PSU questions - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-13-2008, 08:58 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 161
Question PSU questions

If I'm doing a build that involves a GTX 280 what PSU wattage would you recommend? ( I'm going with the corsair PSU series since everyone seems to love those ) What kind of wattage would be required if I SLI 2 GTX 280s? Lastly how long do PSUs typically last with normal usage? 4-5 years?
__________________

VampD is offline  
Old 11-13-2008, 09:18 PM   #2 (permalink)
AKA ComatoseClown
 
H4x3r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,526
Send a message via AIM to H4x3r Send a message via MSN to H4x3r
Default Re: PSU questions

well it all depends on the other peripherals you have, but i myself wouldn't go anything under 550w
__________________

__________________
H4x3r is offline  
Old 11-13-2008, 09:23 PM   #3 (permalink)
I don't overclock
 
Fat.Clown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: offline
Posts: 3,326
Default Re: PSU questions

probably get the 750tx if you want Corsair
Fat.Clown is offline  
Old 11-13-2008, 09:30 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: "Live Music Capitol of the World"
Posts: 202
Question Re: PSU questions

i have to same question. i have a GTX280 and considering SLi. Is my psu able to do this?
__________________
Intel Core i7-3770k
Asrock Z77E-ITX
EVGA GTX 780 SC ACX
Plextor M5P 128 GB
Seagate ST1000DM003 1TB
Corsair H80i
G.SKILL Sniper Series 8GB 1866Mhz
SILVERSTONE ST55F-G 550W
BitFenix Prodigy Artic White
Samsung SyncMaster 2233
Windows 7
mahiv87 is offline  
Old 11-13-2008, 09:31 PM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: PSU questions

If you didn't have a Raidmax PSU I would have said yes..

But a GTX 280 is pretty awesome, why another one?

Quote:
Originally Posted by VampD View Post
If I'm doing a build that involves a GTX 280 what PSU wattage would you recommend? ( I'm going with the corsair PSU series since everyone seems to love those ) What kind of wattage would be required if I SLI 2 GTX 280s? Lastly how long do PSUs typically last with normal usage? 4-5 years?
Wattage doesn't matter.. you need a good quality PSU.. I'd recommend the 750TX on Corsair's line or Higher..
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 11-13-2008, 09:35 PM   #6 (permalink)
I don't overclock
 
Fat.Clown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: offline
Posts: 3,326
Default Re: PSU questions

Quote:
If you didn't have a Raidmax PSU I would have said yes..
zOMG
how can you not like "RaidMAX"?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ste View Post
yes, the HX has enough native connections for slied 280GTXs but the 750TX will still be enough
if Ste, the PSU expert says its good, it is!
Fat.Clown is offline  
Old 11-13-2008, 10:17 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: "Live Music Capitol of the World"
Posts: 202
Post Re: PSU questions

another 280 for more performance. Should i upgrade to a "quality" PSU. Which one? Any Corsair? i would like to stick with a modular PSU though. **** I just decided to upgrade my CPU instead. should i still ditch my current PSU?****
__________________
Intel Core i7-3770k
Asrock Z77E-ITX
EVGA GTX 780 SC ACX
Plextor M5P 128 GB
Seagate ST1000DM003 1TB
Corsair H80i
G.SKILL Sniper Series 8GB 1866Mhz
SILVERSTONE ST55F-G 550W
BitFenix Prodigy Artic White
Samsung SyncMaster 2233
Windows 7
mahiv87 is offline  
Old 11-14-2008, 02:11 AM   #8 (permalink)
Biostar Stole my heart
 
Hussein19891's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,209
Send a message via MSN to Hussein19891
Default Re: PSU questions

Dude your computer is a beast. There really is no point running GTX 280 in SLI. Unless your gaming on resolutions like 2500x1600 or above.

If you have to change the CPU though. It'd be wise to get the E8600 and even wiser to wait for Yorkfields to drop in price a bit.
__________________


Hussein19891 is offline  
Old 11-14-2008, 09:56 AM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 85
Default Re: PSU questions

I just ordered a Corsair TX750 for $125 (Canadian Dollars). There seems to be a deal on them at the moment so you might want to pick one up.
Like2game is offline  
Old 11-14-2008, 10:27 AM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 161
Default Re: PSU questions

I'm still a little confused, so for a single GTX 280 a 600 watt power supply is okay? I was asking about what PSU wattage I would need to SLI 2 of them in the future because I might just go with that PSU so I don't have to worry about switching PSUs. Will 650watt PSU handle SLI GTX 280s?
__________________

VampD is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FIANL THREAD for my endless questions golumstoe New Systems | Building and Buying 19 07-24-2008 01:38 AM
PSU Trouble! Flipip Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 7 04-24-2008 04:19 PM
Question regarding mini ITX and recommended PSU 96300NAZ New Systems | Building and Buying 0 12-16-2007 10:29 PM
PSU Related Questions... MetalOwns Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 5 11-04-2007 01:00 AM
Questions for Corsair 620W PSU krazyq Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 10 09-23-2007 03:16 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.