PSU question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-21-2006, 02:07 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 114
Default PSU question

I have an Antec Truepower 550W PSU. The power supply for the mobo has only 20 pins, but my mobo has 24 pins.

So where could i insert the PSU cable ? In the middle or in the upper end or in the lower end ?
__________________

__________________
DFI Lan party UT NF4 Ultra
AMD Opteron 146 2.0 Mhz @ 2.8 GHz
OCZ Gold Edition 2x512 MB DDR 500 timing 2.5-3-3-8 @ DDR 560
XFX GeForce 7600 GT 256 Mb GDDR3
Antec Lanboy Mini Tower Case
Antec True Control 550W ATX2.0 PSU
Maxtor 300 GB 7200 RMP SATA 16Mb Cache
17\'\' TFT Screen 12 ms
MysticRose is offline  
Old 03-21-2006, 02:19 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

The cable can only go one way, align the Clip on the connector to the clip on the Motherboard connector, rememeber not to force anything, if it doesn't go in easily take it out and make sure its aligned correctly, the Hole are shaped so it only goes in one way.

Depending on what motherboard it is, you may need a Native 24 Pin Power supply for it to run 100% correctly. So if you encounter problems with system preformence or random System hangs/Freezes then this could be why...

Edit: "I think" DFI Mobos need a Native 24 Pin power supply, but I could be wrong, refer to the Mobos manual or call DFI Tech support to be sure.
__________________

Ste is offline  
Old 03-21-2006, 02:24 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,533
Default

on your sig i see "Antec 550W ATX2.0 PSU" the tp2 atx 2.0 does have 24pin but not in one peice its detatchable..
jeremy is offline  
Old 03-22-2006, 05:24 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 114
Default

It was alright now. I insert the PSU plug in via the lower 20 pins. It works nicely.

Thanks for the recommendation.
__________________
DFI Lan party UT NF4 Ultra
AMD Opteron 146 2.0 Mhz @ 2.8 GHz
OCZ Gold Edition 2x512 MB DDR 500 timing 2.5-3-3-8 @ DDR 560
XFX GeForce 7600 GT 256 Mb GDDR3
Antec Lanboy Mini Tower Case
Antec True Control 550W ATX2.0 PSU
Maxtor 300 GB 7200 RMP SATA 16Mb Cache
17\'\' TFT Screen 12 ms
MysticRose is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.