Q6600 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-28-2007, 11:08 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 41
Default Q6600

I just bought one and am attempting to build my computer. There is no mention of thermal paste on the intel supplied directions, nor does it come with thermal paste. I do need thermal paste right? Unless they changed something since last time I built my computer.
__________________

mlucool is offline  
Old 07-28-2007, 12:10 PM   #2 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Q6600

If you're using the stock CPU cooler for the Q6600, I believe there is already a thermal pad, on the base of the heatsink.
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 07-28-2007, 12:19 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 41
Default Re: Q6600

I am using the stock heat sink. So I do not need thermal paste also? Its built into the heat sync now?
mlucool is offline  
Old 07-28-2007, 12:23 PM   #4 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Q6600

Yes...the thermal pad is on the base of the stock heatsink already.

It would be a good idea though, to get either AS5 or MX-1 thermal paste, and remove the thermal pad. You'll have cooler temperatures that way, even if not overclocking.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 07-28-2007, 03:24 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 273
Default Re: Q6600

Don't bother getting new paste if you're just using stock cooling..
__________________
Old rig sold.. :(

Dell Vostro 1700:
C2D T5470, 8600m GT, WXGA+ screen, 2GB RAM, 160GB HD, Vista Ultimate
mrfluffles is offline  
Old 07-28-2007, 03:25 PM   #6 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: Q6600

Quote:
Originally Posted by mrfluffles View Post
Don't bother getting new paste if you're just using stock cooling..
True that....I was suggesting it, since it's inexpensive, and the tube can last for future builds as well.
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Power Requirements for Q6600? will h4x 4 food New Systems | Building and Buying 31 06-27-2007 10:33 PM
q6600 for gaming and OC Riznarf New Systems | Building and Buying 37 06-19-2007 10:12 PM
Upgrade - Q6600, 4GB RAM - Thoughts? meat_helmet New Systems | Building and Buying 12 06-12-2007 12:06 PM
Overclocking a q6600 Riznarf New Systems | Building and Buying 2 06-04-2007 02:42 AM
Cheapest Q6600 Build Gumbercules New Systems | Building and Buying 34 06-01-2007 01:01 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.