Q6600 vs E6600 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-10-2007, 12:13 AM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,046
Default Q6600 vs E6600

On all benchmark test, for the CPU ones on Everest, the Q6600 nearly doubles the score compared to the E6600 both stocks.

Also..... Heres a comparison between a Q6600 vs E6600 on Everest Memory & Cache Benchmarks....

E6600 OC'ed to 3.2GHz with 2GB RAM.
Settings: 400MHz x 8 VCore: 1.3625; 2GB G.Skill-HZ RAM @ 1000MHz 5-5-5-15 1.9Volts




Q6600 OC'ed to 3.0GHz with 2GB RAM
Settings: 333MHz x 9 VCore: 1.3Volts; 2GB G.Skill-HZ RAM @ 1000MHz 5-5-5-15 1.9Volts



These are mainly Memory Benchmark on Everest so the higher the FSB = The better the Score despite the CPU's actual speed.


Edit: So why is Q6600 better than E6600? Darn, wonder if the choice I made for switching was good or not
__________________

__________________
PINOY3000
Aluminum Unibody MacBook
Q6600 @ 3.0 GHz 333MHz x 9 Multiplier VCore: 1.3V
NVidia GeForce 8800GTS 640MB; G.Skill 6GB-HZ 1000MHz 5-5-5-15 1.9V
WD Raptor-X 150GB 10,000RPM; Seagate Barracuda 320GB 7,200RPM
ASUS P5B Deluxe Wifi Edition; Thermaltake Armor Full Tower Case
Logitech G15 Keyboard & G5 Mouse; Bose Companion 5 Speakers
Antec Quattro 850-Watt PSU; Tuniq Tower 120 HSF, Blu-Ray Drive
Gateway 22" FPD2275W LCD Display; MS Windows Vista Premium 64-Bit
Samsung 40" 1080p Full HD LCD TV (Samsung LN40A550)
pinoy3000 is offline  
Old 09-10-2007, 12:14 AM   #2 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Q6600 vs E6600

what's the point of this thread?
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 09-10-2007, 12:17 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,046
Default Re: Q6600 vs E6600

Quote:
Originally Posted by peterhuang913 View Post
what's the point of this thread?
Dont know, but I dont know why I went from E6600 to Q6600. I thought it woulda given me a better result. Hm...
__________________
PINOY3000
Aluminum Unibody MacBook
Q6600 @ 3.0 GHz 333MHz x 9 Multiplier VCore: 1.3V
NVidia GeForce 8800GTS 640MB; G.Skill 6GB-HZ 1000MHz 5-5-5-15 1.9V
WD Raptor-X 150GB 10,000RPM; Seagate Barracuda 320GB 7,200RPM
ASUS P5B Deluxe Wifi Edition; Thermaltake Armor Full Tower Case
Logitech G15 Keyboard & G5 Mouse; Bose Companion 5 Speakers
Antec Quattro 850-Watt PSU; Tuniq Tower 120 HSF, Blu-Ray Drive
Gateway 22" FPD2275W LCD Display; MS Windows Vista Premium 64-Bit
Samsung 40" 1080p Full HD LCD TV (Samsung LN40A550)
pinoy3000 is offline  
Old 09-10-2007, 12:45 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
UA_Iron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 857
Default Re: Q6600 vs E6600

Quote:
Originally Posted by pinoy3000 View Post
Dont know, but I dont know why I went from E6600 to Q6600. I thought it woulda given me a better result. Hm...
so you could sell me the Q6600 for cheap??

I think thats the answer
UA_Iron is offline  
Old 09-10-2007, 12:49 AM   #5 (permalink)
Uber Sanoob Techie
 
san21893's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Westchester County, New York
Posts: 634
Send a message via AIM to san21893
Default Re: Q6600 vs E6600

E6750 ftw, thus proving you don't need a quad these days. Clock speeds will help you in apps that don't utilize 4 cores a.k.a. almost everything.
__________________
san21893 is offline  
Old 09-10-2007, 12:50 AM   #6 (permalink)
gone
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2,051
Send a message via AIM to Gabb
Default Re: Q6600 vs E6600

yeah the q6600 is worthless you shouldn't have switched...so to make it up just sell me your q6600 for 5 bucks...

