Q6600 vs E8400 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-15-2008, 10:18 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 31
Default Q6600 vs E8400

I will be using this computer for mainly gaming. I plan to overclock its moderately on air, so nothing crazy. Maybe 3.6ghz on the E8400 or 3ghz on the Q6600.

Which cpu will be better for me? The price is almost the same. I understand the E8400 is better for gaming now but I like to buy a cpu that will last for 3-4 yrs. I guess by than games will be using quad cores, so would Q6600 be more futureproof?
__________________

xxfirexx is offline  
Old 12-15-2008, 10:26 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 202
Default Re: Q6600 vs E8400

I have an e8400. Has been a great proc. With a gtx 260 i was getting around 200fps constant in cod4 on the highest settings. E8400 is 45nm and q6600 is 65nm.

Crysis was in the 50's range fps with my e8400 which is very good.

No need for a q6600, but if you want to spend the extra dough then go for it.
__________________

Jtumble2 is offline  
Old 12-15-2008, 10:35 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 31
Default Re: Q6600 vs E8400

I can get them for the same price so thats not really a issue. Anyone well want to share their thoughts? Im mostly concerned for the future cause I wont upgrade for 3-4 yrs so I want the best bang for the buck now and for 3 yrs. If games start supporting quads, wont they start to be better than dual core?

Also would a hd 4850 be enough to max out L4D, COD4, CSS on 1680*1200 (max res of most 22"). I don't need srs eye candy. Just good details
xxfirexx is offline  
Old 12-15-2008, 10:46 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,078
Default Re: Q6600 vs E8400

Well if you want it to last 3-4 years I think I would go with the q6600. There are some games coming out that will use 4 cores. GTA 4 uses the 4 cores. However you could possibly get 4ghz out of the e8400 so it would be faster for (guessing) the next year in most new games.

And a 4850 will play all of those games easy. Review I read earlier said COD4 maxed options with 4x AA would do mid 50fps.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
"Now I lay my computer down to sleep, I pray the hard drive my files to keep, If I should lose power before I save, I pray the hard drive my backups to take"
The Techies' Bible - Dario 1:1
dario03 is offline  
Old 12-15-2008, 11:09 PM   #5 (permalink)
Electical Engineer
 
BongWizard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: OZ
Posts: 916
Send a message via AIM to BongWizard Send a message via Yahoo to BongWizard
Default Re: Q6600 vs E8400

are you building an entire system?? if you want it to last for a few years you'll need newer tech than a q6600 (if you're building an entire rig, i7 would be the way to go)... if you're not building an entire system, at least get a yorkie (the q9550 will usually OC just as well as the e8400 -> Newegg.com - Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 Yorkfield 2.83GHz 12MB L2 Cache LGA 775 95W Quad-Core Processor - Processors - Desktops)... the quad cores will start outperforming the dualies in 1-2years as more games adapt to nehalem, so it will prove a good investment
__________________

NZXT Lexa BlackLine w/ Red LEDs | Corsair TX-750 | Gigabyte EP45-DS3P | Intel Core 2 Quad Q9300 @ 3.6GHz
2x 2GB Kingston HyperX PC2-6400 @ 960MHz (5-4-4-13) | 3x Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 500GB HDD in RAID5
2x HIS Radeon HD 4850 @ 761/1129 in CrossFireX w/ Thermaltake DuOrbs | Creative X-Fi XtremeGamer Fatal1ty Pro



Got a problem?? Click Here before posting!

BongWizard is offline  
Old 12-15-2008, 11:53 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 31
Default Re: Q6600 vs E8400

Q9550 is twice as much as the Q6600 so I don't think its worth it. I would be better off spending it on a video card since I'll be using this for gaming. I think a Q6600 oc to 3ghz should suit my needs for gaming and still be able to play the latest games for the next 2 yrs (if I upgrade my videocard).


