PSU, should I bother upgrading? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-18-2006, 12:13 AM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 533
Default PSU, should I bother upgrading?

Hello all

Running the system in my sig, AMD x2 3800, 1gb corsair ram, Lite-on DVD burner, Audigy 2ZS, and a eVGA 7900GT. System runs great, and has been running well for 8 months. I'm using a Rosewill Rv500s PSU, I think it was about $50 when I bought it. I've been reading about people losing hardware because of a PSU that died, but I've never had that happen. So I have 2 questions.

1. Should I bother replacing this PSU? I only planned to do so if I added new hardware or built a new PC.

2. How do you know if a PSU is dying? Are there programs to test it? All I have on my PC is Sandra and under the mainboard information is shows some voltages and all are higher then what it needs.

Any help is appreciated, PSU's are one area I just don't understand. I did read the stickie on PSU's and was considering getting that $40 Fortran since it seems nice, but if everything is working well, should I bother?

Again, I planned to get a nice beefy one on my next build so if people think I'm good, I'll hold off for now
__________________

__________________
Q6600 @ 2.66
Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3L
4GB XMS2 Corsair Ram
Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
Evga 275 GTX
500GB Seagate Sata 2 HDD
250GB Western SATA2 HDD
Corsair 850TX Power Supply
Cooler Master Centurion 5 case
Samsung 2693HM 26" LCD
Microsoft Keyboard
Logitech MX518 Mouse
Geek Squad 875VA Back-UP UPS
Windows XP SP3
Raphael Argus is offline  
Old 12-19-2006, 10:38 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 869
Default

You're fine with the PSU you have. I tried looking up the PSU on Newegg but couldn't find the RV500. I did, however, find the RD, RP, and RE500 PSUs, and they looked to be fine. Your system isn't a very power-hungry one, so you should be fine.

Software isn't reliable in testing whether a PSU is dieing. You could get a multimeter and test the rails, but I don't think you even need to do that. As long as your PSU isn't near the limit of it's power consumption, you shouldn't have any problems with it for quite a few years.

Just wait until your next build and then get a new one.
__________________

__________________
TriEclipse is offline  
Old 12-19-2006, 10:44 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 47
Default

Fortunately PSUs usually tell you when they feel like dying, turning off randomly and the like, so I say until you see it acting up don't worry about it.
__________________
MOBO:Intel 915GAG
CPU:Pentium 4 3.2 GHz
Memory:2x Samsung 512MB DDR 184-Pin PC3200
Hard Drive:Western Digital 200GB
Optical Drives:Lite-On DVD-RW Dual Layer Burner, Lite-On DVD-ROM
GPU:Sapphire X1900GT PCI-E
PSU:Ultra X2 550W ATX Modular
Case:Ultra Aluminus ATX
HomicidalWookie is offline  
Old 12-20-2006, 05:07 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 533
Default

Thanks, all. Appreciate the feedback In future builds I'll be sure to not cut corners on my PSU.
__________________
Q6600 @ 2.66
Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3L
4GB XMS2 Corsair Ram
Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
Evga 275 GTX
500GB Seagate Sata 2 HDD
250GB Western SATA2 HDD
Corsair 850TX Power Supply
Cooler Master Centurion 5 case
Samsung 2693HM 26" LCD
Microsoft Keyboard
Logitech MX518 Mouse
Geek Squad 875VA Back-UP UPS
Windows XP SP3
Raphael Argus is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.