obviously Everest doesnt take advantage of the quad core performance
__________________
i7 3770k @ stock 3.5, Gigabyte GA-Z77X UD3H
Samsung 830 SSD 256gb and WD Black HD 1Tb, CoolerMaster HAF-X Case
Corsair HX 750 watt PSU, EVGA GTX 670 with 1.25 gig video memory @ stock settings, 16 gigs of Corsair Vengeance DDR3 Ram
X-Fi Xtreme Gamer card, Logitech G5 series 2
Corsair K90 keyboard, Dell 24" U2412M monitor
Gabb is offline  
Old 09-10-2007, 01:07 AM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
kobe24's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,508
Send a message via MSN to kobe24
Default Re: Q6600 vs E6600

u's r wrong quads r way better thing bout all the new games coming out soon bioshock, cod4 and crysis all take advantage of 4 cores cpu's, a q6600 is way better than a e6600 and also the e6750. i would even prefer it over the e6850 anyday.
__________________
3D MARK 06 ***14,063*** on vista, use to get it
p4 2.8ghz
Asus p4SD-LA
6800gs ultra
1.5gb ddr400 oem
120gb hdd

The Techies' Bible
kobe24 is offline  
Old 09-10-2007, 01:14 AM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,046
Default Re: Q6600 vs E6600

Quote:
Originally Posted by kobe24 View Post
u's r wrong quads r way better thing bout all the new games coming out soon bioshock, cod4 and crysis all take advantage of 4 cores cpu's, a q6600 is way better than a e6600 and also the e6750. i would even prefer it over the e6850 anyday.
Hey Kobe, do you know what the regular temps should be for a Q6600 at stock? Mine at stock was running like 50C. Could it be that because I have B3 Stepping and I just got it and its not used to the heatsink I have? LOLz, I know I put that stupid heatsink the right way, its even blowing the right way too haha. But I know i tried to avoid those barrel thingies. Grrr I may have to recheck it ahhh this saux. I cut myself trying to get that heatsink out, and putting it back on.
__________________
PINOY3000
Aluminum Unibody MacBook
Q6600 @ 3.0 GHz 333MHz x 9 Multiplier VCore: 1.3V
NVidia GeForce 8800GTS 640MB; G.Skill 6GB-HZ 1000MHz 5-5-5-15 1.9V
WD Raptor-X 150GB 10,000RPM; Seagate Barracuda 320GB 7,200RPM
ASUS P5B Deluxe Wifi Edition; Thermaltake Armor Full Tower Case
Logitech G15 Keyboard & G5 Mouse; Bose Companion 5 Speakers
Antec Quattro 850-Watt PSU; Tuniq Tower 120 HSF, Blu-Ray Drive
Gateway 22" FPD2275W LCD Display; MS Windows Vista Premium 64-Bit
Samsung 40" 1080p Full HD LCD TV (Samsung LN40A550)
pinoy3000 is offline  
Old 09-10-2007, 02:57 AM   #9 (permalink)
gone
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2,051
Send a message via AIM to Gabb
Default Re: Q6600 vs E6600

Quote:
Originally Posted by pinoy3000 View Post
Hey Kobe, do you know what the regular temps should be for a Q6600 at stock? Mine at stock was running like 50C. Could it be that because I have B3 Stepping and I just got it and its not used to the heatsink I have? LOLz, I know I put that stupid heatsink the right way, its even blowing the right way too haha. But I know i tried to avoid those barrel thingies. Grrr I may have to recheck it ahhh this saux. I cut myself trying to get that heatsink out, and putting it back on.
regular temps 30-40 celcius, Im int he upper range, that one pdawg guy is in the 30ish range. Your temps are way too high for stock, somethings wrong.
__________________
i7 3770k @ stock 3.5, Gigabyte GA-Z77X UD3H
Samsung 830 SSD 256gb and WD Black HD 1Tb, CoolerMaster HAF-X Case
Corsair HX 750 watt PSU, EVGA GTX 670 with 1.25 gig video memory @ stock settings, 16 gigs of Corsair Vengeance DDR3 Ram
X-Fi Xtreme Gamer card, Logitech G5 series 2
Corsair K90 keyboard, Dell 24" U2412M monitor
Gabb is offline  
Old 09-10-2007, 03:08 AM   #10 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: Q6600 vs E6600

Quote:
Originally Posted by san21893 View Post
E6750 ftw, thus proving you don't need a quad these days. Clock speeds will help you in apps that don't utilize 4 cores a.k.a. almost everything.
Nearly every game being released these days is multithreaded, and the upcoming ones will be optimized for more than 2 cores.
__________________

__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Difference between Q6600 and QX6700 Sydzy New Systems | Building and Buying 19 09-10-2007 03:56 PM
q6600 for gaming and OC Riznarf New Systems | Building and Buying 37 06-19-2007 10:12 PM
Overclocking a q6600 Riznarf New Systems | Building and Buying 2 06-04-2007 02:42 AM
E6600 or Q6600 for my needs E6600 New Systems | Building and Buying 11 05-04-2007 02:57 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.