Putting together my ultimate machine - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-09-2006, 02:01 PM   #11 (permalink)
Future ex-member
 
lancec2c30's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chehalis, WA
Posts: 4,012
Send a message via MSN to lancec2c30
Default

Sorry if I sound like a tard, but what exactly are you using this computer for. Because from the looks of it, it's just a monster server?

gmanych: why don't you read the whole fu***** post before going ballistic. Not everyone build a gaming rig, some high performance computers have other uses other than games. Like maybe video editing or something.
__________________

__________________

XP Pro | Vista Home Premium | Linux Ubuntu 7.10
s939 X2 3800 Toledo @ 2.6ghz | evga 7900gs | 320gig + 80gig wd | 1gb Ram | Abit KN8 SLI
3.1ghz achieved. :cool:
70K F@H member..............still waiting for the "iRACK"

Norcent will not be forgotten.

lancec2c30 is offline  
Old 12-09-2006, 02:13 PM   #12 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default

and opteron 285's arent on am2 as well.. didn't see how you didnt catch that one... newer opterons are in the 1000's?

and if you don't mind my asking, what is this db your gonna be using?
__________________

__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 12-09-2006, 02:15 PM   #13 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,191
Default

Look, right now as it is, there is no reason to buy an AMD system. Core 2 Duo is pretty much the only good option.

Get the quad-core QX6700, which will put those two opterons to shame.
The General is offline  
Old 12-09-2006, 02:22 PM   #14 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by The General
Look, right now as it is, there is no reason to buy an AMD system. Core 2 Duo is pretty much the only good option.

Get the quad-core QX6700, which will put those two opterons to shame.
i totally forgot about the qx6700... i will have to agree with general.... qx6700 takes the cake for anything at this moment.. and by a very large margin
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 12-09-2006, 02:32 PM   #15 (permalink)
Console Gamer
 
Ronnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: N. Carolina
Posts: 2,716
Default

i wish this dude would tell us what he is using this machine for already that would really help us out.

also dont get 2 7600's
for the price of both of them you can get a 7900gt that will eat them
__________________
Ryzen 7 1700 / Gigabyte AB35
Deepcool Captain 240EX
32GB HyperX DDR4 / Corsair 750watt
Red Devil 480 / Corsair R270
Sandisk 960GB SSD / 2x Seagate 8tb, 2x WD 4TB
Ronnie is offline  
Old 12-09-2006, 04:09 PM   #16 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 5
Default

Don't mean to be elusive with the purpose. This machine will be my primary home workstation. I am finishing up a DB (side) project that I need some steady HP to complete. Someone asked what kind - MySql ==> ISAM I am building the ISAM (speedy), along with the DB I am delivering a 64 bit driver to access it - I expect to be done in 3 or 4 months. Why I bring this up is because my present machine contains some of the equipment for the new build (285's) I am quite fond of the performance - I hear ya on the C2D much less Xtreme but 4 cores at 2.6 is enough for the new year!!! New is the Lian Li and Mobo +SATA cont. and +4 ram + video (stuck on which one and SLI or no). When I make the leap back to Intel - it will be costly and way too costly for today...
tnsnames is offline  
Old 12-09-2006, 04:19 PM   #17 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 5
Default

I guess I still didn't answer it - - - The largest one thing I want out of this machine is to run Adobe Production Studio - specifically Premiere Pro 2.0 and After Effects 7.0 without a reason to start another project while I am waiting on the machine to catch up to itself...
tnsnames is offline  
Old 12-09-2006, 06:09 PM   #18 (permalink)
Console Gamer
 
Ronnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: N. Carolina
Posts: 2,716
Default

if you want it for production a core 2 build would do great.

the system your trying to build would be a server for files and what not
__________________
Ryzen 7 1700 / Gigabyte AB35
Deepcool Captain 240EX
32GB HyperX DDR4 / Corsair 750watt
Red Devil 480 / Corsair R270
Sandisk 960GB SSD / 2x Seagate 8tb, 2x WD 4TB
Ronnie is offline  
Old 12-10-2006, 01:35 AM   #19 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,191
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by tnsnames
I am quite fond of the performance - I hear ya on the C2D much less Xtreme but 4 cores at 2.6 is enough for the new year!!!
If you think that Opterons are at all comparable to Core 2 Duo's performance wise, then you have been misled.

A Core 2 Duo E6300 @ 1.83Ghz ($189) will out perform your Opterons.
__________________

The General is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.