PSU situation.. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-01-2006, 10:52 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 274
Default PSU situation..

Hey guys, Just got a call from a local computer shop that I bought my rig from and they just replaced my PSU for me. I had an Enermax Noisetaker II 600W that sparked and fried and stunk my room up. They have replaced it with a 400W CoolerMax apparently and I am not sure if that is going to be sufficient.
AMD X2 4200
2 GB PC3200
X1900XT 512mb
250 GB WD
-Everything is stock but I am concerned about the quality of this PSU that they are putting in. I have never even heard of it, sounds cheap to me.
-Has anyone else heard of or experienced on of these PSUs??
-Should I take my computer from them and use it as is and ask them to order me another enermax and then return them the PSU they have setup for me at that point?
Thanks!
__________________

__________________
Money Pit
i5 4590 - 3.3GHz
R9 280 OC
8GB G.Skill 1600
dave39 is offline  
Old 12-01-2006, 11:20 AM   #2 (permalink)
MechEng Extraordinaire
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 1,027
Send a message via AIM to cwiz
Default

did the enermax die on you or something? i would just replace it myself if i were you... newegg it! just keep track of where you remove plugs from (i just keep track of like 3 plugs on the mobo, one in each drive... only the plug that belongs there will fit there, ya know)
i think 400W will be too weak and i'm sure they'll over price it

i couldnt find anything off hand as far as rec power, but the x1900GT (which is clocked lower than the x1900xt) recommends at least a 450W so you prob want at least 500W to be safe... plus if you want to add a hd or extra dvd drive u dont want to have to buy ANOTHER psu

i love my antec TruePowerII 550
__________________

__________________
Change the world
upgrading...
PS3 -> Folding as we speak Team# 64582
cwiz is offline  
Old 12-01-2006, 11:45 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 274
Default

Ok cool, thanks cwiz... The powersupply from enermax is still under warranty with the rest of my system. I think they are just being sneaky about the whole thing to save money. I will talk to them about it. I want to crossfire at some point as well which will require a minimum of 550W ...grrrr
__________________
Money Pit
i5 4590 - 3.3GHz
R9 280 OC
8GB G.Skill 1600
dave39 is offline  
Old 12-01-2006, 05:08 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 401
Default

It's always good to have more head room for power, For later upgrades. Go with a 600+ unit even if you need to spend alittle more to get it replaced. It will save you down the road.
augest is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.