PSU Question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-15-2007, 12:42 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 75
Default PSU Question

I just got my Rosewill 550w psu from newegg. And I noticed that it had an option extra 4-pin part to the mother board cord.. So i guess that means you could choose to have either 20 or 24 pin? My question is.. do i plug both in? why is there an option? my old one had only 20pin one and there were 4 empty slots. I guess before I keep ranting. What is recommended and why? and so on! Thanks
__________________

__________________
CPU: AMD 3600+ Brisbane 2.6ghz
MOBO: BioStar TForce 550SE
Ram: 2x G.SKILL 1GB 240-Pin DDR2 QRs
Video Card: ATI 1950xt 256mb
Case: Cooler Master Centurion 5
PSU: Corsaid 520HX
HSF: Arctic Cooler Freezer 64 PRo
zetahammy is offline  
Old 06-15-2007, 12:44 AM   #2 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: PSU Question

Use whatever is needed by the mobo. If the mobo has a 20 pin socket, use the 20 pin connector.
Now-a-days, newer mobos run off a 24 pin power connection, the psu willl run with 20 or 24 pin regardless
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 06-15-2007, 12:46 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: PSU Question

You plug in whatever the motherboard requires. If it only has a 20 Pin connector, then you can only plug the 20 Pin part in, the extra 4 will need to be detached. If it has a 24 Pin connector then you need to leave the 4 pins attached and click in the whole thing.
Ste is offline  
Old 06-15-2007, 12:49 AM   #4 (permalink)
Indeed.
 
Greg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,600
Default Re: PSU Question

Ste-
Since when did Rosewill start making good PSUs? I saw them recommended in another thread as well. I thought they were just rebranded and cheap?
__________________

Greg is offline  
Old 06-15-2007, 12:50 AM   #5 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: PSU Question

Rosewill have good psus for a while now
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 06-15-2007, 12:55 AM   #6 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: PSU Question

As with everything, quality changes over time(for better or for worse). No guide will ever be true indefinitly. Though I am pretty sure rosewill is not on the avoid List.

There was a time, maybe 2-3 years ago when I couldn't even dream of reccomending a rosewill PSU. But times change, I am not sure of an exact date when they became "Acceptable" to the common computer builder.

They are Cheaper than other brands, but for their price they are "bang for the buck."

I myself would never buy anything outside this list: But thats just because I am anal about power supplies.
PC Power and cooling
Etasis
Zippy
Seasonic
Corsair
Silverstone
OCZ Technologies (Excluding Modstream Line)
Enhance
Fortron (FSP)
Ste is offline  
Old 06-15-2007, 12:59 AM   #7 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: PSU Question

lol, Ultra's not on the list...
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 06-15-2007, 01:16 AM   #8 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: PSU Question

Because I would never buy one ever again..
Ste is offline  
Old 06-15-2007, 01:17 AM   #9 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: PSU Question

Lucky me.....
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 06-15-2007, 01:19 AM   #10 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: PSU Question

Actually, Ultras first line of X connects were the worst. They have since gotten better. But I still won't buy one ever again.
__________________

Ste is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question! MSI mobo... Jakigi New Systems | Building and Buying 2 06-04-2007 10:01 AM
Incredibly simple question IfYouHaveToAsk Internet Software and Browsers 2 05-10-2007 11:36 AM
question about my processor socket siddanth3 New Systems | Building and Buying 10 04-27-2007 01:14 AM
Help me clear something up please(Fresh install of xp type question) jonny_uk Microsoft Windows and Software 2 04-21-2007 06:38 PM
Case Fan Question Shafra Overclocking and Modding 10 04-18-2007 06:42 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.