q6600 v e8500 - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-25-2008, 06:47 PM   #21 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: q6600 v e8500

I usually ask the seller if they can give me the batch code/fpo number and specify where to look in case they are tards

Compare what they tell you to the Q6600 batch list and you will find yourself shopping very smart
__________________

__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 08-25-2008, 06:49 PM   #22 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Drizzt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Somewhere inbetween FL and NY
Posts: 3,187
Send a message via AIM to Drizzt
Default Re: q6600 v e8500

Quote:
Originally Posted by Joeyboy View Post
darn i am just about to get my first rig and the Q6600 was my processor, i wanted a quad but my budget is maxed and so i cant get a Q6700, are they not working or something? I'm not a big OCer if it's some overclocking issue, i wanted to try and get 3ghz but if i cant no worries. It's just Supreme Commander supports Quads and so i was gonna get one...
In that case get a quad. And even the "bad" q6600's now should get you to 3ghz at least. It's just not like the older ones that go to 3.6ghz with hardly any voltage.
Quote:
Originally Posted by gurusan View Post
dude, dude, dude!

I have bought 1 cpu in my life brand new...and regret it terribly because it was the worst clocking of them all.

Buying used is the way to go, modern CPUs are nearly indestructible! I ALWAYS buy used CPUs.

Things I usually would rather buy new are stuff like motherboards and graphics cards as they are far more likely to go kaput during their lives with me.
I seem to get unlucky buying stuff new and lucky buying stuff used.... My mobo is pretty good and I got it for a good price back then. Even now it would be a decent price.
__________________

__________________
CPU:Q6600 G0 @ 3.7Ghz (410x9 w/1.475v)
Motherboard:Asus P5E X38
Memory:2x2GB OCZ Reapers DDR2 1066
Graphics Card:GTX460 768MB @ 880/1760/2000
Hard Drive:2x WD Black 1TB
Power Supply:Xion 800W
Case:3DAurora
CPU cooling: H50
GPU cooling: Best Stock Cooling I Have Ever Had
Monitor:24" LG
Drizzt is offline  
Old 08-26-2008, 01:00 AM   #23 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 6
Default Re: q6600 v e8500

Thanks for all the help guys!
Im leaning towards a E8400 and just OC the guts out of it lol

Hey Drizzt5 your system is pretty similar to what im going to have, hows that going? Good for gaming? high rezs and good graphics with good FPS on the 4850?
vnsv6 is offline  
Old 08-26-2008, 04:49 PM   #24 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Riznarf's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 471
Send a message via AIM to Riznarf
Default Re: q6600 v e8500

Quote:
Originally Posted by gurusan View Post
I'd go with the E8500 and overclock the pants off it.
Agreed, you could easily top 4.2ghz with an 8500, q6600 you'd be looking more at an OC of around 3.4ghz (avg) on air
__________________
-Riznarf

ASRock H67M
i7-2500k @ 3.30
eVGA gtx 570 @ 880/1000
2x 4gb G.Skill Ripjaws DDR3-1333
Corsair 600w PSU
3DMark 11: 6595
Riznarf is offline  
Old 08-26-2008, 06:44 PM   #25 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: q6600 v e8500

Microcenter has the E8400 on sale for 149, but its instore pickup only. I might try my hands at one this weekend. And naga, you wouldnt trust buying a q6600 from someone like me who has guaranteed 3.6ghz clocks
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 08-26-2008, 07:13 PM   #26 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: q6600 v e8500

yeah i'd probably trust you or one of the other experienced overclockers of the forum. but some yahoo on ebay..? meh...
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 08-26-2008, 08:31 PM   #27 (permalink)
Biostar Stole my heart
 
Hussein19891's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,209
Send a message via MSN to Hussein19891
Default Re: q6600 v e8500

Quote:
Originally Posted by nagasama View Post
yeah i'd probably trust you or one of the other experienced overclockers of the forum. but some yahoo on ebay..? meh...
Some guy from Ebay: "I just hit 4 ghz with that there quad on Stock heat sink YEEEHAWWW!!"
__________________


Hussein19891 is offline  
Old 08-26-2008, 10:50 PM   #28 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Drizzt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Somewhere inbetween FL and NY
Posts: 3,187
Send a message via AIM to Drizzt
Default Re: q6600 v e8500

Quote:
Originally Posted by vnsv6 View Post
Thanks for all the help guys!
Im leaning towards a E8400 and just OC the guts out of it lol

Hey Drizzt5 your system is pretty similar to what im going to have, hows that going? Good for gaming? high rezs and good graphics with good FPS on the 4850?
Great. I was a little hesitant at first about buying it instead of the 4870. But every game I've played so far has been maxed out with insanely good frame rates.

If you do get the 4850 though, you may want to get an aftermarket cooler. I suggest the accelero s1 rev 2 + just buy the turbo modules for fun. Or if you want to save a few bucks strap on a trusty old 120mm fan like I did.

The reason I suggest an aftermarket cooler is because the 4850 tends to get a bit hot. And although you can raise the 4850 fan speed to whatever speed you want.... I raised it to 48% at first and it was doing pretty well BEFORE OC..... like 60C load I guess, I don't remember. The card can take the heat, but an aftermarket cooler is a good investment.

Also, eventually you may want to do a pencil mod But you don't need to be told about that now. Just build your system first and then we will convince you that it sucks and needs dangerous modifications that void the warranty
__________________
CPU:Q6600 G0 @ 3.7Ghz (410x9 w/1.475v)
Motherboard:Asus P5E X38
Memory:2x2GB OCZ Reapers DDR2 1066
Graphics Card:GTX460 768MB @ 880/1760/2000
Hard Drive:2x WD Black 1TB
Power Supply:Xion 800W
Case:3DAurora
CPU cooling: H50
GPU cooling: Best Stock Cooling I Have Ever Had
Monitor:24" LG
Drizzt is offline  
Old 08-26-2008, 11:04 PM   #29 (permalink)
True Techie
 
ApolloIV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 192
Send a message via AIM to ApolloIV
Unhappy Re: q6600 v e8500

Quote:
Originally Posted by nagasama View Post
the new steppings will supposedly. and i dont think there are going to be any more "good" batches of 6600s...i could be wrong. i would stay away from the current ones like the plauge.
if you have to get a quad, get a q9550.
Really!!?? I just ordered my rig and its on its way with a q6600... i'll feel like an idiot now if it wasn't worth the money.
__________________
CPU: Q6600 2.8ghz for the time being
MOBO: GIGABYTE GA-EP35-DS3L
RAM: G.SKILL 4GB
GPU: VisionTek Radeon HD 4850 512MB
HDD: Barracuda 250GB
PSU: Rosewill Stallion Series RD600N
ApolloIV is offline  
Old 08-26-2008, 11:16 PM   #30 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: q6600 v e8500

you still have a chance of getting a good clocker. just see how it does, if you dont like it, sell it.
__________________

__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
intel Q6600 Batch List thirdshiftdj Overclocking and Modding 86 10-03-2008 01:01 AM
E8500 vs Q6600 BonKerz New Systems | Building and Buying 33 07-25-2008 04:20 AM
G0 Revision Q6600? Help... g3kk0 New Systems | Building and Buying 25 04-24-2008 01:12 PM
Q6600: G0 Stepping vs B3 Stepping 96z28 New Systems | Building and Buying 17 02-26-2008 12:45 PM
q6600 for gaming and OC Riznarf New Systems | Building and Buying 37 06-19-2007 10:12 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.