q6600 for gaming and OC - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-18-2007, 03:50 PM   #11 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: New Stanton, Pennsylvania
Posts: 1,017
Send a message via AIM to psp_crazy1
Default Re: q6600 for gaming and OC

dat's cool. Penryn are gona be out this summer (augustish?) right? I plan on getting a q6600, maybe, or sticking with this, then at xmas getting a ds3, and a penryn. I don't know, I might stick with ddr2, because gskill could easily get the job done. penryn is 1333 mhz right?
__________________

__________________
AMD 4850 - e4300 / Tuniq
Gigabyte DS3 - Gskill NQ 2gb
WD 200gb - Hitachi 60gb
Ultra ATX wizard case - Xcilio 500 watt


Toshiba Satellite A305
Sony Vaio VGN-BX560B
Sony Vaio (P3, 256mb RAM)
psp_crazy1 is offline  
Old 06-18-2007, 04:14 PM   #12 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: q6600 for gaming and OC

Quote:
Originally Posted by psp_crazy1 View Post
dat's cool. Penryn are gona be out this summer (augustish?) right? I plan on getting a q6600, maybe, or sticking with this, then at xmas getting a ds3, and a penryn. I don't know, I might stick with ddr2, because gskill could easily get the job done. penryn is 1333 mhz right?
I don't think the Penryn is coming out that soon. I think the Fall season is more like it....and yes, the Penryn is on the 1333MHz FSB bus.
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 06-18-2007, 05:37 PM   #13 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
mnelson07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Denton, TX
Posts: 349
Default Re: q6600 for gaming and OC

Quote:
Originally Posted by b1gapl View Post
Well the e6600 is better for overclocking, and I think on par with the q6600 on gaming. Games are just now, hitting the multi-cores. I'm not sure on this decision. But I think I would go for the Q6600, because that is hard to pass up, at that price. The e6600 though, is still great, if you don't go for the q6600.
This is true, but I would recommend the Q6600 because think of it this way:
Right now it about matches the E6600 in gaming performance. Now imagine about a year from now when the games become more multi-core integrated and now the quad cores start out preforming the dual cores. You'll be glad you bought the quad core later on in my opinion. Plus there isn't a huge disadvantage now, it equals the E6600. So you're spending a little more money, but think of it like a small investment of the fact that the quad core utilizing games are around the corner and the extra $50-100 bucks you spend on the Q6600 now over the E6600 pays off.
mnelson07 is offline  
Old 06-18-2007, 05:52 PM   #14 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: q6600 for gaming and OC

It appears the newer models of the E6600 don't OC nearly as well as the first releases. That being said, I would grab a quad core after the price cut. And overclock it. Even though they don't OC as well as the Dual cores.
If you for whatever decide not to get a Quad core, then grab an E6420..

And Stick SMP On it!!!!!!!!!!!
Ste is offline  
Old 06-18-2007, 07:03 PM   #15 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: q6600 for gaming and OC

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ste View Post
It appears the newer models of the E6600 don't OC nearly as well as the first releases. That being said, I would grab a quad core after the price cut. And overclock it. Even though they don't OC as well as the Dual cores.
If you for whatever decide not to get a Quad core, then grab an E6420..

And Stick SMP On it!!!!!!!!!!!
lol....SMP is the first thing I'm doing, after I overclock that q6600.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 06-18-2007, 07:07 PM   #16 (permalink)
MetalHead Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,912
Default Re: q6600 for gaming and OC

think i'm gonna wait for when the e6750 comes out
for $180 thats a dam good deal
Invisible is offline  
Old 06-18-2007, 07:13 PM   #17 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: q6600 for gaming and OC

Quote:
Originally Posted by Invisible View Post
think i'm gonna wait for when the e6750 comes out
for $180 thats a dam good deal
Why not get the e6550 for $163 and overclock easily, past the e6850?
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 06-18-2007, 10:00 PM   #18 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Riznarf's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 471
Send a message via AIM to Riznarf
Default Re: q6600 for gaming and OC

ok, so the p35 mobos will support both the quad core and the 45nm chips coming out....septemberish? is that correct? If so, can someone suggest a good p35 mobo on par with the msi p6n sli plat?
__________________
-Riznarf

ASRock H67M
i7-2500k @ 3.30
eVGA gtx 570 @ 880/1000
2x 4gb G.Skill Ripjaws DDR3-1333
Corsair 600w PSU
3DMark 11: 6595
Riznarf is offline  
Old 06-18-2007, 10:10 PM   #19 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: q6600 for gaming and OC

There is a model called the Gigabyte P35-DS3P, which has two PCIE slots:
Newegg.com - GIGABYTE GA-P35-DS3P LGA 775 Intel P35 ATX Intel Motherboard - Retail

But I'm not sure how fast the SLI would run, because it says one is x16 and the other is x4. I'm guessing SLI would run x4 together? I'm just not sure.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 06-18-2007, 10:12 PM   #20 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Riznarf's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 471
Send a message via AIM to Riznarf
Default Re: q6600 for gaming and OC

i PROBABLY wont be doing SLI, im more interested in features and overclocking....i dunno if thatll change your suggestion, but I don't wanna spend more than $170 on a mobo....thanks
__________________

__________________
-Riznarf

ASRock H67M
i7-2500k @ 3.30
eVGA gtx 570 @ 880/1000
2x 4gb G.Skill Ripjaws DDR3-1333
Corsair 600w PSU
3DMark 11: 6595
Riznarf is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Difference between Q6600 and QX6700 Sydzy New Systems | Building and Buying 19 09-10-2007 03:56 PM
Upgrade - Q6600, 4GB RAM - Thoughts? meat_helmet New Systems | Building and Buying 12 06-12-2007 12:06 PM
Overclocking a q6600 Riznarf New Systems | Building and Buying 2 06-04-2007 02:42 AM
Cheapest Q6600 Build Gumbercules New Systems | Building and Buying 34 06-01-2007 01:01 AM
Intel will lower the Q6600 Power Consumption on 16th of July maroon1 New Systems | Building and Buying 0 05-01-2007 08:38 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.