Put ice in foil - Page 4 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-06-2007, 09:44 AM   #31 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default Re: Put ice in foil

What about that guy who hit his FX-53 into the ZIF socket because it wouldn't go in. He then proceeded to take off all the pins when unbending them.
__________________

__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 04-06-2007, 09:48 AM   #32 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: Put ice in foil

Quote:
Originally Posted by Trifid View Post
What about that guy who hit his FX-53 into the ZIF socket because it wouldn't go in. He then proceeded to take off all the pins when unbending them.
WoW, that ranks pretty high up there as well.

Ok, that tops the Video card guy, but not by much.
__________________

Ste is offline  
Old 04-06-2007, 10:19 AM   #33 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 5
Default Re: Put ice in foil

What about that guy who mistook a dog whoopsy for his RAM?
That was hilarious
kobryn is offline  
Old 04-06-2007, 10:37 AM   #34 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
M733mhz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 648
Send a message via AIM to M733mhz
Default Re: Put ice in foil

http://www.doingitwrong.com/wrong/wrong5.jpg
__________________


M733mhz is offline  
Old 04-06-2007, 10:38 AM   #35 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
M733mhz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 648
Send a message via AIM to M733mhz
Default Re: Put ice in foil

Quote:
Originally Posted by CrazeD View Post
This is almost as funny as the guy that cut up his PCI-e video card to fit in a PCI slot.

LOL
http://www.doingitwrong.com/wrong/AGP2PCI.jpg

Also doing it wrong.
__________________


M733mhz is offline  
Old 04-06-2007, 11:20 AM   #36 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default Re: Put ice in foil

Quote:
Originally Posted by M733mhz View Post
LOL! It took me a second to figure out what he was doing, but that's pretty funny.
__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Old 04-06-2007, 01:19 PM   #37 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
kfc469's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 928
Send a message via AIM to kfc469
Default Re: Put ice in foil

I still think hes kidding
__________________

kfc469 is offline  
Old 04-06-2007, 01:22 PM   #38 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default Re: Put ice in foil

I have a watercooling system in my PC now:
Swiftech MCP655 pump
Swiftech Apogee GT water block
1 x Black Ice GTX 120mm radiator
1X Black Ice Extreme 120mm radiator
Swiftech MCW60 waterblock (still need a HSI heatsink so I can use it with my 8800 GTS)

My Athlon 64 X2 4600+ gets about 35 idle, at 2.8GHZ and 1.5V
when both cores are at 100% load for hours, it gets to about 50

I want to upgrade to an Agena (quad core) when they come out, depending on prices.
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 04-06-2007, 05:00 PM   #39 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 154
Default Re: Put ice in foil

I FIXED IT. All I had to do was also wrap the ice in saran wrap and now it can't leak out. if you need a COOL computer for CHEAP do this!!!
cementshoes is offline  
Old 04-06-2007, 05:18 PM   #40 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 575
Send a message via ICQ to Cunjo Send a message via Yahoo to Cunjo
Default Re: Put ice in foil

this thread is hilarious....

Phase change cooling is cool, and more than just literally... but the sort of thing you're doing is just dumb. There is a reason people pay upwards of a grand for a reliable phase change cooling system, and I garuntee it doesn't have to do with looks.

Personally I wouldn't even trust a top grade water cooling system... things DO happen. Defects emerge, pats go bad... and all it takes is one drop of water in the wrong place to fry a very expensive system. It's a real nightmare. Phase cooling is a little bit better provided that it doesn't use electrically conductive liquids, but it's still unecessary stress on your system. Any exotic cooling system has issues... it places more strain on your CPU for one thing. You can OC the latest Intel chip to 5GHz using liquid nitrogen, but the chip would probably expire from the stress before long, and you'd also risk shattering something at those temperatures -- the faster you heat/cool something, the more stress you put on it.

Invest in a large heatsink and a good fan.
__________________

__________________
\"I\'ll do it cheap, I\'ll do it fast, or I\'ll do it well. You can only choose two.\"
Cunjo is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.