PSU question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-28-2007, 12:44 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 21
Send a message via AIM to RoboticSithDrone Send a message via MSN to RoboticSithDrone
Default PSU question

Late November, I'm going to be building a new comp. It's going to have two of either HD38xx's or 8800GTs (one to start with, though), a quad core proc, and RAID (two 500 gig drives).

As a result, I'm looking at PSU's that are SLI and Crossfire compatible, and 700-800W... well, see for yourself.

Which of these is likely to be the best value for me? Right now, I'm looking mostly at the NZXT.
__________________

RoboticSithDrone is offline  
Old 10-28-2007, 12:55 AM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 2,456
Send a message via AIM to phucng_10 Send a message via Yahoo to phucng_10
Default Re: PSU question

You wouldn't need 700-800W. This PSU would do great. Newegg.com - CORSAIR CMPSU-620HX ATX12V v2.2 and EPS12V 2.91 620W Power Supply 100 - 240 V UL, CUL, CE, CB, FCC Class B, TUV, CCC, C-tick - Retail
__________________

__________________
|phucng_10's WM|
phucng_10 is offline  
Old 10-28-2007, 09:37 AM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: PSU question

^ yep... in fact the Corsair 520 still has enough amperage for it...
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 10-28-2007, 11:39 AM   #4 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: PSU question

Go for the Corsair 520.
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 10-28-2007, 12:14 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 1,151
Send a message via AIM to Deathawk Send a message via Yahoo to Deathawk
Default Re: PSU question

Etasis 750w
Newegg.com - ETASIS ET750 ATX12V / EPS12V True 750W, Max 850W Power Supply 100 - 240 V UL, cUL, CB, TUV, MEMKO - Retail
__________________
Deathawk is offline  
Old 10-28-2007, 12:20 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1,009
Default Re: PSU question

or u can get the new corsair 750w to show off ur wealth/e-*****
AP4LIFETN is offline  
Old 10-28-2007, 12:26 PM   #7 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: PSU question

or you can get the PC Power one.
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 10-28-2007, 12:32 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
westy159's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 182
Default Re: PSU question

Im going to borrow this thread to ask..

Im going to use the Corsair 520 for a new build next week. Reading up on it there are three 12V rails with a total of 50Amps. 8800 graphics cards require around 30amps, lets just say they do. 50/3 = 16.6

So is that 16.6Amps per rail? That wouldnt be enough. Does the PSU send the appropiate Ampage to each rail with 50A being max? (eg. #1=10A #2=30A #3=10A).

But hey, you guys say it works and i believe you, im just over-thinking it..
westy159 is offline  
Old 10-28-2007, 12:34 PM   #9 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: PSU question

I guess it does load balancing. Also, some of 8800series that requires more amperage have two rail input so it's 15A per rail. This depends on which card though. Moreover, the manufactures requirement is usually higher than what it normally uses.
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 10-28-2007, 08:06 PM   #10 (permalink)
MetalHead Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,912
Default Re: PSU question

my friend is building soon with overclocked e2180 and 8800gt
will 36 amps on a rosewill be enough? he's on a tight budget
__________________

__________________
Proc Intel 2500k
Video XFX 6950 1Gb
Display 22'' Monitor Chemei 5ms RT, 800:1 CR
Mobo Biostar Z68A+
Mem 4 gb PNY DDR3 1600
Case afk
Sound Logitech z-5300e 5.1 + Razer Orca's + Creative Soundblaster Audigy SE
PSU Corsair 520hx
OS Windows 7 64-bit
Cooling Corsair H60 Liquid Cooling
HDD Hitachi 1Tb
Invisible is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need psu and low end vid card for build Shafra System Upgrades 7 10-15-2007 12:16 AM
In Depth PSU Guide: Please Read. Oreo New Systems | Building and Buying 18 10-13-2007 11:54 AM
Need PSU Suggestions lee42lee System Upgrades 1 10-05-2007 04:16 PM
PSU Grenaded...Getting a new one... bmxfreakrider New Systems | Building and Buying 4 09-25-2007 12:18 AM
Power Supply Question + Overclocking Question Grievearz New Systems | Building and Buying 21 09-12-2007 12:59 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.