PSU questions - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-14-2008, 02:22 PM   #11 (permalink)
I feel funny...
 
thirdshiftdj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Lowell,Ma
Posts: 3,808
Send a message via AIM to thirdshiftdj
Default Re: PSU questions

I can link you to 99.99 shipped for pc power & cooling 750w silencer
__________________

__________________
NUFFIN!
thirdshiftdj is offline  
Old 11-17-2008, 02:46 AM   #12 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 161
Default Re: PSU questions

BUMP in hope of answers:

I'm still a little confused, so for a single GTX 280 a 600 watt power supply is okay? I was asking about what PSU wattage I would need to SLI 2 of them in the future because I might just go with that PSU so I don't have to worry about switching PSUs. Will 650watt PSU handle SLI GTX 280s?
__________________

__________________
VampD is offline  
Old 11-17-2008, 03:04 AM   #13 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Spaceballs Mega-Maid
Posts: 783
Send a message via AIM to RichM499 Send a message via Yahoo to RichM499
Default Re: PSU questions

It really depends on the quality of the supply, and the Amperes on the 12v rail

If there is only a single 12v rail, its going to be sketchy at best.

2x 12v rails with 16-18a each will be fine in most cases.

(i've seen 250w psu running athlon x2 dual core, and x1950xt... the x1950 says "requires 350w psu" on the box... so it really depends on the quality)


a 650w Power supply should be plenty, but make sure if your buying one, to get a high-quality one.

Dont buy a BestBuy power supply, And try to shoot for 2 or more 12v rails.
__________________
RichM499 is offline  
Old 11-17-2008, 03:13 AM   #14 (permalink)
Biostar Stole my heart
 
Hussein19891's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,209
Send a message via MSN to Hussein19891
Default Re: PSU questions

Go with one of Corsairs 500~600 watt PSU's. When it comes to PSU's I only know about aimps, rails, and wattage. So I m still kind of learning myself.

Just go with the PSU thirdshift recommended.
__________________


Hussein19891 is offline  
Old 11-17-2008, 06:59 AM   #15 (permalink)
Electical Engineer
 
BongWizard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: OZ
Posts: 916
Send a message via AIM to BongWizard Send a message via Yahoo to BongWizard
Default Re: PSU questions

Quote:
Originally Posted by VampD View Post
BUMP in hope of answers:

I'm still a little confused, so for a single GTX 280 a 600 watt power supply is okay? I was asking about what PSU wattage I would need to SLI 2 of them in the future because I might just go with that PSU so I don't have to worry about switching PSUs. Will 650watt PSU handle SLI GTX 280s?
for SLIing 280s you'll need a fair amount of power... i wouldn't go below 650W (bare minimum)... really i'd like to have at least 750W to do it (im the kind of person who likes to have a little overhead... just in case), so a TX-750 would be a great PSU for the job, but, yes, you could do it on a 650W PSU, as long as you dont OC the CPU too far, and you'll have to leave the GPUs near stock
__________________

NZXT Lexa BlackLine w/ Red LEDs | Corsair TX-750 | Gigabyte EP45-DS3P | Intel Core 2 Quad Q9300 @ 3.6GHz
2x 2GB Kingston HyperX PC2-6400 @ 960MHz (5-4-4-13) | 3x Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 500GB HDD in RAID5
2x HIS Radeon HD 4850 @ 761/1129 in CrossFireX w/ Thermaltake DuOrbs | Creative X-Fi XtremeGamer Fatal1ty Pro



Got a problem?? Click Here before posting!

BongWizard is offline  
Old 11-17-2008, 08:13 AM   #16 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
Puddle Jumper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,286
Default Re: PSU questions

Quote:
Originally Posted by RichM499 View Post
It really depends on the quality of the supply, and the Amperes on the 12v rail

If there is only a single 12v rail, its going to be sketchy at best.

2x 12v rails with 16-18a each will be fine in most cases.

