PSU for quad core - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-31-2007, 12:46 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
siddanth3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: manchester, NH
Posts: 395
Question PSU for quad core

just wondering how much watt power supply would be good for a quad core with a 8800 gtx. and any suggestions? cheap as possible would be good.
Newegg.com - Rosewill RP550-2 ATX 2.01 550W Power Supply 115/230 V CSA, CB, TUV, FCC, UL - Retail
would this be able to handle it?
__________________

__________________
Antec 900
P4 prescott @3ghz HT 775
ViewSonic 20.1" lcd display + Samsung SyncMaster 2253
Corsair 2x512mb ddr2 533
FoxConn M7VMX-K LGA 775
FPS 400watt
WD 640 GB + WD 320 GB
Western Digital My Book 320gb
Evga 7900 GS
Sound Blaster Audigy
Logitech Navigation Keyboard
Razer Diamondback Plasma Blue
siddanth3 is offline  
Old 05-31-2007, 12:53 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: PSU for quad core

You want a power supply, for as cheap as Possible?

Common, thats asking for trouble.

BUT, the one linked will be fine.
I still strongly advocate that you don't continue the "as cheap as Possible" mentality when it comes to power supplies.
__________________

Ste is offline  
Old 05-31-2007, 12:57 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
siddanth3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: manchester, NH
Posts: 395
Default Re: PSU for quad core

well, i meant a good powersupply which wont cost me a fortune. i didnt mean like the cheapest, but the best bang for my buck.
__________________
Antec 900
P4 prescott @3ghz HT 775
ViewSonic 20.1" lcd display + Samsung SyncMaster 2253
Corsair 2x512mb ddr2 533
FoxConn M7VMX-K LGA 775
FPS 400watt
WD 640 GB + WD 320 GB
Western Digital My Book 320gb
Evga 7900 GS
Sound Blaster Audigy
Logitech Navigation Keyboard
Razer Diamondback Plasma Blue
siddanth3 is offline  
Old 05-31-2007, 01:00 AM   #4 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default Re: PSU for quad core

The Quad-Core uses double the amount of watts as the Dual. Stock the Quad-Core only uses 130w which would easily power that and an 8800GTX.

However if you consider overclocking to around 3.6ghz then it will draw around 280w instead. Thats roughly 24 amps on the 12. The 8800GTX stock uses around another 13 amps on the 12's. Then for each hard drive about an amp.

After you overclock your GTX (if you do) you are looking at a PSU with a little more than 40amps on the 12's to be sure. Overclocking CPU's really kills the watts. If it was around 3.2ghz it would only use about 240watts drawing 4 les amps. I would say a PSU with around 40 amps on the 12's. The RP550 only has 35 amps on it. It's enough to run a Dual-Core with a GTX but a Quad-Core is a different story unless you lower your overclocks.

Your going to want something more on the lines of a Corsair 520HX or this.

Newegg.com - XCLIO GREATPOWER X14S4P3 550W ATX12V 550W Power Supply 100-240V / 200-240V UL, CUL, TUV, CB, VDE, FIMKO, DEMKO, NEMKO, SEMKO - Retail
__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 05-31-2007, 01:01 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: PSU for quad core

Newegg.com - HIPER HPU-4K530-MS ATX12V v2.2 530W Power Supply 100 - 120V UL, CE, TUV, FCC, CB - Retail
Newegg.com - mushkin 550200 ATX12V 550W Power Supply 115/230 V cUL,CE,CB,FCC - Retail
Newegg.com - XCLIO STABLEPOWER 500W ATX 500W Power Supply 100 - 240 V UL, CUL, TUV, CB, VDE, FIMKO, DEMKO, NEMKO, SEMKO - Retail

^^ Few Other choices under 75$

Going on what Sora is saying: If you want to make a great purchase that is More towards future proofing, Get the 610 Watt PC Power and Cooling.
Ste is offline  
Old 05-31-2007, 01:03 AM   #6 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default Re: PSU for quad core

I know that Siddanth has the idea of overclocking everything crazy and if he does that hes going to need a lot of amps on the 12's becuase of how much the Quad-Core uses.
__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 05-31-2007, 01:05 AM   #7 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: PSU for quad core

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sora View Post
I know that Siddanth has the idea of overclocking everything crazy and if he does that hes going to need a lot of amps on the 12's becuase of how much the Quad-Core uses.
Not to mention that we (As in I! ) is/are only letting him buy that quad core if he puts SMP Folding on it.
Ste is offline  
Old 05-31-2007, 01:07 AM   #8 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default Re: PSU for quad core

Hah....the Quad-Core does fold like crazy. I kind of really want a Quad-Core after the prices go down becuase I could sell my E6300 and then get one for not much more than what it cost me to buy my E6300 initially. However I am not too sure either..

Either way My Ultra X-Finity 600w that is coming will handle a Quad-Core and the X1950XT if I want :P.
__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Old 05-31-2007, 01:08 AM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
siddanth3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: manchester, NH
Posts: 395
Default Re: PSU for quad core

u got it right sora, once i build my pc,i am gonna learn to overclock i would overclock the **** out of it.
thanks for the help guys
__________________
Antec 900
P4 prescott @3ghz HT 775
ViewSonic 20.1" lcd display + Samsung SyncMaster 2253
Corsair 2x512mb ddr2 533
FoxConn M7VMX-K LGA 775
FPS 400watt
WD 640 GB + WD 320 GB
Western Digital My Book 320gb
Evga 7900 GS
Sound Blaster Audigy
Logitech Navigation Keyboard
Razer Diamondback Plasma Blue
siddanth3 is offline  
Old 05-31-2007, 01:10 AM   #10 (permalink)
Renowned Budgeting Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Uniontown, PA
Posts: 4,153
Send a message via AIM to Sora
Default Re: PSU for quad core

Then save up and get a more worthwhile PSU since the Quad-Core will kill your watts lol...if you go serious it could take 280w's alone man.

I suggest something like this as it will handle that system easily enough.

Newegg.com - XCLIO GREATPOWER X14S4P4 600W ATX12V 600W Power Supply 100-240V / 200-240V UL, CUL, TUV, CB, VDE, FIMKO, DEMKO, NEMKO, SEMKO - Retail

Or the Corsair 520HX will handle it as well around that price.
__________________

__________________
E6300 w/ Arctic Freezer Pro 7 @ 3.6ghz 1.4Vcore
Antec 900 Case
EVGA 750i FTW Mobo
4x1GB of G.skill DDR2-800
2 8800GT in SLI
22" Samsung Syncmaster
1 250GB WD and 1 Seagate 7200.10 in RAID 0
Corsair 520HX 3DMark06 Score: 13900
Sora is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AMD Athlon™ 64 X2 Dual Core Processor Utilities & Updates Osiris Overclocking and Modding 6 05-31-2007 01:41 PM
My friends keeps telling me AMD X2 is faster than Core 2 pinoy3000 New Systems | Building and Buying 0 05-23-2007 11:49 PM
My C2D processor only showing one Core!! Please Help!! Nour Ershaid Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 9 05-08-2007 01:11 PM
Core 2 Duo Extremes odd..... veg1992 New Systems | Building and Buying 6 04-30-2007 03:34 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:58 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.