Q6600 bottleneck newer cards? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-22-2010, 07:21 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: England
Posts: 605
Default Q6600 bottleneck newer cards?

Just wondering if I'd be able to purchase one of the newer DX11 compatible cards or if a Q6600 at 3ghz would bottleneck it too much? I'll probably OC it a tad more. Can anyone tell me the max safe temp at load for a Q6600 G0?

I was thinking a 5870? I assume by the price point their considerably better then a 4870? Just thought it would help me get a bit of a framerate boost in demanding games like Crysis and get some more life out of this rig before I get a totally new one in fall 2011 or early 2012.
__________________

Joeyboy is offline  
Old 01-22-2010, 08:06 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Druid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 3,065
Default Re: Q6600 bottleneck newer cards?

I can't tell you anything about temps, but that cpu won't bottleneck.
__________________

__________________
CPU: Intel Core i7 920
GPU: ASUS STRIX GTX 970
Ram: 12GB 1600 Mhz DDR3
Mobo: ASUS P6T
PSU: 750W PC Power & Cooling
Druid is offline  
Old 01-22-2010, 08:57 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 82
Default Re: Q6600 bottleneck newer cards?

The 4870 acts about on par with the 5770. The 5870 is a great card but your cpu is good enough to not bottleneck
VishKapish is offline  
Old 01-23-2010, 03:45 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: England
Posts: 605
Default Re: Q6600 bottleneck newer cards?

ok cheers guys! I'm certainly going to upgrade the GPU since they seem to be the best idea(with more RAM) to get a bit more life out of the system, especially with Quads handling most games pretty well, the GPU being the weakness in systems.

I'll have to see what's available fall of this year.. My HD4870 is fine for the most part, Crysis is obviously a bit of a push but smooth enough on high settings.
Joeyboy is offline  
Old 01-23-2010, 06:40 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
philbar71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 4,533
Send a message via AIM to philbar71
Default Re: Q6600 bottleneck newer cards?

A q6600 will not bottle neck much, if anything.

Also, since that is 65nm, the max temp on those are like 95-110C.
__________________


The only thing ATi can render faster than nVidia is the BSOD

SLI ON INTEL P45: http://www.techist.com/pc/f76/sli-intel-chipset-219886/

<<< i like rep :D
philbar71 is offline  
Old 01-23-2010, 06:52 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: San Diego
Posts: 1,958
Send a message via AIM to Burn
Default Re: Q6600 bottleneck newer cards?

Quote:
Originally Posted by philbar71 View Post
A q6600 will not bottle neck much, if anything.

Also, since that is 65nm, the max temp on those are like 95-110C.
i think you are referring to tjmax, but imo you should never run your cpu that hot for everyday use

for a q6600 anything under 70C is safe
__________________
EVGA E758 A1 | Core i7 920 @ 4ghz | 6GB DDR3 1600 OCZ Gold | XFX 6870 CF | Corsair TX850 | Cooler Master HAF 932 | Water Cooled
Burn is offline  
Old 01-23-2010, 07:35 PM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
philbar71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Suffolk, VA
Posts: 4,533
Send a message via AIM to philbar71
Default Re: Q6600 bottleneck newer cards?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Burninator View Post
i think you are referring to tjmax, but imo you should never run your cpu that hot for everyday use

for a q6600 anything under 70C is safe
Yep, I thought he wanted to know the Tjmax.
__________________


The only thing ATi can render faster than nVidia is the BSOD

SLI ON INTEL P45: http://www.techist.com/pc/f76/sli-intel-chipset-219886/

<<< i like rep :D
philbar71 is offline  
Old 01-24-2010, 11:50 AM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: England
Posts: 605
Default Re: Q6600 bottleneck newer cards?

Quote:
Originally Posted by philbar71 View Post
Yep, I thought he wanted to know the Tjmax.
I'll pretend I know what that is...

but nah I meant the hottest It should be getting while OC'd to still be in the recommended range. So around 70c.

cheers guys!

oh is 38c when I'm only browsing the web an ok temp or does that sound high? When I'm playing a game it's usually 55c I think, that is when it is at 3ghz. I'll have a better look though.
__________________

Joeyboy is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Nvidia Plans Another Re-Branding of Graphics Cards. (..again) veg1992 New Technology and Products 21 10-10-2008 07:31 PM
intel Q6600 Batch List thirdshiftdj Overclocking and Modding 86 10-03-2008 01:01 AM
Power Supply, Mobos and Cards Neopopulas New Systems | Building and Buying 13 05-14-2008 05:19 AM
G0 Revision Q6600? Help... g3kk0 New Systems | Building and Buying 25 04-24-2008 01:12 PM
Q6600: G0 Stepping vs B3 Stepping 96z28 New Systems | Building and Buying 17 02-26-2008 12:45 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.