Q6600 vs. E6850 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-24-2007, 04:59 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Riznarf's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 471
Send a message via AIM to Riznarf
Default Q6600 vs. E6850

Ok, I'm sure you all know about the new c2d chips coming out July 22nd, so I'll get to the point:

Here's my mobo: Newegg.com - GIGABYTE GA-P35-DS3R LGA 775 Intel P35 ATX Intel Motherboard - Retail

I'll be doing moderate to heavy overclocking and use it for gaming. I'm also interested in future compatability. I was thinking maybe I should go for the e6850 now, and later upgrade to the 45nm quadcore (i forget what its called). But I'm interested to hear your thoughts.
__________________

__________________
-Riznarf

ASRock H67M
i7-2500k @ 3.30
eVGA gtx 570 @ 880/1000
2x 4gb G.Skill Ripjaws DDR3-1333
Corsair 600w PSU
3DMark 11: 6595
Riznarf is offline  
Old 06-24-2007, 05:08 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Q6600 vs. E6850

e6850 will be better now because it has the 1333fsb, but the q6600 is more future intensive........ i'd say ur q6600 is better buy
__________________

__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 06-24-2007, 05:09 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 130
Default Re: Q6600 vs. E6850

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16819115001. I wasn't crazy about it, but the free Intel t-shirt makes this a no-brainer.
Goodonebales is offline  
Old 06-24-2007, 05:11 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Q6600 vs. E6850

Quote:
Originally Posted by Goodonebales View Post
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16819115001. I wasn't crazy about it, but the free Intel t-shirt makes this a no-brainer.
actually hes talking a bout the e6850... not the x6800
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 06-24-2007, 05:37 PM   #5 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default Re: Q6600 vs. E6850

I would go with the Q6600 myself since quad-core is being used more and more everyday. Some applications already max out the quad such as video editing and encoding. The E6850 will be better for gaming for a little while though.
__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 06-24-2007, 07:42 PM   #6 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Q6600 vs. E6850

I agree with Sora on the Q6600. Soon, games will be supporting more cores. The e6850 would be good for now. But since they are the same price, why not get the Q6600 and future proof yourself, for the later games supporting more cores.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 06-24-2007, 08:27 PM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Q6600 vs. E6850

Quote:
Originally Posted by b1gapl View Post
I agree with Sora on the Q6600. Soon, games will be supporting more cores. The e6850 would be good for now. But since they are the same price, why not get the Q6600 and future proof yourself, for the later games supporting more cores.
thats pretty much what i said
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 06-24-2007, 08:37 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1,009
Default Re: Q6600 vs. E6850

looks like im upgrading to a quad core once the price drops...what should i do with this dual core though?

u guys think i have to upgrade my PSU for the quad core? 2x power consumption of the regular dual core...i am thinking of more upgrades down the road whether it be more ram, or a better GPU, but if this PSU is holding me back i might as well get it done now
AP4LIFETN is offline  
Old 06-25-2007, 01:01 AM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1,009
Default Re: Q6600 vs. E6850

bump for answers...and is 2x2GB better then 4x1GB's? cuz i dont think g.skill hz's come in 2GB
AP4LIFETN is offline  
Old 06-25-2007, 01:13 AM   #10 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Q6600 vs. E6850

Quote:
Originally Posted by AP4LIFETN View Post
looks like im upgrading to a quad core once the price drops...what should i do with this dual core though?

u guys think i have to upgrade my PSU for the quad core? 2x power consumption of the regular dual core...i am thinking of more upgrades down the road whether it be more ram, or a better GPU, but if this PSU is holding me back i might as well get it done now
No...your PSU is fine. That should be able to power a quad core and a GTX even. It has plenty of amps.

Quote:
Originally Posted by AP4LIFETN
bump for answers...and is 2x2GB better then 4x1GB's? cuz i dont think g.skill hz's come in 2GB
Yea...HZs don't come in 2GB module flavors. I believe it's only the G. Skill MQs and PQs.

I think 2 x 2GB would be better than 4 x 1GB, if you plan on future upgrading for more ram, and doing CAD....and all that editing and design stuff.
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Difference between Q6600 and QX6700 Sydzy New Systems | Building and Buying 19 09-10-2007 03:56 PM
q6600 for gaming and OC Riznarf New Systems | Building and Buying 37 06-19-2007 10:12 PM
Upgrade - Q6600, 4GB RAM - Thoughts? meat_helmet New Systems | Building and Buying 12 06-12-2007 12:06 PM
Overclocking a q6600 Riznarf New Systems | Building and Buying 2 06-04-2007 02:42 AM
Cheapest Q6600 Build Gumbercules New Systems | Building and Buying 34 06-01-2007 01:01 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.