Put ice in foil - Page 9 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-09-2007, 11:14 PM   #81 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: Put ice in foil

Quote:
The AirCon is not a traditional Air Conditioning unit like you would find in your house or car. There are no compressors, condensers, or Freon in the AirCon. The AirCon actually is a combination of two heat sinks, two fans, and a thermoelectric cooler, also known as a peltier. Peltier’s have been used to cool CPUs for quite some time by hardcore overclockers. Here is a brief description of what they are and how they work:

Peltier devices, also known as thermoelectric (TE) modules, are small solid-state devices that function as heat pumps. A "typical" unit is a few millimeters thick by a few millimeters to a few centimeters square. It is a sandwich formed by two ceramic plates with an array of small Bismuth Telluride cubes ("couples&quot in between. When a DC current is applied heat is moved from one side of the device to the other - where it must be removed with a heatsink. The "cold" side is commonly used to cool an electronic device such as a microprocessor or a photodetector.

So what we have is a thermoelectric cooler sandwiched between two aluminum heat sinks, each with its own fan. Then throw in a digital display to show the temperature of the air flowing through the unit, a switch to control the two operating modes, and a slide mounting system that occupies a 5.25” drive bay, and you have the PC AirCon PAC 400.
It'd be much more efficient to just have the peltier in the CPU heatsink itself.
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 04-10-2007, 01:21 AM   #82 (permalink)
G33K P0W3R!!!!
 
bmxfreakrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: HickTown, California (hesperia), and West Hollywood
Posts: 2,068
Default Re: Put ice in foil

yea, but you wouldnt imagine how many people would actually pay that much for the bragging rights to say that they have an ac unit in their case.

or i guess you could strip the unit, ant take the peltier and put that on the cpu, then i guess the case would be worth it.
__________________

__________________
Listen to my music! and random/funny videos XD
Need a HDTV? Come find me at BestBuy #108 in Victorville XD
:D-----v Just pwnt my cpu, 900mhz OC v-----:D
bmxfreakrider is offline  
Old 04-10-2007, 04:18 AM   #83 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default Re: Put ice in foil

to cut a long thread short. it is not a good idea to do this with ice. as someone else pointed out if you have any inclination to do this use dry ice. i can't promise there won't be moisture from condensation but at least dry ice does not melt into water. dry ice is also considerably cooler than standard ice.
__________________

Nitestick is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.