable.

Is this true?

ALSO.. the price is alot less than the Q6700 I think

This processor seems to be Dual core and the Q6700 is quad core...it seems that the 6700 is slower and the Intel Core 2 Duo E8400 Wolfdale 3.0GHz 6MB L2 Cache LGA 775 65W Dual-Core Processor is faster but is only dual core.
StealthTools is offline  
Old 03-20-2008, 03:05 PM   #9 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Q6600 vs Q6700

Quote:
Originally Posted by StealthTools View Post
I hear that the:

Intel Core 2 Duo E8400 Wolfdale 3.0GHz 6MB L2 Cache LGA 775 65W Dual-Core Processor

totally blows the Q6700 out of the water.. I hear that a guy got to 4.4GHz on air and it is stable.

Is this true?

ALSO.. the price is alot less than the Q6700 I think
It's true, that the E8400s are overclocking monsters. And 4.4GHz is possible.

I don't think it blows the quad core out of the water. Maybe now, it beats the quads in some things, like gaming, but that won't be the case in the future.

On the topic of Q6700 v. Q6600, would you really spend an extra $200, just to have an easier time getting a slightly higher overclock, with slightly lower temperatures? Doesn't seem like a good trade-off to me.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 03-20-2008, 03:12 PM   #10 (permalink)
Hardware/VB.net/Anti-vir
 
StealthTools's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: TN - Intel, Samsung, and NVIDIA 4 EvR!
Posts: 515
Send a message via MSN to StealthTools
Default Re: Q6600 vs Q6700

Thanks.. I just wanted to know how much better the Q6700 is.. also.. do you thnik that the Intel Core 2 Duo E8400 Wolfdale 3.0GHz 6MB L2 Cache LGA 775 65W Dual-Core Processor
is the one I should buy vs the Q6600? if the Q6600 can get a stable 3.7GHz and the Intel Core 2 Duo E8400 Wolfdale 3.0GHz can get a stable 4GHz would the Intel Core 2 Duo E8400 Wolfdale 3.0GHz 6MB L2 Cache LGA 775 65W Dual-Core Processor be alot better and faster OR.. if because the Intel Core 2 Duo E8400 Wolfdale 3.0GHz is a dual core processor it will be overall worse than the Q6600
__________________

StealthTools is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
*The Official Tech-Forums 3DMark06/03 Rankings* gurusan Overclocking and Modding 4250 04-02-2015 12:23 PM
Q6600: G0 Stepping vs B3 Stepping 96z28 New Systems | Building and Buying 17 02-26-2008 12:45 PM
Q6700 vs Phenom 9500 3DMark06 RicoDirenzo New Systems | Building and Buying 31 02-03-2008 02:10 AM
Overclocking a q6600 Riznarf New Systems | Building and Buying 2 06-04-2007 02:42 AM
Cheapest Q6600 Build Gumbercules New Systems | Building and Buying 34 06-01-2007 01:01 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.