Which PSU? Hmm... HELP :S - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-14-2007, 09:37 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
small256's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Somerset, England
Posts: 279
Question Which PSU? Hmm... HELP :S

Hey, I recently ordered my entire setup (e6600, 8800gts 320mb, gigabyte ga 965p-ds3, 200gb seagate barracuda) also a 520w silverstone zeus PSU. the trouble is, they're out of stock and aren't getting any in for a while so can anyone think of an alternative PSU? I really want to get this all bought so i can get on and enjoy it!
__________________

__________________
i5 2500K, MSI GTX 570 OC, 8GB G.Skill RipJawsX 1600MHz, 1TB WD Caviar Black, Zotac Z68ITX, Lian Li PC-Q08B
small256 is offline  
Old 05-14-2007, 09:41 AM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baron5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,984
Default Re: Which PSU? Hmm... HELP :S

corsair 520 or a psu from ocz but if u wanna wait silverstone is the best.
__________________

__________________
<<<Please give me Rep if I have helped you<<<

I7 930 @ 4GHz : Noctua D-14
Gigabyte X58A-UD7 : Asus GTX 480
G.Skill Trident 1600MHz 6-8-7-18 : Samsung F3 1TB
OCZ Vertex 2 50GB : Silverstone RV02 Case
Silverstone Strider Plus 1Kw : Sony DRU-870s Optical
Samsung P2350 Monito
r

baron5 is offline  
Old 05-14-2007, 09:43 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
small256's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Somerset, England
Posts: 279
Default Re: Which PSU? Hmm... HELP :S

I know they're good but they said they might not get them in for a month or so yet... shame really. maybe i'll wait.
__________________
i5 2500K, MSI GTX 570 OC, 8GB G.Skill RipJawsX 1600MHz, 1TB WD Caviar Black, Zotac Z68ITX, Lian Li PC-Q08B
small256 is offline  
Old 05-14-2007, 09:52 AM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: uk
Posts: 2,417
Default Re: Which PSU? Hmm... HELP :S

This is just as good if not better Seasonic S12-550E+ 80Plus 550W PSU - Active PFC

Im not sure if thats more expensive than the silverstone you wanted but that is an awesome psu if its on budget

Which site was it that didnt have the silverstone, Scan?
jonny_uk is offline  
Old 05-14-2007, 09:56 AM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
small256's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Somerset, England
Posts: 279
Default Re: Which PSU? Hmm... HELP :S

yeah it was scan. the weird thing is, when i just checked their site for alternatives it saidd the silverstone was in stock, so i've sent them a email asking if it IS in fact in stock then i'll go for that one. very odd indeed. i'll check out that one just in case though. thanks
__________________
i5 2500K, MSI GTX 570 OC, 8GB G.Skill RipJawsX 1600MHz, 1TB WD Caviar Black, Zotac Z68ITX, Lian Li PC-Q08B
small256 is offline  
Old 05-14-2007, 09:57 AM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: uk
Posts: 2,417
Default Re: Which PSU? Hmm... HELP :S

Just found this one aswell which is cheaper but still pretty good,and its modular Corsair HX Series 520W Modular PSU - ATX12V v2.2 APFC

EDIT sorry ill have a look on Scan then, best to order everything off one site
jonny_uk is offline  
Old 05-14-2007, 09:59 AM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
small256's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Somerset, England
Posts: 279
Default Re: Which PSU? Hmm... HELP :S

the corsair one's a better price. I'll go for that one if they don't have the silverstone. what exactly does modular mean by the by?
__________________
i5 2500K, MSI GTX 570 OC, 8GB G.Skill RipJawsX 1600MHz, 1TB WD Caviar Black, Zotac Z68ITX, Lian Li PC-Q08B
small256 is offline  
Old 05-14-2007, 10:00 AM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: uk
Posts: 2,417
Default Re: Which PSU? Hmm... HELP :S

Is it this one mate Computer hardware and software at amazing prices, available online from Scan Computers UK

If so it says its in stock on my pc? quick order it before it runs out! lol

Modular means you dont have all them wires coming out of the psu, basically when you get a modular psu you will get a seperate box with an assortment of wires, you use the ones you need and the others can stay in the box, so your only using the wires you need, where as with non modular psu's you might have 2-3 wires that you dont need to use and they will be in the way, look messy and restrict airflow.

That silverstone psu while being very good quality etc, it isnt modular, so make your mind up time! theres other good ones that are modular though.
jonny_uk is offline  
Old 05-14-2007, 10:05 AM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
small256's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Somerset, England
Posts: 279
Default Re: Which PSU? Hmm... HELP :S

yeah thats the one, i thought it said in stock... stupid scan. I'll see what they reply to my email. Crazy people.

Ah right, modular's the way to go if at all possible then! Never mind, i'll just have to go for some cable tidys.
__________________
i5 2500K, MSI GTX 570 OC, 8GB G.Skill RipJawsX 1600MHz, 1TB WD Caviar Black, Zotac Z68ITX, Lian Li PC-Q08B
small256 is offline  
Old 05-14-2007, 10:08 AM   #10 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: uk
Posts: 2,417
Default Re: Which PSU? Hmm... HELP :S

Heres the Corsair one i was looking at on Ebuyer Computer hardware and software at amazing prices, available online from Scan Computers UK

Costs a little more but its very good and its modular aswell .
__________________

jonny_uk is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.