Are the Q6600 Finally discontinued? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-25-2008, 06:49 PM   #1 (permalink)
Over and Above Person
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 714
Send a message via MSN to Ric0h
Default Are the Q6600 Finally discontinued?

Today I went to frys, and bought a q6600 since they were going for 179.99 (194.00 with tax)

And I noticed I got an open box, so I went back and told them, and so the one lady goes back and see if there is a "not" opened box so she could exchange it.

She told me that all of them were open, and that they had no new ones, So does that mean intel is not selling them anymore or something?

ANTEC 900: Gigabyte Ga-Ep35-DS3P : THERMALTAKE (700 watts) :
4 GB G.SKILL 1000 mhz Intel Quad Core (Q6600)
WD 640 and 22x DVD burner
Ric0h is offline  
Old 06-25-2008, 06:51 PM   #2 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default Re: Are the Q6600 Finally discontinued?

umm considering that the q6600 is such a hot seller i doubt they will discontinue them for the 45nm quads or something because those don't overclock as well.

E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 06-25-2008, 07:04 PM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
veg1992's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Are the Q6600 Finally discontinued?

They won't be discontinued after this Quarter (July 22nd) but the next one it will, because they'll have Yorkfield like the Q9550 and higher which have good multipliers, and more people will consider them because they'll clock higher than a Q6600 and are faster clock per clock

I'm thinking atleast not until September..
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.

.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
*The Official Tech-Forums 3DMark06/03 Rankings* gurusan Overclocking and Modding 4250 04-02-2015 11:23 AM
G0 Revision Q6600? Help... g3kk0 New Systems | Building and Buying 25 04-24-2008 12:12 PM
Running XFX nForce 780i W/ Intel Q6600 2.4 GHz-> PROBLEMS. ckiller22 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 04-07-2008 04:08 AM
Sweet new job (finally!) Jorsoft Off Topic Discussion 10 01-05-2008 07:23 PM
Overclocking a q6600 Riznarf New Systems | Building and Buying 2 06-04-2007 01:42 AM

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:47 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.