Q6600 or E6850 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-16-2007, 12:15 PM   #1 (permalink)
-Deactivated-
 
Oreo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: England
Posts: 5,723
Send a message via MSN to Oreo
Default Q6600 or E6850

If i dont ovreclock (dont tell me to overclock please... )

Should i get the Q6600 or E6850, the E6850 on Non Quad Core supporting programs eats them up better than mosty Intel Extreme Quad CPU's, but you can clearly see that when Quad Core can be used its either right with it, or leeps above it.

I play alot of games and don't use many programs...just games. I will be getting Crysis (quad core) CoD4 (dual) UT3 (dual..).

You can see my dilema no doubt, Q6600 = future proof and very fast when cores can be used but not much DOES use all 4 cores, and E6850 = Tears dual core games to shreds.

Also, does XP recognise Quad Cores to be used in games and desktop ?

I can't OC cus my ram sucks an incredible amount.
__________________

__________________
-Deactivated-
Oreo is offline  
Old 10-16-2007, 12:19 PM   #2 (permalink)
Content Team
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 215
Send a message via AIM to ReverseFluxx Send a message via MSN to ReverseFluxx
Default Re: Q6600 or E6850

Well, one thing to keep in mind is that when quad core is finally utilized to its potential, the Q6600 will probably be pretty old and you won't see much performance difference between it and the E6850. For right now, if you're a gamer, I'd suggest the E6850, as you said, it is awesome for current gaming.
__________________

__________________
http://miniprofile.xfire.com/bg/sf/type/2/qlutch.png
Core 2 Duo E6850, Foxconn P35A-S, 8GB DDR2-800, 160+160=320GB SATAII RAID 0, BFG 9800GTX, Windows 7 Pro, HP 24" LCD, AG Neovo 19" LCD
ReverseFluxx is offline  
Old 10-16-2007, 12:20 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Yorkshire, UK
Posts: 1,693
Send a message via MSN to Vaanish
Default Re: Q6600 or E6850

Quote:
Originally Posted by K M A N View Post
Also, does XP recognise Quad Cores to be used in games and desktop ?
XP Pro does, not sure about Home.

I would go with 6750, even if not ocing.
Vaanish is offline  
Old 10-16-2007, 12:23 PM   #4 (permalink)
-Deactivated-
 
Oreo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: England
Posts: 5,723
Send a message via MSN to Oreo
Default Re: Q6600 or E6850

My mobo does also support 1333Fsb, would general things like installing games, accesing data, unzipping files etc etc all be quicker on the Quad ?
__________________
-Deactivated-
Oreo is offline  
Old 10-16-2007, 12:24 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: Q6600 or E6850

Buy better memory and the quad core
__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 10-16-2007, 12:25 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
gurusan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 6,562
Send a message via MSN to gurusan
Default Re: Q6600 or E6850

Quote:
Originally Posted by K M A N View Post
My mobo does also support 1333Fsb, would general things like installing games, accesing data, unzipping files etc etc all be quicker on the Quad ?
installing games, no that's up to your hard drive speed....Unzipping and zipping files, yes.
__________________
|| 2500K @ 5GHz 1 thread, 4.8 2 threads, 4.6 3, 4.5 4 1.284V ||
|| P8P67-M Pro || 8GB @ 2133MHz ||
|| 5850 @ 1000/1225 || XFX 650W || Silverstone FT03B ||
|| 37" LCD TV || CM Hyper 212+ || Samsung 2.1 Soundbar ||
gurusan is offline  
Old 10-16-2007, 12:27 PM   #7 (permalink)
-Deactivated-
 
Oreo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: England
Posts: 5,723
Send a message via MSN to Oreo
Default Re: Q6600 or E6850

I new that .

can't afford better memory ... well ive got 45 Mins left on PS3 auction and its at £380 i also have another £40
__________________
-Deactivated-
Oreo is offline  
Old 10-16-2007, 12:28 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Yorkshire, UK
Posts: 1,693
Send a message via MSN to Vaanish
Default Re: Q6600 or E6850

Quote:
Originally Posted by K M A N View Post
I new that .

can't afford better memory ... well ive got 45 Mins left on PS3 auction and its at £380 i also have another £40
Forget PS3, PC gaming is far superior.
Vaanish is offline  
Old 10-16-2007, 12:30 PM   #9 (permalink)
-Deactivated-
 
Oreo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: England
Posts: 5,723
Send a message via MSN to Oreo
Default Re: Q6600 or E6850

Im SELLING the PS3. .... thats why i sold it... to get all this.

Anyway... back on topic please
__________________
-Deactivated-
Oreo is offline  
Old 10-16-2007, 01:15 PM   #10 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Q6600 or E6850

Between the E6850 and Q6600, it's pretty much a very easy choice. The Q6600 is the same price, and sometimes cheaper than an E6850. So why not?...it has 2 more cores, and 4 more megabytes of L2 cache. And the Q6600 will last you more in the long run. And even as ReverseFluxx said before, it's not like the Q6600 will be rendered useless. It can get the job done.

The reason to get an E6850, is if you're trying to break some overclocking records, since it has a high multiplier.
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Q6600: G0 Stepping vs B3 Stepping 96z28 New Systems | Building and Buying 17 02-26-2008 12:45 PM
E6850 or Q6600 I order everything tommorow please help Mechtech3000 New Systems | Building and Buying 24 08-11-2007 11:27 AM
Q6600 or E6850 KingCobra New Systems | Building and Buying 23 07-28-2007 08:08 PM
q6600 e6850 benchmarks san21893 New Systems | Building and Buying 53 07-23-2007 09:43 AM
Q6600 vs. E6850 Riznarf New Systems | Building and Buying 15 06-25-2007 10:52 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.