psu help again - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > New Systems | Building and Buying
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-15-2009, 09:44 PM   #11 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 806
Default Re: psu help again

ive got a used 750tx no problems to date. doesn't run loud in the least, all i hear is a quiet hymn from my case fans
__________________

Thresh25 is offline  
Old 05-16-2009, 02:07 AM   #12 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baron5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,984
Default Re: psu help again

Newegg.com - OCZ ModXStream Pro OCZ700MXSP 700W ATX12V V2.2 / EPS12V SLI Certified CrossFire Ready 80 PLUS Certified Modular Active PFC Power Supply compatible with core i7 - Power Supplies
The ocz modxstream are a great new series of psu's, modular under 100 and decent amperage. The are also quite effcicient, nearlly as much as the corsairs.

__________________

__________________
<<<Please give me Rep if I have helped you<<<

I7 930 @ 4GHz : Noctua D-14
Gigabyte X58A-UD7 : Asus GTX 480
G.Skill Trident 1600MHz 6-8-7-18 : Samsung F3 1TB
OCZ Vertex 2 50GB : Silverstone RV02 Case
Silverstone Strider Plus 1Kw : Sony DRU-870s Optical
Samsung P2350 Monito
r

baron5 is offline  
Old 05-16-2009, 11:48 AM   #13 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: psu help again

Newegg.com - CORSAIR CMPSU-520HX 520W ATX12V v2.2 and EPS12V 2.91 SLI Certified CrossFire Ready 80 PLUS Certified Modular Active PFC Compatible with Core i7 Power Supply - Power Supplies

520hx -> 119 with 20mir a mouse and free shipping.

Way more power than you need.
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 05-20-2009, 07:53 PM   #14 (permalink)
True Techie
 
NYbadboy911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 200
Send a message via AIM to NYbadboy911
Default Re: psu help again

i have the 850tx corsair psu but when i connect everything and press the power botton nothing seems to be happenin nothing at all the screen wouldnt even go on.

any ideas?
the psu worked great on my i7 when i had it.
NYbadboy911 is offline  
Old 05-20-2009, 08:34 PM   #15 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: psu help again

Make sure the 8-pin mobo plug is attached good. Double check all the cables. Make sure a component isn't shorting the system. Unplug your drives and such 1 at a time. Make sure the mobo isn't grounding out on one of the stand-offs.

Make sure the mobo doesn't need a bios flash to support your cpu.

Do any of the fans turn on? Even for a second?
Slaymate is offline  
Old 05-20-2009, 08:47 PM   #16 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: psu help again

Make sure the psu is on.
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 05-20-2009, 09:06 PM   #17 (permalink)
True Techie
 
NYbadboy911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 200
Send a message via AIM to NYbadboy911
Default Re: psu help again

Quote:
Originally Posted by patonb View Post
Make sure the psu is on.
the computer DOES TURN ON But nothing happens
NYbadboy911 is offline  
Old 05-20-2009, 09:46 PM   #18 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: psu help again

Quote:
Originally Posted by NYbadboy911 View Post
the computer DOES TURN ON But nothing happens
[sarcasim]Geeez make up your mind....
Quote:
Originally Posted by NYbadboy911 View Post
i have the 850tx corsair psu but when i connect everything and press the power botton nothing seems to be happenin nothing at all the screen wouldnt even go on.
[/sarcasim]

Could be ram. I had all the fans and lights zand drives spin, but nothing worked. Swapped RAM an she booted right up.

Try reseating it, or swaping it around.
__________________

__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Upgrading my PSU TekBubs New Systems | Building and Buying 25 04-14-2009 07:32 PM
First build, not booting up...think it's PSU kershner Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 37 01-23-2009 07:29 PM
PSU Problem/Cooling Problem Like2game New Systems | Building and Buying 11 01-05-2009 08:46 PM
how to diagnose blown psu, or, undiagnose it. drewjustforyou System Upgrades 9 01-04-2009 07:03 PM
Question regarding mini ITX and recommended PSU 96300NAZ New Systems | Building and Buying 0 12-16-2007 10:29 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.