Q6600 or E6850 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-28-2007, 02:13 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 18
Default Q6600 or E6850

Im stuck between these two processors.

Here are the specs...

Intel Core 2 Quad Pro Q6600 - Quad Core Technology, 2.40GHz clock speed, 8MB L2 Cache

Intel Core 2 Duo E6850 - Dual Core Technology, 3.00GHz clock speed, 4MB L2 Cache

Which one would you guys recommend for playing some of the new DX10 games coming out? (Crysis, Unreal 3, etc.)
__________________

KingCobra is offline  
Old 07-28-2007, 02:18 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Q6600 or E6850

q6600 because new games have support for quad-cores soon, plus its cheaper
__________________

__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 07-28-2007, 02:18 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
TheOtis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Planet Earth.
Posts: 1,274
Send a message via AIM to TheOtis
Default Re: Q6600 or E6850

E6600.

Mainly because, you get a quad core CPU for around $300 wherever you go.

You need Vista to hae DX10, Vista is a system resource monster and has stuff running in the background. Also, with games becoming multi-threaded (using two cores), you'll have two cores working with the game, and the other two for background stuff you have running.
__________________
Back on being mobile - ASUS G551- 15.3" 1080p - Core i7 4710HQ - GTX 860M - 16GB DDR3 1600 - 512GB Samsung 850 Pro - Steam ID: TheOtis
TheOtis is offline  
Old 07-28-2007, 02:21 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Q6600 or E6850

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheOtis View Post
E6600.

Mainly because, you get a quad core CPU for around $300 wherever you go.

You need Vista to hae DX10, Vista is a system resource monster and has stuff running in the background. Also, with games becoming multi-threaded (using two cores), you'll have two cores working with the game, and the other two for background stuff you have running.
not quite, ppl are warez'ing dx 10 to work with XP so far i don't no if its successful, but its looking bright
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 07-28-2007, 02:23 PM   #5 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Q6600 or E6850

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheOtis View Post
E6600.

Mainly because, you get a quad core CPU for around $300 wherever you go.

You need Vista to hae DX10, Vista is a system resource monster and has stuff running in the background. Also, with games becoming multi-threaded (using two cores), you'll have two cores working with the game, and the other two for background stuff you have running.
Typo?




...but yes...I agree with the others. The Q6600 is the way to go, with more software, supporting more cores. It's a waste buying the E6850, when around the same price, you get two more cores, and another 4mb cache.

If you wanted dual core, than the e6750 would be the way to go.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 07-28-2007, 02:35 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 2,456
Send a message via AIM to phucng_10 Send a message via Yahoo to phucng_10
Default Re: Q6600 or E6850

Q6600, because it can OC farther then the E6850 can.
__________________
|phucng_10's WM|
phucng_10 is offline  
Old 07-28-2007, 02:39 PM   #7 (permalink)
Everything to Nothing
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Wales
Posts: 4,053
Send a message via MSN to Nick
Default Re: Q6600 or E6850

my athlon 3800+ is fine for vista and games but yeah go with the quad, wont make you thnk **** why did i buy a crummy dual core when i could have got a qaud" errr yeah kinda............
Nick is offline  
Old 07-28-2007, 02:45 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 18
Default Re: Q6600 or E6850

Thanks lads.

Quad core it is then.
KingCobra is offline  
Old 07-28-2007, 02:47 PM   #9 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Q6600 or E6850

Quote:
Originally Posted by phucng_10 View Post
Q6600, because it can OC farther then the E6850 can.
um...no it can't...The Q6600 will be limited by it's heat output. Plus the E6850's stock is higher.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 07-28-2007, 03:11 PM   #10 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 2,456
Send a message via AIM to phucng_10 Send a message via Yahoo to phucng_10
Default Re: Q6600 or E6850

Quote:
Originally Posted by b1gapl View Post
um...no it can't...The Q6600 will be limited by it's heat output. Plus the E6850's stock is higher.
What? Serious? I didn't know about that...
__________________

__________________
|phucng_10's WM|
phucng_10 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
q6600 e6850 benchmarks san21893 New Systems | Building and Buying 53 07-23-2007 09:43 AM
Q6600 vs. E6850 Riznarf New Systems | Building and Buying 15 06-25-2007 10:52 AM
q6600 for gaming and OC Riznarf New Systems | Building and Buying 37 06-19-2007 10:12 PM
Overclocking a q6600 Riznarf New Systems | Building and Buying 2 06-04-2007 02:42 AM
Cheapest Q6600 Build Gumbercules New Systems | Building and Buying 34 06-01-2007 01:01 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.