Put ice in foil - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-06-2007, 01:08 AM   #21 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default Re: Put ice in foil

Quote:
Originally Posted by molsen View Post
cool...temp drops for a few minutes.....yea great idea. introduce water to your computer. GREAT idea.
I believe this guy did with a bit of sarcasm lol. I wasn't sure how you were containing the ice either lol...but as long as your ram didn't short out lol..
__________________

__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 04-06-2007, 01:30 AM   #22 (permalink)
Do work.
 
molsen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 1,177
Send a message via AIM to molsen
Default Re: Put ice in foil

ya, i blatantly put it out there...and you still did it...and now you're screwed. good job

use some common sense man
__________________

__________________
http://mattjolsen.tumblr.com
flickr

Intel E8400 @ 3.78ghz
8gb (4x2gb) G.SKILL DDR2 1600 @ 420mhz, 5-5-5-12
ASrock P43Twins1600 (hates RAM dividers)
WD Caviar 500gb + 250gb hdd, 32mb cache
eVGA 7900gs @ 585/1700mhz
OCZ GameXStream 600w PSU
Sound Blaster X-Fi Platinum
Cooler Master Centurion 5 case
molsen is offline  
Old 04-06-2007, 01:33 AM   #23 (permalink)
j12
Monster Techie
 
j12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,133
Default Re: Put ice in foil

Quote:
Originally Posted by cementshoes View Post
guys water leaked on my RAM so im posting from my mom's computer. she's super ****ed off, how can i dry it out.
wow you're **** smart.
__________________

Laptop:
MacBook 2.2GHz Santa Rosa | 120GB HDD | 4GB ram
Desktop:
Intel C2D E6300 @ 3.2GHz | 4GB ram | 880GB total HDD space | Gigabyte P965-DS3 | eVGA 8800GTS 640mb | Corsair HX 520 | Audigy 2 ZS platnium | Antec 900
j12 is offline  
Old 04-06-2007, 01:40 AM   #24 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default Re: Put ice in foil

Lol no need to be mean....but still I hope you've learned a lesson how computers and water don't mix. Especially when the water is in the form of ice which melts...
__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 04-06-2007, 08:02 AM   #25 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 235
Default Re: Put ice in foil

hahahaha. pmsl. how did we know the thread was gonna turn out like this?
plant is offline  
Old 04-06-2007, 08:30 AM   #26 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default Re: Put ice in foil

Didn't anyone tell you in science that water conducts electricity due to its impurities?

Quote:
Originally Posted by b1gapl View Post
I heard about some water coolant for water cooling systems, that is non-conductive and stuff, so when or if it spills, theres no problem. Is this true?
It is called de-ionised water. I have it running around in my system. It is now ionised and conducts electricity. Because the ion's are taken out of the dihydrogen monoxide, it is always searching for them. = now conducting liquid. The closest you will get to non conducting water is distilled water.

Plus if you asked anyone here who 'has a high post count' seriously than we would have told you it was a bad idea.
__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 04-06-2007, 09:09 AM   #27 (permalink)
Console Gamer
 
Ronnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: N. Carolina
Posts: 2,716
Default Re: Put ice in foil

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sora View Post
Lol no need to be mean....but still I hope you've learned a lesson how computers and water don't mix. Especially when the water is in the form of ice which melts...
watercooling is actually pretty safe if you use common sense and follow the directions

ALOT of people water cool without any problem and if you use fluid xp, even if it leaks your safe
__________________
Ryzen 7 1700 / Gigabyte AB35
Deepcool Captain 240EX
32GB HyperX DDR4 / Corsair 750watt
Red Devil 480 / Corsair R270
Sandisk 960GB SSD / 2x Seagate 8tb, 2x WD 4TB
Ronnie is offline  
Old 04-06-2007, 09:19 AM   #28 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: Put ice in foil

Quote:
Originally Posted by cementshoes View Post
guys water leaked on my RAM so im posting from my mom's computer. she's super ****ed off, how can i dry it out.

See.

I knew it would turn out to be really funny for us.

LOL's!

Sucks to be him...
Ste is offline  
Old 04-06-2007, 09:21 AM   #29 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default Re: Put ice in foil

This is almost as funny as the guy that cut up his PCI-e video card to fit in a PCI slot.

LOL
__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Old 04-06-2007, 09:39 AM   #30 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: Put ice in foil

Quote:
Originally Posted by CrazeD View Post
This is almost as funny as the guy that cut up his PCI-e video card to fit in a PCI slot.

LOL
Almost, but, nothing could ever top that.

That was the end all be all of computer stupidity.
__________________

Ste is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.