Q6600 or E6850 - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-16-2007, 01:26 PM   #11 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: Q6600 or E6850

your next priority should be memory. It's quite cheap at the moment and well worth it to get some decent memory.
__________________

__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 10-16-2007, 01:29 PM   #12 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 408
Default Re: Q6600 or E6850

i have the Q6600 and i'm extremely happy with the performance
__________________

__________________
antec nine hundred
abit IP35 pro
Q6600 @ 3.3ghz
Evga 8800GTX
4GB Corsair XMS 800
150gb WD 10k
300gb seagate 7.2k
22" Samsung 5ms lcd
21" Sceptre lcd
cloud is offline  
Old 10-16-2007, 01:57 PM   #13 (permalink)
-Deactivated-
 
Oreo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: England
Posts: 5,723
Send a message via MSN to Oreo
Default Re: Q6600 or E6850

Ahh well... if only you had posted before i just and went an ordered my new pc

Still i dont think i shall be experience ANY kind of slowdowns witha E6850.
__________________
-Deactivated-
Oreo is offline  
Old 10-16-2007, 02:00 PM   #14 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Q6600 or E6850

Of course not. That E6850 is pretty good for stock. It's just that the Q6600 is better for your money. But what's done is done.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 10-16-2007, 02:06 PM   #15 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Preacher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Ra'anana, Israel
Posts: 2,395
Default Re: Q6600 or E6850

Yeah currently Intel are making better sales with people which is working well :P
__________________
www.heavyportrayals.com - Lifting one stone at a time.
Preacher is offline  
Old 10-16-2007, 02:06 PM   #16 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: Q6600 or E6850

also 1 good thing about the e6850 is that since it has a high multiplier you should still be able to OC it even with crappy ram.

Is your memory 333mhz or 400mhz?
__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 10-16-2007, 02:09 PM   #17 (permalink)
krazy Techie
 
krazyq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 8,059
Default Re: Q6600 or E6850

oo...you should always wait...
sure the e6850 will get to a higher speed, but the q6600 is a better multi tasker...
and it will benefit in the future of gaming.
__________________
Intel Core i5-4670K
ASRock Z97 Anniversary
8 GB G.SKILL Ripjaws
MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X
Sandisk Ultra II 960GB + Samsung 850 EVO 500GB + 2TB + 1TB WD Black
Samsung Note 8
2TB White PS4 Pro, PS3, Switch & New 3DS XL
65" LG OLED C7P
BenQ 27" XL2720Z
krazyq is offline  
Old 10-16-2007, 02:32 PM   #18 (permalink)
-Deactivated-
 
Oreo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: England
Posts: 5,723
Send a message via MSN to Oreo
Default Re: Q6600 or E6850

Theres always christmas in a few monthzs if it all goes **** side up. My ram is one Kingston and one Elixir (generic) 1Gb stick of PC5300 667Mhz ram (2GB). I cudnt overclock my E6300 up by anymore than 150Mhz without it being frighteningly unstable (pc wouldnt boot )... i could just be doing it wrong, but i gave the ram more volts and tried it at 667, and 800mhz as an option, i put the CPU voltage up, im using Arctic Freezer Pro 7... and still it was terrible, is there the slightest chance in the world either i had a bodge cpu or my 400W psu was inadequate ?
__________________
-Deactivated-
Oreo is offline  
Old 10-16-2007, 02:33 PM   #19 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Yorkshire, UK
Posts: 1,693
Send a message via MSN to Vaanish
Default Re: Q6600 or E6850

Quote:
Originally Posted by K M A N View Post
is there the slightest chance in the world either i had a bodge cpu or my 400W psu was inadequate ?
There better not be... lol
Vaanish is offline  
Old 10-16-2007, 02:35 PM   #20 (permalink)
-Deactivated-
 
Oreo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: England
Posts: 5,723
Send a message via MSN to Oreo
Default Re: Q6600 or E6850

If there is my friend, i will give you back £20, because £20 is worth half the amount i could of sold the GPU on its own my good friend, you still got deal of the century
__________________

__________________
-Deactivated-
Oreo is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Q6600: G0 Stepping vs B3 Stepping 96z28 New Systems | Building and Buying 17 02-26-2008 12:45 PM
E6850 or Q6600 I order everything tommorow please help Mechtech3000 New Systems | Building and Buying 24 08-11-2007 11:27 AM
Q6600 or E6850 KingCobra New Systems | Building and Buying 23 07-28-2007 08:08 PM
q6600 e6850 benchmarks san21893 New Systems | Building and Buying 53 07-23-2007 09:43 AM
Q6600 vs. E6850 Riznarf New Systems | Building and Buying 15 06-25-2007 10:52 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.