PSUs - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-10-2006, 09:01 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 24
Default PSUs

Ok, I'm a bit confused. I currently have a 300w PSU in my box. my box currently has

Athlon 2100+ (thunderbird)
A7V333
BFG 6600GT (has power in)
Maxtor 60GB
Maxtor 120GB
WD 250GB
LG 40x12x40

I actually ran out of leads when installing the BFG card, so i used their splitter. I'm guessing this isnt the greatest, and I plan on upgrading my mobo and cpu to

ASRock 939dual-SATA2
San Diego 3700+

what do I need to do to my PSU? I'm a TOTAL psu n00b, so help me out on what to look for.

would this

http://www.ncix.com/products/index.p...e=COOLERMASTER

be appropriate?
__________________

996_gt2 is offline  
Old 02-10-2006, 10:23 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 112
Default

How much are you willing to spend? I have no idea if that is a good power supply.
__________________

Richard is offline  
Old 02-10-2006, 11:48 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 24
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Richard
How much are you willing to spend?
as little as possible.
996_gt2 is offline  
Old 02-11-2006, 01:17 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
aj2003's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,094
Default

well put simply your gonna need to factor in a totally new psu. 330 wont be enough.

BTW are you sure about that motherboard? ASrock usually are quite low end? might be worth spending less on your cpu to get higher quality components elsewhere
__________________
AMD x2 5000+ black edition at 3.3GHZ zalman cnps 9700-NT
Gigabyte GA-M57SLI-S4 motherboard
3072mb: OCZ ddr800 gold
2x 7800GTX in SLI for 20" viewsonic
OCZ 600watt power supply
www.angelic-accessories.co.uk - plug for my gfs site
aj2003 is offline  
Old 02-11-2006, 02:31 AM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Lafayette, Oregon
Posts: 145
Default

Check out the 450W fortron psu @ newegg.com

Here's the link:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817104954
__________________
Completed 1st System:
Case...Antec Super LanBoy $30
PSU...Antec SP2.0 500W $50
Mobo...MSI K8N Neo4-F $85
CPU...Athlon 64 3200+ Venice $162
Video...EVGA GeForce 6800 GS $196
Memory...OCZ 1GB (512MB x 2) $60
Hard Drive...Hitachi 80GB $20
Gaming without lag...priceless.
newcement is offline  
Old 02-11-2006, 04:48 AM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

The Fortron is the cheapest PSU I would consider getting, and it is very good.

Isn't Asrock the low end AGP ASUS motherboards? Or is that Epox? Anyway, i agree, consider getting a better motherboard in your budget, or drop the CPU down to a 3500.
__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 02-11-2006, 03:03 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 24
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by aj2003
well put simply your gonna need to factor in a totally new psu. 330 wont be enough.

BTW are you sure about that motherboard? ASrock usually are quite low end? might be worth spending less on your cpu to get higher quality components elsewhere
no **** i need to factor in a new PSU, did you read my post? yes I'm sure about the ASRock, read reviews on that mobo, its well liked.
996_gt2 is offline  
Old 02-11-2006, 04:30 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 138
Default

your new M board will be just fine. I would not try and get the cheapest PSU you can buy, as it will lead to future problems. I would not want to get something that I would not be happy with,and end up wasting time and money. plan on spending around $100.00 and look at the specs ( you want more amps in the 12 volt output, and longer hold up times under max load) and reviews first. If you have any plans to upgrade components in the future, the cheap PSU will not do it. A better one will also lend to stabillity and longer component life.
__________________

__________________
Biostar T-force 4U,Opteron 148@2.6Ghz.CorsairXMS DDR500-2gigs,EVGA7800GT CO.Seagate160gigSATA II,Koolance ICM 510 watercooling,Coolermaster Stacker830
cobalt817 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:10 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.