psu question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-04-2008, 07:13 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 464
Default psu question

soo, I have recieved most of my parts for my build and I just cannot wait any longer to put it together. But the psu I have now is questionable..but I will be getting a new one in a week. My question is if I build the computer with my old psu for now could it or will it hurt any of my computer parts?

Monkey is offline  
Old 09-04-2008, 07:20 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
veg1992's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: psu question

If your PSU is like in bad shape, you'd access the rig of frying it..

if its not enough power, it would just not start, but I don't think it would fry your rig though

I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.

.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 09-04-2008, 07:52 PM   #3 (permalink)

Baez's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,985
Default Re: psu question

Yeah it really depends what you mean by "questionable".

Baez is offline  
Old 09-04-2008, 09:23 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 464
Default Re: psu question

By questionable I mean that it is a stock psu that came with my case. Thats all i mean, it isnt like smoking and making funny noises.
Monkey is offline  
Old 09-04-2008, 09:29 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
baron5's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,984
Default Re: psu question

nah it wont fry anything i dont think, but theres just no point in even trying anyway becuase of the risk, look at the specs of your psu, amperage on the 12v rails then tell us here, and we can tell whether or not it will run. unless your case is antec and it has a antec earthwatts psu or sumthin, itll probably be a dodgy psu.
<<<Please give me Rep if I have helped you<<<

I7 930 @ 4GHz : Noctua D-14
Gigabyte X58A-UD7 : Asus GTX 480
G.Skill Trident 1600MHz 6-8-7-18 : Samsung F3 1TB
OCZ Vertex 2 50GB : Silverstone RV02 Case
Silverstone Strider Plus 1Kw : Sony DRU-870s Optical
Samsung P2350 Monito

baron5 is offline  
Old 09-04-2008, 09:48 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 464
Default Re: psu question

ummm, well. Here is a picture of the case i have with a close up on the psu.. if this does not have the info. I will investigate further. - XION Solaris XON-401 Black with Green LED Light Steel ATX Mid Tower Computer Case 450W Power Supply - Computer Cases
Monkey is offline  
Old 09-04-2008, 10:04 PM   #7 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
Nagasama's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: psu question

no specs on the psu in that newegg link. i guess really it depends on what exactly you are putting in the rig. i mean, a qx9650, a 4870 x2 and 3 hdds...i'd have to say...uh, no.
it will probably be alright for a week, just to get everything up and running. i wouldnt try going into the overclock olympics till you got a better one, tho.
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 09-05-2008, 07:12 AM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 464
Default Re: psu question

I will be putting a HD 4850, E7200, 2 gigs ram and a biostar p43. so nothing to heavy. I do have 2 HD's. I don't plant to OC until I get my new PSU soo it should be ok right?
Monkey is offline  
Old 09-05-2008, 10:46 AM   #9 (permalink)
Redmo0n's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 1,566
Send a message via MSN to Redmo0n
Default Re: psu question

My friend has my power supply (Thermaltake 430w) and he has a Q6600 @ 3.0ghz with a 4850 and 3 hard drives.
Back to stay?
Redmo0n is offline  
Old 09-05-2008, 02:30 PM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 464
Default Re: psu question

I just ordered the corsair 550 VX.. yay! It should get to me by wednesday next week.. and then I will put my compy together. I haven't put one together by myself yet. soo hopefully I won't mess it up.

Monkey is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SLI Upgrade, Power Question cylon New Systems | Building and Buying 20 07-29-2008 12:54 PM
Quick PSU Question... ilim4t1c New Systems | Building and Buying 3 06-29-2008 02:35 PM
malfunctioning psu harry0591 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 05-04-2008 07:43 PM
PSU Trouble! Flipip Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 7 04-24-2008 03:19 PM
Power Supply Question + Overclocking Question Grievearz New Systems | Building and Buying 21 09-11-2007 11:59 PM

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:53 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.