Q6600 or Dual Core for gaming? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-06-2008, 08:50 AM   #11 (permalink)
Monster Techie
meat_helmet's Avatar
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 1,119
Default Re: Q6600 or Dual Core for gaming?

Games that use quads (that I know of):

Call of Duty 4
GRID: Racedriver

Also i have read Supreme Commander does, but have no experience myself with it.

meat_helmet is offline  
Old 08-06-2008, 09:05 AM   #12 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Drizzt's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Somewhere inbetween FL and NY
Posts: 3,187
Send a message via AIM to Drizzt
Default Re: Q6600 or Dual Core for gaming?

I wouldn't upgrade from a E6750 to a q6600 now, with all these great cpu's coming out soon... The q6600 is great and all but the E6750 isn't exactly a **** cpu either...

Wait for Intel/AMD to play there hands.

CPU:Q6600 G0 @ 3.7Ghz (410x9 w/1.475v)
Motherboard:Asus P5E X38
Memory:2x2GB OCZ Reapers DDR2 1066
Graphics Card:GTX460 768MB @ 880/1760/2000
Hard Drive:2x WD Black 1TB
Power Supply:Xion 800W
CPU cooling: H50
GPU cooling: Best Stock Cooling I Have Ever Had
Monitor:24" LG
Drizzt is offline  
Old 08-06-2008, 09:13 AM   #13 (permalink)
Lord Techie
veedubfreak's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: Q6600 or Dual Core for gaming?

Originally Posted by wafflehammer View Post
crysis isn't the only game to use all 4-cores ( it might even use 2 ) ..i wish people would stop being " oh lawds crysis it's teh amazing lawl lawl it greatest ting on earth!!!21212!!!@!eleven!!!! "

even if the game doesn't use all cores, the OS and other background programs will use those 2 cores which will let the game have 2 dedicated cores to itself....imo, get a quad-core unless you want to spend less than $150ish
Hey, have we met? You must subscribe to my newsletter.

Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Are Quad Core or Dual core best for gaming? Noniy New Systems | Building and Buying 11 06-03-2008 10:07 PM
Intel Core 2 Duo e8500: Sweet Spot for Dual Core overclockers veg1992 New Systems | Building and Buying 10 03-05-2008 10:30 PM
Dual Core or Quad core? braz New Systems | Building and Buying 4 01-31-2008 12:06 AM
dual corre vs quad core robina_80 New Systems | Building and Buying 1 07-23-2007 02:45 PM
Core 2 Duo (Dual Core Settings) Nechen New Systems | Building and Buying 0 04-06-2007 10:57 AM

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:26 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.