My current computer is 9 yrs old lol and does everything I need it to do except in gaming. Its a P4 1.6ghz with 256mb ram so it sucks. The only thing that I will do thats cpu intensive is maybe recording demos while playing games or converting avi's to .mp4
xxfirexx is offline  
Old 12-16-2008, 06:31 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 20
Default Re: Q6600 vs E8400

E8400 = Good for gaming
Q6600 = Good for multimedia applications and gaming

Your choice.
keygen is offline  
Old 12-16-2008, 06:56 AM   #8 (permalink)
Biostar Stole my heart
 
Hussein19891's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,209
Send a message via MSN to Hussein19891
Default Re: Q6600 vs E8400

If your going Intel. Go with the wolfdale instead of the older 65nm quad which is often times outperformed by the Phenom 9950 and 9850.

Trust me you won't regret it. E8400 is BLAZING fast once you overclock to about 4.00ghz~ on air.
__________________


Hussein19891 is offline  
Old 12-16-2008, 07:02 AM   #9 (permalink)
Electical Engineer
 
BongWizard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: OZ
Posts: 916
Send a message via AIM to BongWizard Send a message via Yahoo to BongWizard
Default Re: Q6600 vs E8400

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hussein19891 View Post
If your going Intel. Go with the wolfdale instead of the older 65nm quad which is often times outperformed by the Phenom 9950 and 9850.

Trust me you won't regret it. E8400 is BLAZING fast once you overclock to about 4.00ghz~ on air.
+1... the intel 45nm chips will OC much better than the 65nm ones, and have the added bonus of SSE4.1 instructions... the kentsfields are getting towards obsolete now, if you want to invest for the future, a wolfie or yorkie is the least you can do
__________________

NZXT Lexa BlackLine w/ Red LEDs | Corsair TX-750 | Gigabyte EP45-DS3P | Intel Core 2 Quad Q9300 @ 3.6GHz
2x 2GB Kingston HyperX PC2-6400 @ 960MHz (5-4-4-13) | 3x Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 500GB HDD in RAID5
2x HIS Radeon HD 4850 @ 761/1129 in CrossFireX w/ Thermaltake DuOrbs | Creative X-Fi XtremeGamer Fatal1ty Pro



Got a problem?? Click Here before posting!

BongWizard is offline  
Old 12-16-2008, 07:17 AM   #10 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baron5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,984
Default Re: Q6600 vs E8400

yeah your gonna wanna stick to a wolfdale at least, the q6600 has been a very good proc but the 45nm have another 10% on the kentsfields so for future preference in mind stick with the q9550. The other thing to consider is that the new q6600's have bad VID's and usually dont achieve the wanted 3.6ghz, instead about 3.2-3.4, while a q9550 wil get you about 3.8ghz.

The other idea is for you to build an entire system with an i7 which is by far your best bet, and will cost you around 1200-1300, that is if you are building a system.
__________________

__________________
<<<Please give me Rep if I have helped you<<<

I7 930 @ 4GHz : Noctua D-14
Gigabyte X58A-UD7 : Asus GTX 480
G.Skill Trident 1600MHz 6-8-7-18 : Samsung F3 1TB
OCZ Vertex 2 50GB : Silverstone RV02 Case
Silverstone Strider Plus 1Kw : Sony DRU-870s Optical
Samsung P2350 Monito
r

baron5 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
E6600 vs E8400 vs Q6600 and OC? Cunjo New Systems | Building and Buying 31 10-24-2008 03:46 AM
intel Q6600 Batch List thirdshiftdj Overclocking and Modding 86 10-03-2008 01:01 AM
E8400 vs Q6600 Joeyboy New Systems | Building and Buying 16 09-03-2008 02:37 PM
e8400 vs. q6600 Trepkos New Systems | Building and Buying 23 03-13-2008 05:58 PM
E8400 vs Q6600? gl600 New Systems | Building and Buying 12 01-29-2008 04:29 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.