Q6600 or Dual Core for gaming? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-05-2008, 03:18 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 326
Default Q6600 or Dual Core for gaming?

Hey guys, was about to order me a Q6600 so I could have quad for future games that will use all the cores but in reviews for the Q6600 on NewEgg people say the Core 2 Duo's are faster and better for gaming. I usually try to buy something that is a little more future proof so the quad seemed the way to go, what would you recommend?

Running an E6750 now and was going to make that my second PC.
__________________

Shafra is offline  
Old 08-05-2008, 03:48 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 276
Default Re: Q6600 or Dual Core for gaming?

Not many games use all 4 cores, I think Crysis may only be the only game that does.

For the same price as a Q6600 or around that price bracket, you can get a faster dual core. But its not future proof.

Dual cores around same price of Q6600= Faster speeds and better gaming performance
Q6600 = Still fast and a good CPU, not as fast as the better dual cores but is future proof for quad core when it really takes off in gaming. And dont forget it overclocks well.

Essentially if you buy a Q6600, it will act as a 2.4ghz dual core when gaming as barely any games are optimized to use all 4. But 2.4 isnt exactly bad now is it. And its future proof.

I myself am going for the Q6600 for its future proofing and overclocking potential.
__________________

Method is offline  
Old 08-05-2008, 04:00 PM   #3 (permalink)
AKA , gt7sanremo
 
Evolv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Harrisburg,PA
Posts: 1,240
Default Re: Q6600 or Dual Core for gaming?

The Q6600 is the best bang for the buck right now. As games come out they will utilize more cores. Plus don't listen to the reviews on newegg, some of them people are idiots.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

Random movie quote to make you seem hip and "with it":
"Please take the chairs away. I don't like them. The big one is staring at me and that short one is being very droll."
Evolv is offline  
Old 08-05-2008, 04:04 PM   #4 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Q6600 or Dual Core for gaming?

Yha, my q6600 runs at 3.0Ghz with nothing other than a decent cooler. For the price, can't beat it.
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 08-05-2008, 07:05 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 326
Default Re: Q6600 or Dual Core for gaming?

Thanks guys. If I can run the Q6600 at 3ghz I think that will be plenty for me! I was hoping the quad core would be recommended so as new games come out that utilize all 4 I can take advantage of it.
Shafra is offline  
Old 08-05-2008, 08:22 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Logan, WV
Posts: 2,503
Send a message via AIM to wafflehammer
Default Re: Q6600 or Dual Core for gaming?

crysis isn't the only game to use all 4-cores ( it might even use 2 ) ..i wish people would stop being " oh lawds crysis it's teh amazing lawl lawl it greatest ting on earth!!!21212!!!@!eleven!!!! "

even if the game doesn't use all cores, the OS and other background programs will use those 2 cores which will let the game have 2 dedicated cores to itself....imo, get a quad-core unless you want to spend less than $150ish
__________________

Core i7 920 @ 3.0Ghz
GIGABYTE GA-EX58-UD5
6gb G.Skill 1600mhz/9-9-9-24
Corsair 750XT
EVGA GTX 260---216core
WD 640gb
14590 3dmarks @ stock
wafflehammer is offline  
Old 08-05-2008, 08:59 PM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Q6600 or Dual Core for gaming?

Unreal Tournament III also does load Quads... AMD GT Player mentioned another one, don't remember what it is...

But I agree with Wafflehammer (thats probably what Veedubfreak will also say )
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 08-06-2008, 12:53 AM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 419
Send a message via AIM to Dr DMoney
Default Re: Q6600 or Dual Core for gaming?

The truth is the e6750 to the q6600 isn't a justifiable upgrade. You probally won't see much of a difference in games... In other task it will knock a few seconds off but really do you need a few seconds off now. I would wait a few years and just start saving for a new build... Get a better processor then, and knock task times to instant....
__________________
The start of my signature...
http://img443.imageshack.us/img443/7041/sig0jc.png
Dr DMoney is offline  
Old 08-06-2008, 02:57 AM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 276
Default Re: Q6600 or Dual Core for gaming?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Method View Post
Not many games use all 4 cores, I think Crysis may only be the only game that does.

For the same price as a Q6600 or around that price bracket, you can get a faster dual core. But its not future proof.

Dual cores around same price of Q6600= Faster speeds and better gaming performance
Q6600 = Still fast and a good CPU, not as fast as the better dual cores but is future proof for quad core when it really takes off in gaming. And dont forget it overclocks well.

Essentially if you buy a Q6600, it will act as a 2.4ghz dual core when gaming as barely any games are optimized to use all 4. But 2.4 isnt exactly bad now is it. And its future proof.

I myself am going for the Q6600 for its future proofing and overclocking potential.
Quote:
Originally Posted by wafflehammer View Post
crysis isn't the only game to use all 4-cores ( it might even use 2 ) ..i wish people would stop being " oh lawds crysis it's teh amazing lawl lawl it greatest ting on earth!!!21212!!!@!eleven!!!! "

even if the game doesn't use all cores, the OS and other background programs will use those 2 cores which will let the game have 2 dedicated cores to itself....imo, get a quad-core unless you want to spend less than $150ish
Please explain to me where I was being " oh lawds crysis it's teh amazing lawl lawl it greatest ting on earth!!!21212!!!@!eleven!!!! ".

...I simply said I think Crysis is the only game that does use 4.
Method is offline  
Old 08-06-2008, 03:08 AM   #10 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Luke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,601
Send a message via AIM to Luke Send a message via MSN to Luke
Default Re: Q6600 or Dual Core for gaming?

personally, id go for a q6600
__________________

__________________
3770K @ 4.7 Ghz H100 Water Cooled | GTX 970 MSI Gold Edition SLI
32GB G.Skill RipJaws (Rendering/ Virtualization) | Corsair 650D | CORSAIR RM1000W w/ White Cable KIt
Samsung 850 Pro 256 GB SSD Boot | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD Secondary | WD Black 1 TB | WD Green 3 TB
Server: Core i7 920 | 8GB RAM | Intel 240gb 730 SSD Boot | 3 x 2TB WD RED | Fractal R4
Luke is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Are Quad Core or Dual core best for gaming? Noniy New Systems | Building and Buying 11 06-03-2008 11:07 PM
Intel Core 2 Duo e8500: Sweet Spot for Dual Core overclockers veg1992 New Systems | Building and Buying 10 03-05-2008 11:30 PM
Dual Core or Quad core? braz New Systems | Building and Buying 4 01-31-2008 01:06 AM
dual corre vs quad core robina_80 New Systems | Building and Buying 1 07-23-2007 03:45 PM
Core 2 Duo (Dual Core Settings) Nechen New Systems | Building and Buying 0 04-06-2007 11:57 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.