PSU question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-06-2006, 07:20 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 149
Default PSU question

I recently got all the parts for my new rig and put them all together. It is my first one, but i am pretty sure that i got it all connected right. I plug everything in, but the psu is making this really high pitch sound and nothing turns on. The mobo has a green LED light on it that comes on when they is power going through it, but it does not turn on. Does that mean that the power supply is dead, or does it mean that i have something in the wrong spot?


noxarcana is offline  
Old 08-06-2006, 07:33 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
CrazeD's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD

There is another 4-pin wire that plugs into your motherboard. Did you plug that in? It won't work without it.

But, the fact that it is making a high pitched sound doesn't seem good.


Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Old 08-06-2006, 07:35 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 149

the 24 pin one and the 4pin one are connected into the motherboard
noxarcana is offline  
Old 08-06-2006, 07:38 PM   #4 (permalink)
Geek Squad
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Ohio
Posts: 788

My old PSU (before I got smart and bought a brand new Antec) was a 20 Pin for my 24 Pin, it still booted, granted I wanted to be safe and went with a 24 Pin Antec.
"Truth is violated by falsehood but outraged by silence."

"Mastering others is strength, mastering yourself is true power." ~Sun Tzu

"Ad Astra Per Aspera"

"Our greatest glory is not in never falling, but in rising every time we fall." ~Confucious

"The true measure of a man is how he treats someone who can do him absolutely no good.” ~ Samuel Jackson

“Omnis vir est fortunae faber”
JoshSB is offline  
Old 08-08-2006, 04:06 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,567
Send a message via AIM to massacreinfallx

nope itsprobably the jumpers. what motherboard are you using?

check those jumpers for the power switch, some psu's are just loud but i had the same problem and it turns out that ihad my jumpers going vertically instead of horizontally. the digram in the manual was pretty cofusing.
massacreinfallx is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:19 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.