(i've seen 250w psu running athlon x2 dual core, and x1950xt... the x1950 says "requires 350w psu" on the box... so it really depends on the quality)


a 650w Power supply should be plenty, but make sure if your buying one, to get a high-quality one.

Dont buy a BestBuy power supply, And try to shoot for 2 or more 12v rails.
A single 12v rail is better than having multiple 12v rails. Infact many of the best power suplies have single rails.
__________________

AMD Phenom II x4 955 Black Edition : Asus M4A89GTD PRO : Corsair 550VX
G.SKILL Ripjaws 4x2gb DDR3 1600 : MSI Geforce GTX 770 2gb : Antec 300
OCZ Agility 2 60gb SSD (OS) : SanDisk Ultra 120gb SSD (Apps) : Crucial M500 240gb (Steam) : Win 8.1 Pro 64bit
2x Samsung 2494LW & 1x Dell U2312HM Eyefinity

Lenovo ThinkPad X220 : Core i5 2410M : 12.5" 1366x768 IPS LED display : Intel 320 Series 120gb SSD

Samsung Galaxy Note 3 stock 4.3 : Nexus 7 2 stock 4.4

Puddle Jumper is offline  
Old 11-17-2008, 09:30 AM   #17 (permalink)
1337 §tatus
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Southern California
Posts: 574
Default Re: PSU questions

Tadaa!
Newegg.com - CORSAIR CMPSU-750TX 750W ATX12V / EPS12V SLI Ready CrossFire Ready 80 PLUS Certified Active PFC Power Supply - Power Supplies
An actual link, for the confused OP. =P
__________________
1337_JohnN is offline  
Old 11-17-2008, 09:49 AM   #18 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Spaceballs Mega-Maid
Posts: 783
Send a message via AIM to RichM499 Send a message via Yahoo to RichM499
Default Re: PSU questions

wow that thing has a 60amp 12v rail........


dont short the 12v rail across your chest.. whatever you do..


it takes .5 amps to stop your heart, 60 is going to do it alot faster=)


the PSU john linked looks like a great supply, and Corsair makes quality stuffs.


(then again, I=V/R.... so.... 12/x (where X is the resistance of your chest) is going to be a very very low number of amps... it probably wouldnt kill you...)

This is why CPU and GPU draw so much power, they are designed to be very low resistance circuits. And they draw 1.3~1.8 volts. So you can imagine the ammount of current the new generation CPU and GPUs pull.


But i know from personal experience repairing CRTs and Power supplies (replacing capacitors and fuzes mostly)

The Caps in a power supply hold an incredible ammount of electric current=)

And it hurts like **** when they short across your fingers.




Either way =) thats a good ammount of current.
__________________
RichM499 is offline  
Old 11-17-2008, 05:48 PM   #19 (permalink)
1337 §tatus
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Southern California
Posts: 574
Default Re: PSU questions

^^^ It's called wearing gloves... ;p
__________________
1337_JohnN is offline  
Old 11-17-2008, 06:11 PM   #20 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Spaceballs Mega-Maid
Posts: 783
Send a message via AIM to RichM499 Send a message via Yahoo to RichM499
Default Re: PSU questions

dont wear gloves when your working on computers.

Wear an anti-static wrist strap, but dont wear gloves.

The friction between your hand and the glove can build up static, and end up ruining your computer.
__________________

__________________
RichM499 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FIANL THREAD for my endless questions golumstoe New Systems | Building and Buying 19 07-24-2008 12:38 AM
PSU Trouble! Flipip Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 7 04-24-2008 03:19 PM
Question regarding mini ITX and recommended PSU 96300NAZ New Systems | Building and Buying 0 12-16-2007 09:29 PM
PSU Related Questions... MetalOwns Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 5 11-04-2007 12:00 AM
Questions for Corsair 620W PSU krazyq Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 10 09-23-2007 02:16 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.