PSU, need help - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-28-2007, 05:58 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
The Zune Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Ireland (Come on 'd Paddys)
Posts: 167
Talking PSU, need help

I have been advised against an Antec Basiq 500w PSU. Was looking around ebuyer.co.uk and found these...

Arctic Power 700W PSU - With PCI-E, SATA, 20+4, ATX12V, 8pin +12V Connectors - Retail Boxed 36.66

Arctic Power 600W PSU - With PCI-E, SATA, 20+4, ATX12V, 8pin +12V Connectors - Retail Boxed 29.99

I also read elsewhere that Compucase, the manufacturer of these PSU's sell to Thermaltech who rebrand them. If so, they must be OK, well, if not, anyone notice any good PSU's on Ebuyer for this budget

Will be using a e6320 oc, and 8600gt oc etc. Hopefully this will be my last question before ordering
__________________

The Zune Guy is offline  
Old 06-28-2007, 06:09 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Coventry, UK
Posts: 24
Default Re: PSU, need help

Looks a good price. Definitely get the 700W.

IIRC the rails are steady under load and it's pretty quiet.
__________________

Gillywibble is offline  
Old 06-28-2007, 06:09 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Yorkshire, UK
Posts: 1,693
Send a message via MSN to Vaanish
Default Re: PSU, need help

I wouldnt trust a PSU that offers 700W for under £40. I would spend just a bit more on this PSU.

Hiper 530W Black Type M PSU - ATX v2.2, Silent/Temp Control, Active PFC, SLI/Crossfire Certified

It has got a smaller rated Wattage, but it will be much more powerful and reliable than the ones you selected.

I also dont see how Compucase (who I have personally never heard of) selling them to Thermaltech (who I have also never heard of) makes them OK.
__________________
MSI P35 Plat // 4GB DDR2 1033 // HD 4870 // Conroe C2D e6300 @ 2.5Ghz
Vaanish is offline  
Old 06-28-2007, 06:29 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Coventry, UK
Posts: 24
Default Re: PSU, need help

I've actually got a Hiper now, and it's fine. But from what i've read the Arctic Power PSU's get a good review. I agree is seems somewhat cheap.
Gillywibble is offline  
Old 06-28-2007, 07:02 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
The Zune Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Ireland (Come on 'd Paddys)
Posts: 167
Default Re: PSU, need help

I meant Thermaltake, not thermaltech. If they sell to them, and thermaltake have agood rep. then their PSUs must be OK
The Zune Guy is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.